• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

67% of retrenched residents are 40 years & above

sam leong will say that PAP did a good job and it's these people's fault who got retrenched. and the proof below is that pap has done a good job.

http://www.tremeritus.com/2014/06/16/67-of-retrenched-residents-are-40-years-old-above/

Almost half of unemployed residents are aged 40 and above

MOM released the Labour Market report for 1Q 2014 [Link] last Friday (13 Jun).

The quarterly release analyses the labour market situation of Singapore, covering topics like employment, unemployment, redundancy, re-entry into employment, job vacancy, labour turnover and hours worked.

The report said that the overall seasonally adjusted unemployment rate rose from 1.8% in December 2013 to 2.0% in March 2014.

For residents (i.e, including PRs), the unemployment rate increased from 2.7% to 2.9%.

For Singaporeans, it was 2.8% to 3.0%.

The report said that despite the increase in unemployment rates, they were still low comparable to earlier quarters.

In number term, there were 59,300 residents, including 52,300 Singaporeans, who were unemployed in March 2014. The seasonally adjusted figures were 62,500 for residents and 55,700 for citizens.

The long-term unemployment rate was said to be low at 0.6% in March 2014.

Total employment grew by 28,300 in the first quarter of 2014, lower than the seasonally high increase of 40,600 in the last quarter of 2013 but broadly comparable to the 28,900 in the first quarter of 2013. This brought total employment to 3,552,200 in March 2014, which was 4.0% higher than a year ago.

However, the report did not say how many of these jobs went to Singaporeans.

Based on CPF records, about half (51%) of the residents made redundant in the fourth quarter of 2013, secured employment by March 2014. This rate of re-entry within six months of redundancy was lower than the 59% experienced by the previous cohort (laid off in the third quarter of 2013) in December 2013. A lower percentage means it’s harder to get a job after the residents were retrenched.

Job openings continued to increase. The seasonally adjusted job vacancies rose for the third consecutive quarter, though the rate of increase over the quarter moderated to 3.0% in March 2014 from 9.2% in December 2013 and 5.8% in September 2013. Job openings continued to outnumber job seekers, the report said. The seasonally adjusted ratio of job vacancies to unemployed persons declined from 1.43 in December 2013 to 1.33 in March 2014.

Residents aged 40 & above made up the largest share among the unemployed residents in March 2014 at 29,000 or 49%.

Percentage Of Residents Made Redundant (1Q 2014)

Mature workers aged 40 & over: 66.9%
(by education)

Those below secondary education: 16.0%
Those with secondary education: 15.0%
Those with post-secondary (non-tertiary) education: 6.6%
Diploma & professional qualification: 18.3%
Degree holders: 44.1%
(by occupation)

PMETs: 65.5%
Clerical, Sales & Service Workers: 15.7%
Production & Transport Operators, Cleaners & Labourers: 18.8%
Labour market watchers said companies in Singapore may increase headcount in the coming months, as economic activity picks up but they expect that the hirings will lean towards short-term contracts.

Former MP West Coast GRC MP and Chief Executive of Human Capital Singapore [Link], Ms Ho Geok Choo said, “What is very fashionable nowadays is where, they are beginning to bring in people on a short-term basis – that means contract-for-service, rather than contract-of-service. So they might hire them for six months to 12 months.”

Meanwhile, after analyzing the report, prominent financial blogger Leong Sze Hian wrote, “Don’t you find it rather strange that whilst job vacancies continue to rise – the unemployment rate has also risen? As well as the drop in the number of retrenched who were able to get re-employed?”

“Shouldn’t the unemployment rate be coming down, and the re-entry into employment rate improves, if there are really more job vacancies?”

In sinkieland, man age 40 and above once loses their job, and does not have any 2nd hands-on skillset, the next job most likely gonna be either taxi driver or security guard.
I have seen too too too any among my acquaintance.
For woman it is still sllightly better, there are much more options.

in sg, you need to get rich, retire wealthy, or get out by 40. if you're still wondering where the next meal ticket is cumming from at 41, you might as well join the bedok reservoir organization of suiciders (bros) and jump. :p

By the age of 40, they should have achieved financial independence and shouldn't need to work for a living anymore.

Thick Face Black Heart

in sg, you need to get rich, retire wealthy, or get out by 40. if you're still wondering where the next meal ticket is cumming from at 41, you might as well join the bedok reservoir organization of suiciders (bros) and jump. :p

No need to worry about the next meal. Go to temple and get free makan. But do so only if you are truly destitute or you will incur the wrath of Buddha.

good vote more for PAP u stupid old cunts.....mature workers age 40 and over are the most likely to vote for PAPPIES,hope u guys get fucked by PAPPIES AND FTs.

im truly destitute compared to PAPPIES,is that eligible?

You're the one who keeps claiming that kuan yew did a great job, but it's only the current generation leaders who screwed up by bringing in too many foreigners right?

For being clueless, you are NOT eligible.

ROTFL ....................................

You're the one who keeps claiming that kuan yew did a great job, but it's only the current generation leaders who screwed up by bringing in too many foreigners right?

For being clueless, you are NOT eligible.

ROTFL ....................................

just because i agree with some policies from past singapore suddenly that makes me a kuan yew lover?i use fiscal sense and economic logic to determine what is right and wrong,im still a capitalist at heart though i support nationalism and protectionism and anti foreignerism.....i support capitalism with limits and freedom of speech and creativity and social welfare....yes pursue money and glory but not be a utter asshole and douchebag.....

but i sense that PAP is throwing this nation down the shithole for the sake of oodles of money and their insatiable greed and lots of daft and stupid sinkies dont seems to wake up and smell the shit yet.

By the age of 40, they should have achieved financial independence and shouldn't need to work for a living anymore.

By your standard, more than 90 percent of the working population globally have failed. If everyone was financially independent, who will be working?

thats why capitalism is doomed to fail.....we should be encouraging people to see work as a way of life and not pursue entrepreneurship and investments and wealth amassing.....but at the same time make sure everyone is well rewarded for the work they do and have the highest standard of living possible....this ensures that people will keep working as long as possible but get to enjoy the fruits of working and being productive......capitalism and corporatism is bad for humanity as it only ensures inequality and exploitation......

meritocracy my ass...this country talks about how the elite should be rewarded with heavenly riches due to "meritocracy" but at the end of the day they still need to import 3rd world cockroaches by the thousands to do the dirty work for them....thats all they are leeching from the hard work of fts and making themselves filthy rich while everyone else suffers....thats called "meritocracy".

I still don't understand why so many here have a defeatist attitude towards life. With a mindset like that, you've lost the battle before it even begins.

Nobody said life is easy. It is therefore important to set goals early in ones career.

Will everyone succeed? of course not. Only a handful of athletes win gold medals at the Olympics and it's the same in the battle to succeed in life. However, if you don't set goals and work towards them, failure is guaranteed.

I would like all members of sammyboy.com to be successful.. to be in the 10%. Leave the failures to wallow in forums like HWZ, flowerpod or waste their time on facebook or at Hong Lim. Who cares about them.

GoldenPeriod

sam leong will say that PAP did a good job and it's these people's fault who got retrenched. and the proof below is that pap has done a good job.

http://www.tremeritus.com/2014/06/16/67-of-retrenched-residents-are-40-years-old-above/

Almost half of unemployed residents are aged 40 and above

The key takeaways are 1) After 40, once you are retrenched, in Sinkingpore, you are finished. 2) unemployment rate of native Singaporeans are higher than foreigners. 3) University graduates and PMETS are the heaviest casualties of PAP's open door policy, this means the future for Sinkies are low wage, labour intensive jobs.