• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

ciggy price reduced

Just realized ciggy price has gone back to before increased, strange :confused: cheng hu listening to SBF ?

can we have a microeconomics expert come in to explain this fall in ciggie prices despite increase in official taxes? I have studied these before in my Diploma in Business management course, just too lazy to go through my first sem notes.

so complicated meh, not like they read too much kpkb and give chance and reduced it ?

Bad news for sellers of contraband cigs. Their business increased 20% when price was increased.

contraband cigs are mostly consumed by foreign construction workers and lau ah pek, normal smoker easily will get caught and fine heavily for possession. I kena before burnt a big hole in pocket. Why they never catch the foreign construction workers ? The workers even gave me 1 stick or 2 daily. It is so unfair.

From my observation in Geylang, many local buyers. They would drive in to this even numbered lorong in their lorries, vans and motorbikes. Foreign workers would walk there to buy.

no_faith

ciggy price will keep going up. even this time it stays the same, next year will also increase until siao.
either quit smoking or kpkb den live with it. hahaha

groinroot

I am a non-smoker and am unaware of the fluctuations in ciggy prices. However, I notice that many senior citizens who were once smokers had stopped smoking.This is bad news for the medical industry and many hospitals that are now springing up as there is a potential loss of customers with ailments related to smoking. So the drop in prices must be an effort to boost the number of smokers.

Just checked with a helper from a provision shop. He told me reduction in price came from the cig companies but no idea if temporary or permanent.

After a health scare few months back, I'm now cutting down on my ciggies..

Its now one pack for 2 days.. Thats means 10 sticks a day unlike back then when I would smoke a pack every day..

Its very tempting in Malaysia where many brands of ciggies sell for less than RM12 a pack..

But I'm sticking to a pack for 2 days, and eating alot of Hacks sweets inside the office..

After a health scare few months back, I'm now cutting down on my ciggies..

Its now one pack for 2 days.. Thats means 10 sticks a day unlike back then when I would smoke a pack every day..

Its very tempting in Malaysia where many brands of ciggies sell for less than RM12 a pack..

But I'm sticking to a pack for 2 days, and eating alot of Hacks sweets inside the office..

Good for you bro. I smoke 2 and a half packet a day.

Not surprising, the tobacco companies cut their profits to reduce the impact on smokers due to the tax increase. Tobacco companies like the one in woodland has a lot of marketing budget but cannot use for main stream advertisements. Can always charge this into their marketing budget. In the past, you can even change 4 empty boxes for 1 boxes for Newport and Lucky.

Sinkees smokers better quit lah. Now it become a luxury than a need liaoz.