• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What happen to Lee Hsien Yang?

The playboy caused misery to his daughter and hence LCY spoke up against the establishment and later was made to discredit his own words?

I think that is a very interesting theory and has a lot of merit. i was also wondering why an establishment PAP economic professor would suddenly speak out against the PAP policies. Could be that his daughter went crying to him about Ah Yang cheating on her, and when nothing was done by Con You or gay Loong, decided to bash the PAP.

Are u sure or not? in those days. Brigade ( i assume u talking about 4 SAB) was at Keat Hong camp 2 with Col colin Thesiera as CO mah. where got at sungei gedong? 46 officer mess next to the canteen. where you will find the only malay ever allowed in an armour camp. LOL. She is a macik that sells the best curry puff i ever had. nice fat plump and juicy, with lots of chicken meat. shiok like hell. I used to disrupt exercise to sneak in and buy some before she leaves for the day. in 90s, than that is different. by than, LHY out of armour and out of SAF already lah. I think you are quite a few years after LHY's time in 46. Some 46 staff from those days still recognize me today, but I can't remember them all by now. LOL.

i cannot remember the brigade designation but since u mention 4sab at 40sar then the gedong brigade is 8sab. those day(my time 90s) 46 same brigade with 40 while 41 & 42 under 8sab. i many many years after lhy. maybe my OC was your recruit in the 80s. hahaha... 80s i still playing golees.

as for canteen, both 42 and 46 CMI. most pengkia buy food from the 46 spec mess operator on the sly. normally rsm close one eye as he let operator earn a bit more. most popular among pengkias and MTO personnels was the nasi lemak.

as for malay, the new ATC canteen malay stall food not bad, much better than the chinese stall. the macik's mee soto first class, when i went back for medical review, i went to makan the malay food before heading back to medical centre. knn, kind of miss the malay stall, wonder still operating or not since i completed liability 5yrs ago.

yellowarse

i cannot remember the brigade designation but since u mention 4sab at 40sar then the gedong brigade is 8sab. those day(my time 90s) 46 same brigade with 40 while 41 & 42 under 8sab. i many many years after lhy. maybe my OC was your recruit in the 80s. hahaha... 80s i still playing golees.

During your time, HQ 4SAB under Lai Chee Kwong moved to Gedong already. HQ 8SAB (newly formed in '89) under Tan Hang Kee in Keat Hong Camp II. 40 & 46 under 8SAB; 41 & 42 under 4SAB. Han Eng Juan was Chief Armour then.

as for canteen, both 42 and 46 CMI. most pengkia buy food from the 46 spec mess operator on the sly. normally rsm close one eye as he let operator earn a bit more. most popular among pengkias and MTO personnels was the nasi lemak.

as for malay, the new ATC canteen malay stall food not bad, much better than the chinese stall. the macik's mee soto first class, when i went back for medical review, i went to makan the malay food before heading back to medical centre. knn, kind of miss the malay stall, wonder still operating or not since i completed liability 5yrs ago.

Ok, that explains it. u were many years after LHY. back than 46 SAR was the standard for armour camp and like i said, the officer mess was the standard for SAF. I have been to every single SAF camp in those days, and a decent second would be the commandoes officer mess. By the time u got to 46, the heyday was long gone. I think by the time you got there, it was already Bionix in armour? Since we are talking about food, Were you around when the snacks sellers were riding around area D in a motorbike and a sidecar? Selling iced packet soft drinks and fried mee hoon out of the side car? Some of their snacks were damn good.

During your time, HQ 4SAB under Lai Chee Kwong moved to Gedong already. HQ 8SAB (newly formed in '89) under Tan Hang Kee in Keat Hong Camp II. 40 & 46 under 8SAB; 41 & 42 under 4SAB. Han Eng Juan was Chief Armour then.

wahahaha.... dombaleg.

what u expect from a rifleman... i have no idea who was the COArmour during the course of my nsf and reservist.

How you know his exact time? COA under his time could have been Lim Kim Lye.

Ok, that explains it. u were many years after LHY. back than 46 SAR was the standard for armour camp and like i said, the officer mess was the standard for SAF. I have been to every single SAF camp in those days, and a decent second would be the commandoes officer mess. By the time u got to 46, the heyday was long gone. I think by the time you got there, it was already Bionix in armour? Since we are talking about food, Were you around when the snacks sellers were riding around area D in a motorbike and a sidecar? Selling iced packet soft drinks and fried mee hoon out of the side car? Some of their snacks were damn good.

when i at 46, it was a ultra battalion aka upgraded m113. but reservist convert to BX in first ICT. first BX battalion was 42, i think in 98. mobile S4 was banned by then, only kanchanaburi experienced mobile s4. I think in 80s, LCK still have many kampongs, my colleague remember the days when tanks thunder past her home in the 70s. So got ppl willing to follow troops ard area d to sell f&b.

Ok, by your time, Hsien yang already long gone. I think every AI I know prefer the Ultra to the BX. In those days, tanks thunder down many roads, not only kampung roads but also main roads like Chua Chu Kang and Lim Chu Kang. those were 40 SAR vehicles on their way to Area D. kenna so many langar with civilian vehicles until have to use low loaders for the road travel.

BX is shit vehicle. i dont see how that piece of junk can cost $2m in 90s to built. knn, same price as the Leo2. it was poorly design with no input from the pengkias taken in by the design team. so many sharp edges in the trooper compartment, no basket for trooper fieldpack and the camo net basket pitifully small despite BX camo net much bigger than M113 net. the floatation kit a joke while many barangs that used to strap on the M113 topside are now had to store on the floor of the trooper compartment, making it more cramp. luckily armour many ppl downgrade so each BX only has 2-4 troopers so at least still got space inside after putting so many equipment inside.

poh tiong chun earning big buck providing low loader for 40sar, those days already $500 a trip per loader. i wonder now how much?

I remember I had a school camp in the mid 1990s, it was at the Sarimbun camp. At night. we heard lots of tanks travelling along the road just outside the main gate.

I don't think its tanks, you probably heard M113s or maybe Bionix. they were on their way to area D. Only armoured vehicles with rubber tracks can travel on the main roads. And AMX-13s don't usually have rubber left in their tracks anymore. hence, they were usually transported by low loaders.

BX is shit vehicle. i dont see how that piece of junk can cost $2m in 90s to built. knn, same price as the Leo2. it was poorly design with no input from the pengkias taken in by the design team. so many sharp edges in the trooper compartment, no basket for trooper fieldpack and the camo net basket pitifully small despite BX camo net much bigger than M113 net. the floatation kit a joke while many barangs that used to strap on the M113 topside are now had to store on the floor of the trooper compartment, making it more cramp. luckily armour many ppl downgrade so each BX only has 2-4 troopers so at least still got space inside after putting so many equipment inside.

poh tiong chun earning big buck providing low loader for 40sar, those days already $500 a trip per loader. i wonder now how much?

Slight correction. its Peck Tiong Chun. And yes, this company made a lot of money from the SAF. Want to hear something funny. They made so much money from the SAF that they were bought out by MINDEF. LOL. They now belong to Ministry of defence. LOL. The office manager was the daughter of the owner. I never met her, but always chatted with her on the phone. Someone told me she was damn jude and drove a Porche, no mean feat in those days. She is a probably an aunty by now, or even maybe a granny. hahahahaha

Eldest son is names a 'DRAGON' and the younger one as 'Goat'......see how LKY and his wife created the latter just as a shadow for his elder siblings for the rest of his life. Both BGs in the army...of course those paper generals....one ended up as Prime Minister and the other now 'lost in the shadow' of his elder brother!

Hard to see how a goat can win a dragon. Old Man really showed which son he loves more.

Brightkid

Ifi I did not remember wrongly, LHY was CO of 40SAR for a short while ard 1982 . I think less than a year before posted out again? Still a Major then.

He fit? U did not seen him during IPPT I supposed?

He had a license but never drive a taxi. sister ntuc insurance executive. He manage Demsey Road old CMPB army camp for almost 10 years, now someone took over.

Ok I know who this chap is. Mrs Woody was instrumental in the Dempsey Rd business. This chap loves to wine, women and song. Was driving a 7 series BMW then. Made good money during one of the GEs. He picked the right date!

Ifi I did not remember wrongly, LHY was CO of 40SAR for a short while ard 1982 . I think less than a year before posted out again? Still a Major then.

He fit? U did not seen him during IPPT I supposed?

I guess u did not run with him.

I can't remember if he was CO at 40 SAR. I don't think he was. My recollection was he graduated from cambridge in 1979. That means he would have come back to singapore as a LTA. Kind of fast for him to reach major in only 3 years if he was CO of 40 SAR in 1982. Also, in 1984, he went back to the British Army staff college at Camberley. And when he returned, he was CO of 46 SAR. I tend to think that was his first CO appt after staff college, which would make sense. ie they send you to staff college before assuming a CO position. But i could be mistaken, so many years ago.

I followed your story and can see you are also PAP SAF officer worker holding some kind of mid to high level position.

You are the right person to reveal something in SAF and PAP. what was your last rank in SAF? :wink:

Anyone know LTC Boon? I know her sister.

I guess u did not run with him.

I can't remember if he was CO at 40 SAR. I don't think he was. My recollection was he graduated from cambridge in 1979. That means he would have come back to singapore as a LTA. Kind of fast for him to reach major in only 3 years if he was CO of 40 SAR in 1982. Also, in 1984, he went back to the British Army staff college at Camberley. And when he returned, he was CO of 46 SAR. I tend to think that was his first CO appt after staff college, which would make sense. ie they send you to staff college before assuming a CO position. But i could be mistaken, so many years ago.

I was in the armoured brigade too and MAX 13 also go on main road on steel tracks. Cant event climb a low slope in Mandai Rd.

No wonder the father army son Hong Yi kpkb SAF still using WW2 equipment.

I don't think its tanks, you probably heard M113s or maybe Bionix. they were on their way to area D. Only armoured vehicles with rubber tracks can travel on the main roads. And AMX-13s don't usually have rubber left in their tracks anymore. hence, they were usually transported by low loaders.