• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Auditor-General finds 'major lapses' in Workers' Party-run town council accounts

Re: Shanmugam says WP took money from man in the street and gave it to their friends

If Shamu is truly concerned on how money is spent, then he should tell us why the government cannot let the HDB take care of maintenance of the estates, reaping the economies of scale pricing.

Re: $8 Msian Cow Asked WP MPs to Kill Themselves. Discuss.

Cow is an evil man, which death upon his political adversaries.

zeroo

Re: Shanmugam says WP took money from man in the street and gave it to their friends

10351959_10200316417468612_6150730401727309137_n.jpg

Workers' Party Chief, Low Thia Khiang has called upon the Government to protect resident's interests during the transition from one party to another, and said that the process of transition for Town Councils should be depoliticised.

Can i ask Mr Low, why were the thousands of signboard under Aljunied Hougang Pounggol East changed to Yellow and Red immediately after The Workers Party took over?

Because it is in the interest of the residents to have a red and yellow sign board???

Re: A day of infamy in parliament?

Cow is an evil man, wishing death on his political adversaries.

Is the PAP that desperate that it intends to resort to violence to win?

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
What happened to WP AHPETC III

I wonder why those of you who have been monitoring my FB posting didn't copy and paste this to put it up here! :wink:

I believe by now, almost all politically aware Singaporeans, especially Opposition party supporters, will realize that what WP has done in AHPETC, is absolutely a DUPLICATE of what PAP has been doing in Singapore, be it government institutions, Temasek Holdings, GIC, GLCs or just simply TC management.

Conflict of interests, is technically speaking, NOT ILLEGAL. But politically speaking, MORALLY, it should be avoided at all cost. In Hong Kong, the public and MSM take conflict of interests very very seriously. They will presume this as a precursor to corruption practices and will make reports to ICAC if no proper declaration or management checks and balances are in place to keep that in proper place.

There is really a very thin line between Conflict of Interests vs Corrupt practices. Declaring the vested interests is just an important step but that is not all. You will need a system of third party checks and balances to clear yourself of making dubious transactions or things which may be seen as "corruptions".

Politically speaking, perception is everything. The biggest conflict of interests in Singapore, is the Prime Minister and his Wife. It is really a BAD example for all although there is absolutely nothing illegal about it. Politically speaking, it must be avoided at all cost.

As an opposition party, we always triumph ourselves of putting PAP in check. But we will lose our moral high ground if we are found to behave or mimick PAP's bad practices of having all sorts of conflicts of interests in their governance. It doesn't help our cause at all.

Avoidance of conflict of interests is extremely important for both the ruling party as well as the opposition parties.

In this AHPETC saga, the only difference is that AHPETC has not learned ALL the necessary steps to be taken when it tries to mimick PAP's style of governance which is filled with all sorts of conflict of interest. It has forgotten to install appropriate management steps to make sure that such conflict of interest will be not seen as potential corrupt practices. Rightfully or wrongfully, this is why it ended up so badly in this saga.

Of course, WP people and hardcore Opposition supporters may start to point to the fact that what WP has done is no different from PAP on the surface. But the truth is, PAP is smarter in gaming the system here. It has made sure that at every turn and critical decision making process, proper third party certification or decision makers are roped in to justify or make good of the whole process to show the world there is no potential corrupt practice involved.

It is true that opposition party may have difficulties in finding suppliers or contractors to do the job. WP may be caught in the situation that apparent conflicts of interests are unavoidable. However, I do not believe that there is ZERO number of contractor interested in taking up smaller contracts. It may be a self fulfilling prophecy over time where Trust and Loyalty are placed above merits and good governance. i.e. Contractors may stop participating in the tender process if they feel that they will have near zero chance of getting the job when "close friends" of WP are bidding for the same project. WP may award their "close Friends" the tender even though their price is higher as this could be considered as "premium pricing" of Trust.

Apparently, PAP has an upper hand in such situation but it also means that PAP should have LESS REASONS to infest their system with so much conflicts of interests all over the place.

In short, it is not good enough to be just above board and declare you are CLEAN, you must also be SEEN to be CLEAN as well. This applies to both PAP as ruling party as well as opposition party like WP. Especially so for WP.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Re: What happened to WP AHPETC III

What happened to WP AHPETC?

When WP first won Aljunied GRC, Sylvia Lim was made the Chairman of the TC with Low Thia Khiang and Yaw Shin Leong taking up positions as Vice Chairman. All three of them were involved in Hougang TC board of management prior to this, so it seems that everything should be in good hands.
However, this wasn't so. After YSL was sacked and Png Eng Huat won the Hougang by election, Png was appointed as Vice Chairman in replacement of YSL. I doubt Png has any prior experience in running TC.

On top of that, the strange thing happened. Low TK suddenly announced his stepping down from Vice Chairman and appointed Pritam as Vice Chairman. With due respect, Pritam has hardly work a day in corporate life or run any businesses.

Such a move has further weaken the leadership of the TC board management team. It wasn't sure why Chen Show Mao who had been a partner of a world class law firm, wasn't appointed to such important position.

True enough, for the various sagas that blew up subsequently, we can see how badly they manage the whole TC. It is really unbelievable that argument like WE CANNOT STOP OUR CONTRACTORS TO ASK HAWKERS FOR ADDITIONAL FEES was used as defence in Ceilingate. Such conduct was tolerated and wasn't investigated. It gave observers an impression of Hush Hush burial of the issue.

I still can't figure out why LTK has stepped down despite of the warning signs put up in the past two financial reports. I hope he could take up the Vice Chairman position again so that he could help to solve the teething problems with his over twenty years of experience in running a TC.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]

What happened to WP AHPETC II?

A friend of mine has put this up and it basically describes what is really the key problem, management based on Loyalty instead of Competency with proper corporate checks and balances:

Andrew, Yes the management of the relationship is the key issue , but at least the PAP has the fig leave that the MD in the cases cited have no direct pecuniary interests, they are not shareholders whereas FMSS is a different kettle of fish.

If Miss How was competent and their auditors had not flagged anything we would not have this issue, Miss How was to put it mildly less than competent and thus we have this direct issue.

The party trusts low, low trust miss how enough not to exercise western style corporate governance and instead adopt the chinese towkay mentality. and thus we have the lemmings following Miss How off the cliff

Re: The Harder The Scums in White BS and Whack WP, The Bigger The Ramifications in GE

A ministar has wished harm on the opposition in Parliament.

Will Pinky threaten a military coup if the PAP is defeated?

The PAP is desperate and feeling cornered.

Hans168

Re: Full video of today parliament that WP don't wish you to see.

Big bully PAP in action using all its might n power to hit at the weaker paper while while they were commiting murders!!

soIsee

So smart aleck Goh.

Tell me which part of the world has anyone dealt with anyone, where there isn't a slight tinge of cronyism in the dealing?

I bet that if YOU ever have your fingers in the pie, you will not only eat some of the pie but made pies out of thin air where you can eat more of it and re-distribute it around to your..

CRONIES! LoL

Hans168

Shamu should be treated like a dog.

The PAP should answer this question: Why did it choose political advantage over saving taxpayers hundreds of millions of dollars when it did away with HDB management of estates?

Part of PAP tactic to do opposition in...... as well as GRC to preserve its power!! Kiasu

Re: The Harder The Scums in White BS and Whack WP, The Bigger The Ramifications in GE

Don't tell PAP too much leh you all, add some more fuel to their accusations la and make it sound ridiculous.

The whole issue has barely make a dent on opposition suppork lah...waste so much money on main stream media coverage for fug...

If PAP want to win my vote...return my cpf at 55!

Hans168

How can Minister Shanmu n Sam Tan use address "you.." when he shud have said "the honourable member for.."
What fucking ill-mannered bastards to do away with protocol and the tudung woman kept quiet when it is her job to enforce the decorum of the house!!
Pui

blissquek

I DESPISE Shanmugam
PHUI

From $45..to $830.000..

MINDEF explained that they have since signed a new agreement with the contractors to pay $830,000 a year in rent.

This is not what the public is interested..

We want to know who the contractor and the private individual is that benefitted the $829,955...??

Whose pocket it goes to..???

The Name of the private contractor so that when we deal with him the next time, we will have to be mindful he is very good in getting a good bargain from taxpayer.

Can we know who he is..???

Hans168

Cow is an evil man, wishing death on his political adversaries.

Is the PAP that desperate that it intends to resort to violence to win?

.........whoever threaten my diamond rice bowl shall die!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I can tahan the import of foreigners...
I can tahan congestion in infrastructure....
I can tahan cost of living increase...
I can tahan PAP nonsense...

BUT WHAT I CANNOT TAHAN IS THEY STEAL MY CPF MONIES!

PUTA LA MADRE :oIo:

wMulew

GMS: AHPETC is badly managed

I believe by now, almost all politically aware Singaporeans, especially Opposition party supporters, will realize that what WP has done in AHPETC, is absolutely a DUPLICATE of what PAP has been doing in Singapore, be it government institutions, Temasek Holdings, GIC, GLCs or just simply TC management.
Conflict of interests, is technically speaking, NOT ILLEGAL. But politically speaking, MORALLY, it should be avoided at all cost. In Hong Kong, the public and MSM take conflict of interests very very seriously. They will presume this as a precursor to corruption practices and will make reports to ICAC if no proper declaration or management checks and balances are in place to keep that in proper place.
There is really a very thin line between Conflict of Interests vs Corrupt practices. Declaring the vested interests is just an important step but that is not all. You will need a system of third party checks and balances to clear yourself of making dubious transactions or things which may be seen as "corruptions".
Politically speaking, perception is everything. The biggest conflict of interests in Singapore, is the Prime Minister and his Wife. It is really a BAD example for all although there is absolutely nothing illegal about it. Politically speaking, it must be avoided at all cost.
As an opposition party, we always triumph ourselves of putting PAP in check. But we will lose our moral high ground if we are found to behave or mimick PAP's bad practices of having all sorts of conflicts of interests in their governance. It doesn't help our cause at all.
Avoidance of conflict of interests is extremely important for both the ruling party as well as the opposition parties.
In this AHPETC saga, the only difference is that AHPETC has not learned ALL the necessary steps to be taken when it tries to mimick PAP's style of governance which is filled with all sorts of conflict of interest. It has forgotten to install appropriate management steps to make sure that such conflict of interest will be not seen as potential corrupt practices. Rightfully or wrongfully, this is why it ended up so badly in this saga.
Of course, WP people and hardcore Opposition supporters may start to point to the fact that what WP has done is no different from PAP on the surface. But the truth is, PAP is smarter in gaming the system here. It has made sure that at every turn and critical decision making process, proper third party certification or decision makers are roped in to justify or make good of the whole process to show the world there is no potential corrupt practice involved.
It is true that opposition party may have difficulties in finding suppliers or contractors to do the job. WP may be caught in the situation that apparent conflicts of interests are unavoidable. However, I do not believe that there is ZERO number of contractor interested in taking up smaller contracts. It may be a self fulfilling prophecy over time where Trust and Loyalty are placed above merits and good governance. i.e. Contractors may stop participating in the tender process if they feel that they will have near zero chance of getting the job when "close friends" of WP are bidding for the same project. WP may award their "close Friends" the tender even though their price is higher as this could be considered as "premium pricing" of Trust.
Apparently, PAP has an upper hand in such situation but it also means that PAP should have LESS REASONS to infest their system with so much conflicts of interests all over the place.
In short, it is not good enough to be just above board and declare you are CLEAN, you must also be SEEN to be CLEAN as well. This applies to both PAP as ruling party as well as opposition party like WP. Especially so for WP.

https://www.facebook.com/gohmengseng.freedom/posts/10205041349686600

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]

Politicizing Town Council is INEVITABLE.

Well LTK has lamented about PAP politicizing TC management so much so that all qualified professional estate management companies wont want to submit any bid to WP AHPETC tender for MA.

Now please imagine, if EM Services which is partly owned by HDB and run by former PAP MP is to submit the lowest bid, will WP AHPETC dare to award the tender to EM Services?

The only viable alternative is to employ a team of people directly to manage the TC on its own. HG TC used to do that and PAP Bishan Toa Payoh TC also runs it own TC directly.