• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Good News! Jiuhu Food Court for Samsters at Somerset MRT!

Pinkieslut

New in town: EatAlley — Malaysian food court in Orchard with top KL hawker names​

Clare Lin
Fri, 23 June 2023 at 4:00 pm SGT·4-min read

Are you still making your way across the causeway for your fill of KL delights? You might be losing some precious time, as you can now get them at the brand new EatAlley right in Somerset.
EatAlley - Entrance

From the food down to the design of the space, EatAlley is here to bring a taste of Malaysia to Orchard Road. The 6 main stalls showcase a few of the best hawker food KL has to offer.
EatAlley - BKT

Unlike the pepperbased BKT most Singaporeans are familiar with, Siong Huat Bak Kut Teh serves up herbal bak kut teh in EatAlley.
EatAlley - Bak Kut Teh

Credit

The stall is reknown for their gao herbal broth. What’s more, Siong Huat Bak Kut Teh in EatAlley also serves their bak kut teh in clay pots!
Fuel up on herbal bkt goodness with the classic Soup/Dry Bak Kut Teh (S$10.80). If you like rice, Siong Huat has the option to upgrade to fragrant Shallot Rice (S$1.50).
EatAlley - Wanton Mee

KL frequenters would be no stranger to Koon Kee Wanton Noodle. The stall is famed for their handmade whole egg noodles and ultra-thick cuts of meat.
EatAlley - Koon Kee Waton Mee

The original stall is hidden in a corner along Petaling Street and has been operating since 1942.
EatAlley - Waton Mee

Credit
Definitely head down to try out the Char Siew Wanton Noodle (Dry/Soup) (S$7.80) if you like char siew. Just look at those thick, juicy chunks of char siew.
If you’re game, the Signature Combo Wanton Noodle (S$10.80) includes char siew, chicken feet and mushrooms. I’ve never had chicken feet in my wanton mee, so this is certainly intriguing.
EatAlley - Hokkien Mee

Yet another KL staple gracing us with its presence is Hong Lai Hokkien Mee. If the name doesn’t ring a bell, perhaps this image might help:
EatAlley - Hong Lai Hokkien Mee

Hong Lai Hokkien Mee is known as Kedai Kopi Dan Makanan Hong Lai in KL, and is famous for their charcoal stirfried noodles.
EatAlley - Yue Guang Hor

Credit
Hong Lai is especially well loved for their 月光河 (Yue Guang Hor) or Moonlight Kway Teow (S$9.80). Said to have amazing wok hei and plenty of meat, the dish is topped off with a raw egg in the likeness of the full moon.
EatAlley - Pork Noodle

If you want to try something unique, check out Uncle Beh Pork Noodles. The stall sells Malaysia’s version of BCM which, unlike SG’s version, does not have vinegar or chilli added to the dry noodles.
EatAlley - Uncle Beh Pork Noodle

Credit
Indulge in piping hot bowls of noodle soup like the Beh Signature Pork Noodle Combo (S$10.80). Simmered for 4 hours and served with garlic oil, the soup is the perfect fix for a rainy day.
EatAlley - Beef Noodle

Who can forget the iconic beef noodle stall, Soong Kee Beef Noodle which takes pride in their traditional Hakka style noodles made fresh every day.
EatAlley - Soong Kee Beef Noodle

This stall holds some 78 years of beef noodle cookin’ under its belt and has been around since World War II! Soong Kee Beef Noodle has actually sent one of their top guys to supervise the stall in EatAlly — guess we can be sure the quality of food is up to standard!
EatAlley - Siong Kee Beef Noodle

Unlike the dry beef noodles you can find in SG, the beef noodles from Soong Kee are smothered in a flavourful meat and bean paste instead of starchy gravy. With beef balls and tender beef slices aplenty, Soong Kee does not skimp on ingredients. Be sure to give the Beef Combo Noodles (Dry/Soup) (S$9.80) a go for an ultra satisfying meal.
EatAlley - Entrance Sideview

Of course, this is not all EatAlley has to offer. Keep an eye out for Kam Heong Braised Duck, Kampung Nasi Lemak (Nasi Lemak Fatty’s recipe, but run by EatAlley), and a stall selling drinks and desserts.
EatAlley will open officially in Jul 2023, and is currently in its soft launch phase. I’m excited to see what else they have in store for us!
Yes, we can never beat the prices or the “originals”, considering the current exchange rates. However, if you can’t travel up to KL (or any part of Malaysia), EatAlley’s your next best choice.

every jiuhu makan joint wants to jump on the sinkie bandwagon because the money is good and margins higher. soon they will desert jiuhu and settle their trade permanently in sg. huat ah!

borom

Work a short while and get PR, buy HDB and soon be new citizen , foreign talents go go go