• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

lousy STI

uvwxyz

Singapore Post: On the growth path

Singapore Post (SingPost) reported a 8.1% YoY rise in revenue to S$220.3m and a 5.5% increase in net profit to S$37.6m in 2QFY15, such that 1HFY15 revenue and net profit accounted for 48% and 50% of our full year estimates, respectively. In 2QFY15, mail accounted for 56% of total revenue, the lowest the group has seen in its history, underscoring SingPost’s efforts to reduce reliance on the mail business.

Meanwhile ecommerce-related revenue for 1HFY15 accounted for about 27% of total revenue, representing a 20% YoY growth. With close to 1,000 ecommerce customers across the group and ecommerce package volumes registering double-digit growth YoY, we increase our FCFE growth rate assumption from 9% to 10% in our 3-stage DCF model, resulting in a slightly higher fair value estimate of S$2.17 (prev. S$2.09). In line with its usual practice, SingPost has declared an interim quarterly dividend of 1.25 S cents per share, payable on 28 Nov 2014. Maintain BUY. (Carmen Lee)

JackyCheung

Singapore Post: On the growth path

Singapore Post (SingPost) reported a 8.1% YoY rise in revenue to S$220.3m and a 5.5% increase in net profit to S$37.6m in 2QFY15, such that 1HFY15 revenue and net profit accounted for 48% and 50% of our full year estimates, respectively. In 2QFY15, mail accounted for 56% of total revenue, the lowest the group has seen in its history, underscoring SingPost’s efforts to reduce reliance on the mail business.

Meanwhile ecommerce-related revenue for 1HFY15 accounted for about 27% of total revenue, representing a 20% YoY growth. With close to 1,000 ecommerce customers across the group and ecommerce package volumes registering double-digit growth YoY, we increase our FCFE growth rate assumption from 9% to 10% in our 3-stage DCF model, resulting in a slightly higher fair value estimate of S$2.17 (prev. S$2.09). In line with its usual practice, SingPost has declared an interim quarterly dividend of 1.25 S cents per share, payable on 28 Nov 2014. Maintain BUY. (Carmen Lee)

u have? i sold my singapore post la. but i heard MP said want to increase the postage fee. so singapore post will still huat.

JackyCheung

SEMBCORP 9M2014 NET PROFIT AT S$560.5 MILLION
Singapore, November 6, 2014 – Sembcorp Industries (Sembcorp) net profit for the first nine
months of 2014 (9M2014) stood at S$560.5 million compared to S$596.7 million in 9M2013, while
turnover was S$8.2 billion, an increase of 5% from the same period last year. In 9M2013, the
Utilities business recorded gains from the initial public offering of Sembcorp Salalah Power and
Water Company in September, which were offset by an impairment made for its UK operations.
Excluding these significant items, Group 9M2014 net profit was 6% up from 9M2013. The Utilities
and Marine businesses continued to be the main profit contributors, accounting for 53% and 42%
of Group net profit respectively.
In 9M2014, the Utilities business delivered a net profit of S$298.6 million compared to S$373.7
million in 9M2013. Meanwhile, the Marine business reported a net profit of S$234.1 million, an
increase of 3% from S$226.3 million, while the Urban Development business reported a 132%
growth in net profit to S$29.3 million from S$12.6 million in 9M2013.
Return on equity (annualised) for the Group was 14.2% and earnings per share amounted to 31.0
cents. Economic value added was a positive S$350.1 million while cash and cash equivalents
stood at S$2.2 billion.
In the third quarter of 2014 (3Q2014), Group net profit was S$196.6 million, while turnover grew
3% to S$3.1 billion.
Tang Kin Fei, Group President & CEO of Sembcorp Industries, said, "In the quarter, we continued
to achieve milestones in positioning Sembcorp for long-term growth. In China, our Utilities
business signed a conditional joint venture agreement for two power plants in Chongqing and in
India, commissioning has commenced for the first of two units of our 1,320-megawatt Thermal
Powertech power plant. Meanwhile, our Marine business continued to secure significant new
contracts, building up its orderbook.”

FY2014 Outlook
Utilities
Competition in the Singapore power market continues to be intense and is expected to affect the
performance of the Utilities business. However, contribution from its overseas business is
expected to grow. In 2014, the Utilities underlying core business is expected to deliver a steady
performance compared to 2013.
Strategically positioned in key emerging markets, the business continues to focus on its
significant growth in capacity.
Marine
The Marine business has a net orderbook of S$12.6 billion with completion and deliveries
stretching into 2019. This includes a total of S$4.2 billion in contracts secured since the start of
Despite the current low oil price environment, the Marine business believes long-term
fundamentals driving the offshore exploration and production (E&P) market remain stable.
However, reduction in capex spending could impact new orders and keen competition continues
to exert pressure on margins.
The Marine business remains well positioned - having built a broad product offering, a strong
execution track record and state-of-the-art facilities at its Sembmarine Integrated Yard @ Tuas.
The four new dry docks continue to see high utilisation. Meanwhile, its wholly-owned shipyard in
Brazil commenced initial operations in the second half of 2014, with construction completion
scheduled for 2015.
Urban Development
The Urban Development business is expected to deliver a comparable performance in 2014,
underpinned by land sales in its urban developments in China and Vietnam.
Group
With a strategic presence in key emerging markets, significant growth in capacity and a strong
Marine orderbook, Sembcorp is well-positioned to deliver sustainable long-term growth.

Highlights from Sembcorp’s 9M2014 Financial Results
 Turnover at S$8.2 billion, up 5%
 Profit from Operations at S$921.3 million, down 7%
 Net Profit at S$560.5 million, down 6%
 EPS at 31.0 cents
 ROE (annualised) at 14.2%
Excluding significant items* from the Utilities business in 9M2013:
 Net Profit at S$560.5 million, up 6%
*Significant items in 9M2013 amounted to S$68.6 million, comprising the gain from IPO of Sembcorp Salalah Power and Water
Company and an impairment for Teesside UK operations.

http://infopub.sgx.com/FileOpen/SCI_9M2014_Results Press Release.ashx?App=Announcement&FileID=323119

JackyCheung

ST ENGINEERING’S ELECTRONICS ARM INJECTS CAPITAL
INTO ITS BRAZILIAN SUBSIDIARY
Singapore, 7 November 2014 - Singapore Technologies Engineering Ltd
(ST Engineering) today announced that further to its announcement on 11 July 2014 on
the setting up of ST Electronics do Brasil Serviços e Soluções em Sistemas Eletronicôs
Ltda (ST Electronics Brazil) in Brazil, it has completed the capital injection of US$2m
(about S$2.49m) into its Brazilian subsidiary.
ST Electronics Brazil was set up with two shareholders in compliance with Brazilian laws -
Singapore Technologies Electronics Limited (ST Electronics) holds 99% stake, while its
wholly owned subsidiary, ST Electronics (Satcom & Sensor Systems) Pte. Ltd., holds the
remaining 1% stake.
This capital injection is not expected to have any material impact on the consolidated net
tangible assets per share and earnings per share of ST Engineering for the current
financial year.
ST Engineering (Singapore Technologies Engineering Ltd) is an integrated engineering
group providing solutions and services in the aerospace, electronics, land systems and
marine sectors. Headquartered in Singapore, the Group reported revenue of $6.63b in
FY2013 and ranks among the largest companies listed on the Singapore Exchange. It is
a component stock of the FTSE Straits Times Index, FTSE ASEAN 40 Index, MSCI
Singapore and other indices. ST Engineering has more than 23,000 employees
worldwide, and over 100 subsidiaries and associated companies in 46 cities across 24
countries. Please visit www.stengg.com for more information.
ST Electronics (Singapore Technologies Electronics Limited), the electronics arm
of ST Engineering, delivers innovative system solutions to government, commercial,
defence, and industrial customers worldwide. With a presence in more than 30 cities in
20 countries, ST Electronics markets its solutions to more than 100 countries Page 2 of 2
internationally. It specialises in the design, development and integration of advanced
electronics and communications systems, such as broadband radio frequency and
satellite communication, e-Government solutions, information communications
technologies and IT, rail and traffic management, real-time command and control,
modelling and simulation, interactive digital media, training services, intelligent building
management and information security. Please visit www.stee.stengg.com.

good or bad??

JackyCheung

ST ENGINEERING’S ELECTRONICS ARM INJECTS CAPITAL
INTO ITS BRAZILIAN SUBSIDIARY
Singapore, 7 November 2014 - Singapore Technologies Engineering Ltd
(ST Engineering) today announced that further to its announcement on 11 July 2014 on
the setting up of ST Electronics do Brasil Serviços e Soluções em Sistemas Eletronicôs
Ltda (ST Electronics Brazil) in Brazil, it has completed the capital injection of US$2m
(about S$2.49m) into its Brazilian subsidiary.
ST Electronics Brazil was set up with two shareholders in compliance with Brazilian laws -
Singapore Technologies Electronics Limited (ST Electronics) holds 99% stake, while its
wholly owned subsidiary, ST Electronics (Satcom & Sensor Systems) Pte. Ltd., holds the
remaining 1% stake.
This capital injection is not expected to have any material impact on the consolidated net
tangible assets per share and earnings per share of ST Engineering for the current
financial year.
ST Engineering (Singapore Technologies Engineering Ltd) is an integrated engineering
group providing solutions and services in the aerospace, electronics, land systems and
marine sectors. Headquartered in Singapore, the Group reported revenue of $6.63b in
FY2013 and ranks among the largest companies listed on the Singapore Exchange. It is
a component stock of the FTSE Straits Times Index, FTSE ASEAN 40 Index, MSCI
Singapore and other indices. ST Engineering has more than 23,000 employees
worldwide, and over 100 subsidiaries and associated companies in 46 cities across 24
countries. Please visit www.stengg.com for more information.
ST Electronics (Singapore Technologies Electronics Limited), the electronics arm
of ST Engineering, delivers innovative system solutions to government, commercial,
defence, and industrial customers worldwide. With a presence in more than 30 cities in
20 countries, ST Electronics markets its solutions to more than 100 countries Page 2 of 2
internationally. It specialises in the design, development and integration of advanced
electronics and communications systems, such as broadband radio frequency and
satellite communication, e-Government solutions, information communications
technologies and IT, rail and traffic management, real-time command and control,
modelling and simulation, interactive digital media, training services, intelligent building
management and information security. Please visit www.stee.stengg.com.

http://infopub.sgx.com/FileOpen/ST ...ET-3Q2014.ashx?App=Announcement&FileID=323282

JackyCheung

i see both semb corp n st engineering result ok leh, why so big reaction?

can close the business of the land system not, every quarter just drop revenue.

sell the business rather.

JackyCheung

copy and paste somewhere from Valuebuddies forum

ST Engineering announced results:

http://infopub.sgx.com/FileOpen/ST Eng...eID=323282

Aerospace sector is also slowing, partly offset by the electronics segement.

If we look at the aerospace sector,

comparing QoQ change of NP

SIA engineering
53mio to 42 mio

ST Aerospace
55.4mio to 46.4 mio

If we do not over-read numbers, both have the same thereabout fall, although if we compare yoy,

SIA engineering sector is 40% down, look more uglier.

IIRC, SIA engineering and ST aerospace sub-segments are not direct overlap, and in overlapped areas of overhaul and repair(MRO), they also operated mainly at different markets.

This is the segment that is doing very badly. ST still managed to squeeze out a profits, even though revenue tumble more than SIA engineering.

Seem like ST indeed is less volatile

JackyCheung

since my shares are not doing well, so i decided to go to watch a movie tomorrow.
Now showing in singapore

[video=youtube;5PwssRniO-E]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5PwssRniO-E[/video]

who is interested to go tomorrow? see whether have fate to see you guys not.
:smile:
i believe this movie will get golden horse award 2015.

JackyCheung

生活并不完美,但并不代表它不美
多看看你生活中美的部分,否则,你永远有羡慕不完别人的人生。

life is not perfect but it does not mean it is not beautiful.

JackyCheung

story sharing session:

一艘游轮遭遇海难,船上有对夫妻,好不容易来到救生艇前,艇上只剩一个位子,这时,男人把女人推向身后,自己跳上了...救生艇。
女人站在渐沉的大船上,向男人喊出了一句话……〞
讲到这里,老师问学生:〝你们猜,女人会喊出什么话?〞
学生们群情激愤,都说:〝我恨你、我瞎了眼!〞
这时老师注意到有个学生一直没发言,就向他提问,这个学生说:〝老师,我觉得女人会喊——照顾好我们的孩子!〞
老师一惊,问:〝你听过这个故事?〞
学生摇头:〝没有,但我母亲生病去世前,就是对我父亲这样说的!〞
老师感慨道:〝回答正确。〞
轮船沉没了,男人回到家乡,独自带大女儿。
多年后,男人病故,女儿整理遗物时,发现了父亲的日记。
原来,父亲和母亲乘坐游轮时,母亲已患了绝症,关键时刻,父亲冲向了那唯一的生机,他在日记中写道:〝我多想和你一起沉入海底,可是我不能。为了女儿,我只能让你一个人长眠在深深的海底。〞
故事讲完,教室里沉默了,老师知道,学生们已经听懂了这个故事:世间的善与恶,有时错综复杂,难以分辨,所以凡事不要只看表面,不可轻易论断他人。

喜欢主动买单的人,不是因为钱太多,而是把友情看的比金钱重要。

工作时愿意主动多做的人,不是因为傻,而是懂得责任。

吵架后先道歉的人,不是因为错,而是懂得珍惜身边人。

愿意帮助你的人,不是欠你什么,而是把你当真朋友。

常常传讯息给你的人,不是因为太閒无所事事,而是因为心中有你。

We should not judge people by their external appearances.

JackyCheung

uvwxyz

well, how do you think st engineering? can give your view?

i am wondering, should i average down somemore? i have 13 lot, quite a lot...

uvwxyz

uvwxyz

well, how do you think st engineering? can give your view?

i am wondering, should i average down somemore? i have 13 lot, quite a lot...

I dont have any ST Engineering but I have this post.

ST Engineering: Again tracking below guidance

ST Engineering (STE) reported its 3Q14 results this morning, with revenue coming in at S$1552.9m, +0.2% YoY, as higher revenue from Marine was offset by lower revenue from Aerospace, while Electronics and Land Systems were comparable.

But earnings fell 7.7% to S$121.3m, mainly due to reduced profitability at Aerospace (PBT down 19% YoY). As a result, 9M14 net profit slipped 5.2% to S$391.7m, meeting just 67% of our full-year forecast; 9M14 revenue was flat at S$4691.1m, or about 69% of our FY14 estimate.

More tellingly, STE has lowered its PBT guidance for FY14 from comparable to lower than last year (we understand this to be >5% below), despite keeping comparable revenue guidance; this as it now expects lower PBT from Aerospace, Land Systems and Marine sectors, and only Electronics is likely to be higher. We will have more after the analyst briefing later. For now, we maintain our HOLD rating but place our S$3.68 fair value (based on 19x blended FY14/FY15F EPS) under review.

JackyCheung

I dont have any ST Engineering but I have this post.

ST Engineering: Again tracking below guidance

ST Engineering (STE) reported its 3Q14 results this morning, with revenue coming in at S$1552.9m, +0.2% YoY, as higher revenue from Marine was offset by lower revenue from Aerospace, while Electronics and Land Systems were comparable.

But earnings fell 7.7% to S$121.3m, mainly due to reduced profitability at Aerospace (PBT down 19% YoY). As a result, 9M14 net profit slipped 5.2% to S$391.7m, meeting just 67% of our full-year forecast; 9M14 revenue was flat at S$4691.1m, or about 69% of our FY14 estimate.

More tellingly, STE has lowered its PBT guidance for FY14 from comparable to lower than last year (we understand this to be >5% below), despite keeping comparable revenue guidance; this as it now expects lower PBT from Aerospace, Land Systems and Marine sectors, and only Electronics is likely to be higher. We will have more after the analyst briefing later. For now, we maintain our HOLD rating but place our S$3.68 fair value (based on 19x blended FY14/FY15F EPS) under review.

well, PE 19 seem a bit too high for STE, agree?
but they pay good dividend, losing 5.8% now.

JackyCheung

i have a few thinking in my mind.
1st, buy more STE
2nd buy more FNN
3rd buy more stamford LD

but i have limited bullet.
i can not decide which one is better .

uvwxyz, how do you think? many thanks.

uvwxyz

i have a few thinking in my mind.
1st, buy more STE
2nd buy more FNN
3rd buy more stamford LD

but i have limited bullet.
i can not decide which one is better .

uvwxyz, how do you think? many thanks.

I dont know much about these counters since I dont buy counters related to alcohol ( FNN ) and weapons (STE ) . Stamford I have not looked at it before.

Why not look at GLP?