• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Bargain Hen: Singaporean's Fault That Cost Of Living Is High

xingguy

Source: The Real Singapore

NG ENG HEN: IT'S YOUR FAULT THAT COST OF LIVING IS HIGH BECAUSE YOU BUY EXPENSIVE THINGS
Post date: 11 May 2014 - 4:47pm

630afp-ngenghen-jpg_073239_0_0.jpg

Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen said yesterday that Singaporeans find the cost of living high because we have high aspirations to buy lots of expensive things.

He gave an example of how hand phones have become somewhat of an essential for children these days and most households have TVs and multiple computers.

Ng Eng Hen said that in a sense, cost of living has been going up because people want to have more things per household.

He also noted that real wages (wages after taking into consideration inflation) have been going up.

He was speaking at a dinner held by the Singapore Medical Association attended by over 450 medical professionals, marking the 55th anniversary of the Singapore Medical Association.

He also spoke about what changes need to be seen in the area of healthcare, citing three areas for improvement.

Dr Ng said that we should be focusing more on living well instead of living long. He also suggested that GPs should have a wider scope so that they can help to ease the pressure on hospitals.

Another area where Singapore's healthcare could use improvement is to make healthcare jobs more attractive to Singaporeans.

He also said that doctors need to be socially conscious and they should have a say in how the healthcare industry is run in Singapore.

this is the type of cheebye kia that is reason why i vote against him. i buy things i want cos i song mah. fark you, ham ka chan. your job is to bring down the cost of living. if not becos i buying you think you can support the economy single handed?

Stompiss

I want to buy a 2 room new pigeon hole, cost 75k- 120k depending on location and floor level, so tell me how to get a more cheaper new flat?

I like the phrase live long instead of live well. As such please set up final party houses like in soylent Green...so people can have a choice...talk cock..blame people and don't come up with solutions to solve it..

batman1

This mutherfarker breast surgeon is the reason for singapore's high cost of living.All Singaporeans got to work very hard just to pay for his farking obscene high salary as a PAP Minister.

I agree with him about doctors should be socially conscious. Doctors should prepare their patients to be ready for the day when they their hospital bed is under a makeshift tent. If the patient is mentally prepared, recovery is also faster.

I also agree about the handphone, TV and computers. To an average Singapore households these account for about 50% of expenses. Housing is cheap and affordable as it drops from the sky, food is given away at NTUC outlets and there is also the hawker that sell cheap bandung and nasi padang.

Compared to Singapore, handphones, TVs and Computers are rarely found in other countries. They usually play use a party line on the fixed line phone, scrabble is common and the typewriter is more than sufficient.

Siomething he forgot to mention is the savings gained by not attending school. This then provides much needed space in MRT, drops the vehicle population on the road and parents can save on school transport which has seen some recent hikes. With uneducated kids, they can become maids and drivers to Ang Mo expats thus allowing the reduction of foreigners in low skilled jobs.

Compared to Singapore, handphones, TVs and Computers are rarely found in other countries. They usually play use a party line on the fixed line phone, scrabble is common and the typewriter is more than sufficient.

Sorry, but on this point, you don't know what you're talking about. :rolleyes:

enterprise2

Source: The Real Singapore

NG ENG HEN: IT'S YOUR FAULT THAT COST OF LIVING IS HIGH BECAUSE YOU BUY EXPENSIVE THINGS
Post date: 11 May 2014 - 4:47pm

630afp-ngenghen-jpg_073239_0_0.jpg

Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen said yesterday that Singaporeans find the cost of living high because we have high aspirations to buy lots of expensive things.

He gave an example of how hand phones have become somewhat of an essential for children these days and most households have TVs and multiple computers.

Ng Eng Hen said that in a sense, cost of living has been going up because people want to have more things per household.

He also noted that real wages (wages after taking into consideration inflation) have been going up.

He was speaking at a dinner held by the Singapore Medical Association attended by over 450 medical professionals, marking the 55th anniversary of the Singapore Medical Association.

He also spoke about what changes need to be seen in the area of healthcare, citing three areas for improvement.

Dr Ng said that we should be focusing more on living well instead of living long. He also suggested that GPs should have a wider scope so that they can help to ease the pressure on hospitals.

Another area where Singapore's healthcare could use improvement is to make healthcare jobs more attractive to Singaporeans.

He also said that doctors need to be socially conscious and they should have a say in how the healthcare industry is run in Singapore.

Can't really he said we should live well instead of long?? That's primed for a lot of flaming!!

Sorry, but on this point, you don't know what you're talking about. :rolleyes:

that rite. not everything lidat in angmoh country.

my friend in indon also tell me same story. this silly girl love to bonk always goto his house when the family r away to excuse to borrow fone. once she was really beezee doing laundryboard. my friend tat day damn itchy. went her place a few time to get her to come over but really caught out on wrong timing. then late, very late she turn up at the door say she wanna him to help typewrite a letter. this time she kena rejected by him. he say no need liaoz, he has wrote with his hands. PCC.

Devil Within

The biggest contributing factor to inflation is the increase in supply of money. This is 100% controlled by the Singapore government. Putting the blame of inflation on ordinary Singaporeans is not only laughable, but ridiculous. The only blame Singaporean has is that they allow PAP to remain in power. They should have voted out the PAP if PAP cannot control inflation.

da dick

ok lo. then we all 3 million sell our hdb flat and move to JB and never cum back to sinkie. then prices will stablise right?

If you deduct the mobile devices, The computers and web connection, the pay TV's, The car ownership you will be back to where singapore was in the 1980's in terms of lifestyle and cost of living. I hope many will be happy without these gadgets.

da dick

I agree with him about doctors should be socially conscious. Doctors should prepare their patients to be ready for the day when they their hospital bed is under a makeshift tent. If the patient is mentally prepared, recovery is also faster.

I also agree about the handphone, TV and computers. To an average Singapore households these account for about 50% of expenses. Housing is cheap and affordable as it drops from the sky, food is given away at NTUC outlets and there is also the hawker that sell cheap bandung and nasi padang.

Siomething he forgot to mention is the savings gained by not attending school. This then provides much needed space in MRT, drops the vehicle population on the road and parents can save on school transport which has seen some recent hikes. With uneducated kids, they can become maids and drivers to Ang Mo expats thus allowing the reduction of foreigners in low skilled jobs.

i laughed. clap clap clap

bakkuttay

becos, we picked expensive, chiakliaobee, wasteful, selfserving, greedy n hopeless ministers.
they can go fark spiders.

blindswordsman

...Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen said yesterday that Singaporeans find the cost of living high because we have high aspirations to buy lots of expensive things....Ng Eng Hen said that in a sense, cost of living has been going up because people want to have more things per household....Dr Ng said that we should be focusing more on living well instead of living long.

Was he quoted correctly? Obviously, he knows nothing about Economics and the theory about production and distribution of wealth. Without the motivation to create wealth, why should a worker strive to produce more?

Every human being should also strive to live long and well at the same time. Why then is LKY still alive?

Govt should provide best heath care services for its citizens to nurture long and healthy life. The newly imported shitizens will be horrified to hear they are now urged by the Minister to die young.

blindswordsman

If you deduct the mobile devices, The computers and web connection, the pay TV's, The car ownership you will be back to where singapore was in the 1980's in terms of lifestyle and cost of living. I hope many will be happy without these gadgets.

Hey, mate, these gadgets are not relevant factors to the cost of living.

Curb the Govt spending like giving away millions to other countries (recently millions to pinoy land), building useless unproductive infrastructures, reduce salaries for Ministers, remove ERP, COE, free training for FTsh, free scholarship for foreign students, etc, which are all factors contributing to the cost of living.

The Govt leads the way to reduce the cost of living but if pappies do nothing to cut Govt spending and levies, sinkies are screwed.

da dick

i disagree, my hp bill and CMI M1 broadband plus electric bill is still lower than my food bill... and my water bill... and my rent. my essentials cost a lot more than the extra stuff. and i cant call them extra because i need HP for work. and still need internet for NS matters and book RT. also my transport cost more than HP or my broadband or my electricity, and i actually take the bus/MRT(unless i become unemployed la). u are full of shit, mat.