• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Passing Away : Rites and Cost

lifeafter41

Just spoke to a friend whose father is on a dangerously ill list, ie, can go anytime, might not eve make it to the New Year 2015.
Understand their believe/religion is Taoism and they plan for a 5 days bereavement, probably at the HDB void deck at his parent's place.

He asked me about rites and cost and how to go about holding all this.
Told him I know nothing about it, too young to remember, since the last encounter of this kind of "white" matter, with immediate family.

Forummers got any experience or suggestion, especially on rites, coffin, cost, any hdb permits required etc............

Just spoke to a friend whose father is on a dangerously ill list, ie, can go anytime, might not eve make it to the New Year 2015.
Understand their believe/religion is Taoism and they plan for a 5 days bereavement, probably at the HDB void deck at his parent's place.

Told him I know nothing about it, too young to remember, since the last encounter of this kind of "white" matter, with immediate family.

Forummers got any experience or suggestion, especially on rites, coffin, cost, any hdb permits required etc............

Just call the funeral parlour company. You can call a few to compare prices. They should offer a package deal, including of religious rites, unless you are very picky.

McDonaldsKid

Just spoke to a friend whose father is on a dangerously ill list, ie, can go anytime, might not eve make it to the New Year 2015.Understand their believe/religion is Taoism and they plan for a 5 days bereavement, probably at the HDB void deck at his parent's place.He asked me about rites and cost and how to go about holding all this.Told him I know nothing about it, too young to remember, since the last encounter of this kind of "white" matter, with immediate family.Forummers got any experience or suggestion, especially on rites, coffin, cost, any hdb permits required etc............
Can't really remember much, but got to go police post and report to get Death Cert, then go town council to 'book' the void deck. Not sure how much it costs. The undertaker should be able to provide more info on the rites. If they have already booked a niche at the temple, the Taoist monks there should be able to help with the rites. Got costs also though, of course.

Why not just call Tong Aik to go collect the body? :confused:

mom3mrdrdst4e.jpg

body045.jpg

0182ccf6.jpg

sgriver6.jpg

Can't really remember much, but got to go police post and report to get Death Cert, then go town council to 'book' the void deck. Not sure how much it costs. The undertaker should be able to provide more info on the rites. If they have already booked a niche at the temple, the Taoist monks there should be able to help with the rites. Got costs also though, of course.

Police post to get death cert ? This is shocking. Death cert comes from hospital mah.

rotiprata

:rolleyes:

your pattern is same same like kraty... KNN :rolleyes:

lifeafter41

Just call the funeral parlour company. You can call a few to compare prices. They should offer a package deal, including of religious rites, unless you are very picky.

Thanks.
He just did.

Helped him to Google under funeral parlour services in Singapore. Quite a number of it came up
Surprising to see Income included.

Some did specify the charges, though adds up to more than 10k.
Will let him know.

no worry lah.............the ''white gold'' money will more than cover the expenses............

alchemist

my personal thoughts..only

first you can ask for the undertaker for opinion and cost ?

his cost for coffins , papers, incense... is between $8K to $10..
and prayers services ...maybe extra $5K (drinks, makan, etc etc..)

he may do everything for you and advices on such matter and customs

..(if his dad..conditions is due to prolong illness and not sudden and not under "police investigation"? (eg: due to fall..or from A &E admission)
may not need to do autopsy but must collect body from SGH mortuary..

(the under taker..will collect on your behalf...and your friend may has to bring some of the decease's personal clothings to dress up)

he has to let the undertaker know his cost and budget (expects easily between $20K to $30K - minimum)
this sum may be inclusive of "after death" services like urns, temple, burial and prayers

ideally, try and do 3 days instead of 5 days unless , got alot of relatives or faraway relatives that are coming down..?
or if the late father has alot of friends .. or visitors

if held at void deck(HDB)..5 days may be taking a toll on those members unless got alot of sons/daughters to help

can try the casket Company..might be easier but abit more expensive but less demanding and stress out

I do not understand and not agree that marriage and death should be done in the way it is done . I prefer the m&d way of putting the deceased in house to commemorate, and secretly leave for burial. Why need to ka lou ka kor to let everyone including strangers on street to know, make no sense. Also when you really loves the deceased, they will have no mood to do all this nonsense. Between family members and loved ones is good enough.

lifeafter41

my personal thoughts..only

first you can ask for the undertaker for opinion and cost ?

his cost for coffins , papers, incense... is between $8K to $10..
and prayers services ...maybe extra $5K (drinks, makan, etc etc..)

he may do everything for you and advices on such matter and customs

..(if his dad..conditions is due to prolong illness and not sudden and not under "police investigation"? (eg: due to fall..or from A &E admission)
may not need to do autopsy but must collect body from SGH mortuary..

(the under taker..will collect on your behalf...and your friend may has to bring some of the decease's personal clothings to dress up)

he has to let the undertaker know his cost and budget (expects easily between $20K to $30K - minimum)
this sum may be inclusive of "after death" services like urns, temple, burial and prayers

ideally, try and do 3 days instead of 5 days unless , got alot of relatives or faraway relatives that are coming down..?
or if the late father has alot of friends .. or visitors

if held at void deck(HDB)..5 days may be taking a toll on those members unless got alot of sons/daughters to help

can try the casket Company..might be easier but abit more expensive but less demanding and stress out

Thanks for your input bro.

Yes, it is due to prolong illness. Cancer of the Lung
I believe it is going to be very tiresome for his family members, however, the dad has asked for a 5 days bereavement.

Yes, one consideration is to have the wake where they are able to provide the place too, ie Casket company. It will cut down on the hassle too as the funeral services team is there too, rather than at the void decks. It will be a bit more costly too as one is renting the premises.

I am surprised by the estimated cost too, between 20k to 30k.
Will let him know on the above mentioned.