• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Instant Noodles - what's your fav ingredients

Runifyouhaveto

RUN showed wifey this thread last night. I told her that I felt very comforted to find so many like-minded people here.

Fat_guys_from_Family_guy.gif

yellowarse

Let's not forget the inventor of instant noodles – Wu Pai-Fu (吴百福). Born in Taiwan under Japanese colonial rule. Founder-chairman of Japanese food giant Nissin.

Inventor of instant noodles dies

_42420719_ando_ap203b.jpg
Momofuku Ando often ate his company's instant noodles

<tbody>
</tbody>
The inventor of instant noodles, Momofuku Ando, has died in Japan, aged 96, of a heart attack.Mr Ando was born in Taiwan in 1910 and moved to Japan in 1933, founding Nissin Food Products Co after World War II to provide cheap food for the masses.

His most famous product, Cup Noodle, was released in 1971.

Its taste and ease of preparation - adding hot water to dried noodles in a waterproof polystyrene container - have made it popular around the world.

Mr Ando said the inspiration for his product came when he saw people lining up to buy bowls of hot ramen noodle soup at a black market stall during the food shortages after World War II.

Noodles in space

He developed his first instant noodles, Chicken Ramen, in 1958.

The product came out as Japan recovered from the ravages of World War II and began a long period of economic expansion.

It was the masterstroke of providing a waterproof polystyrene container for the noodles that made his Cup Noodle an instant success in 1971.

Nissin has led the global instant noodle industry since then, selling 85.7 billion servings every year, according to Agence France Presse.

His firm also developed a version of Cup Noodle for Japanese astronauts to eat on the space shuttle Discovery in 2005.

In 1999, Mr Ando opened a museum in Osaka devoted to instant noodles.

He retired as Nissin's chairman in 2005.

Japanese newspapers and business people have been paying tribute to Mr Ando.

"He was a self-made man who developed an epoch-making instant noodle product and spread it to all corners of the world," Akio Nomura, chairman of the Osaka Chamber of Commerce and Industry, told Kyodo news agency.

Mr Ando remained active until just days before his death, giving a New Year's speech to Nissin employees and having a lunch of Chicken Ramen with company executives.

<tbody>
</tbody>

mei mei

Favourite is Laksa but a bit expensive

Special ingredients: Add hard boiled egg and fish cakes/balls
If available, add chicken pieces

bc8sCwZ.jpg

Cosmos10

Ok, I think I am a bit late to this instant noodle party. My favorite is Nissin Top Ramen Shrimp Flavor!

Add an egg and some enoki mushroom. Yummy!

Top+Ramen+Shrimp+pk.jpg

step_112_.jpg

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
I have read somewhere before that the moodles are pre deep fried and covered with a layer of wax. I think that is the main killer and not msg. Msg is only a peoblem when your daily sodiun intake far exceeds FDA recommendations and you have history of hyper tension. If i am not wrong, they have yet to proof the link between sodium and hyper tension, just like too many eggs not good.

Anyhow, i digress. Want to share how i have been cooking instant noodles. I will cook them in the normal way. When it is done, i will pour the water away to get rid of the bad stuff. As for the seasoning, i will use boiling water to mix with the seasoning and then pour over the cooked noodles.

bushtucker

1) What's your favorite instant noodle ? ( I like Maggie Curry noodle, Tung 1 noodle ( Red or Green packaging) and also Dry noodle ( with the number 100 on it, don't know the brand)

that is Myojo Ramen Char Mee 100. i like the spice on that one.

Kuailan

I do not eat instant noodle. Not good for health.
You guys also eat lesser better.
Else old liao then tio cancer.

Instant noodle are quoted with wax, first boiled the noodle than dump the first boil water.
Second boil than you add ingredient for consumption.

The other of my favorite instant noodle is this. I like it because the texture is very close to Myojo and also this has a small packet of sesame oil.

I like those with pre fried noddles.....reminds me of kid time where you can eat it as a snack.
Dun like to add anything fancy except maybe break an egg into the soup.....instant noddles should stay simple.
Not keen on those with multi packs of soup base to add....again simple is best. One soup base with extra pack of freeze dried vege is enough.

Taiwan President brand fits the bill for me

SNTCK

Instant noodle are quoted with wax, first boiled the noodle than dump the first boil water.
Second boil than you add ingredient for consumption.

For good health, I totally don eat.
I hope brothers here also consume lesser instant noodle.
Really no good for health.

Favourite is Laksa but a bit expensive

Special ingredients: Add hard boiled egg and fish cakes/balls
If available, add chicken pieces

yup. thanks to joetys for the recommendation, i now have packets of laksa from prima taste as my emergency food. it's as good as making laksa from scratch.