• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

New developments to share

malpaso

Air-con malls are still the way to go in SG and MY, being hot & humid countries. If only walkways are open, while shops have glass doors, this instantaneously create an entry barrier which will limit the no. of shoppers in each shop & the shopping experience

i think i did drop you a note to checkout sunway giza in kota damansara, as bro funniman pointed out.. it is similar to clarke quay. the malls are within high shaded canopies within atrium walkway. huge fans keep the air circulating. rather pleasant.

Investor

Pray hard . Looking at the structure, not possible to air con the mall.

The sun shines in at some of the eateries at certain parts of the day so ..not very comfy actually.

Don't get it wrong, they are not going to fully air con the presently completed street mall which is just 10% the full size of Mall of Medini. Which also means that Mall of Medini, when completed, will be 10 times bigger than the present size.

The present street mall is just Phase One(200k sq ft of 2mil sq ft).
In the next Phase, there will be a fully air-conditioned shopping mall with indoor ice-skating ring, cinemas etc.

good2

Hi all,
I got a question. If a foreigner buys a malaysia property below 1 mil now, will it kanna hit by the new rules? Is it too late to buy now to avoid the new rules?

jasonjst

Not need air con lah, and please don’t follow those SG malls. If want to buy and see the same things, why bother to queue up few hours at customs just to see the same things. You mean people drive few 100s KM to Malacca , Penang ... to find atas aircon mall to shop ? For Malaysia , more important issue is to provide safe ample parking , covered walk ways , lots of eateries , easy flow of traffic .. can liao . NS also need to do work out in air con, and maids to carry field pack, save the world and save youself .

FHBH12

Malaysia's Medini plans US$800m public listing: report
Published November 07, 2013

[KUALA LUMPUR] Government-linked township developer Medini Iskandar Malaysia hopes to raise 2.5 billion ringgit (US$800 million) in an initial public offering early next year, a report said Thursday.

The IPO, reported by The Star newspaper, would be the country's largest since palm oil giant Felda Global Ventures raised US$3.25 billion in June 2012.

Medini oversees a special economic zone in the heart of the ambitious Iskandar development project in southern Johor province.

Medini has said its site has an expected gross development value of more than US$21 billion over 20 years.

Company officials could not immediately be reached for comment.

Iskandar is a huge development project intended to mesh Johor's economy more tightly with that of affluent neighbour Singapore.

However, recent reports have said Iskandar Waterfront Holdings, a privately owned developer, was planning to delay a US$300 million stock listing by a year to the end of 2014 due to concerns over government measures to cool property demand.

Southeast Asia's third-largest economy, Malaysia saw a flurry of big listings last year, led by Felda, that helped its stock exchange become the world's fifth-largest IPO market in 2012.

The pace slackened this year due to caution ahead of May elections narrowly won by Malaysia's long-ruling coalition, but has recently picked up again.

UMW Oil and Gas Corp raised US$740 million last week in Malaysia's largest IPO this year, following July's US$309 million listing of budget airline AirAsia X and leading Malaysian ports operator Westports Holdings' US$640 million IPO last month.

Sovereign wealth fund 1Malaysia Development Berhad is expected to announce a listing to raise at least US$3 billion in 2014, according to unconfirmed reports. - Reuters

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/bre...i-plans-us800m-public-listing-report-20131107

Investor

Not need air con lah, and please don’t follow those SG malls. If want to buy and see the same things, why bother to queue up few hours at customs just to see the same things. You mean people drive few 100s KM to Malacca , Penang ... to find atas aircon mall to shop ? For Malaysia , more important issue is to provide safe ample parking , covered walk ways , lots of eateries , easy flow of traffic .. can liao . NS also need to do work out in air con, and maids to carry field pack, save the world and save youself .

Looks like you are very much affected by your atas 'sports car' relative who declined your invitation to your house :biggrin:
Relax and enjoy your house in Johor, you can't change everyone and make everyone think like you and like what you like, do what you do etc...

Do what you enjoy doing and give others your blessings if they do well. With lesser hatred, you can save the world and save yourself :smile:

RedsYNWA

i think i did drop you a note to checkout sunway giza in kota damansara, as bro funniman pointed out.. it is similar to clarke quay. the malls are within high shaded canopies within atrium walkway. huge fans keep the air circulating. rather pleasant.

Oh yes, I haven't had the chance to check out Sunway Giza yet. Only managed to check out Uptown & 1Utama in my previous visit. I certainly think that areas like Clarke quay, Quayside Isle (Sentosa), Star Vista (green mall at Buona Vista) etc are great for leisure. In fact, my dream lifestyle is a Sentosa Cove bungalow, and shopping/chilling at Quayside Isle.

But if we strictly look at profitability, sadly its the 'cookie cutter' CapitaLand/Fraser malls that give the best returns to landlords and tenants. So I don't blame SG malls for all looking alike, 80% of the time. A similar 'cookie cutter' template has also brought great success across the causeway to the likes of Jusco.

RedsYNWA

By the way, anyone read Country Garden's latest ad on Straits Times? Are they providing FOC LEGOLAND tickets, or do I have to pay $55 for the trip +LEGOLAND ticket? The ad is somewhat confusing. I don't mind checking Country Garden out, if they are providing FOC tickets but not for $55.

FHBH12

By the way, anyone read Country Garden's latest ad on Straits Times? Are they providing FOC LEGOLAND tickets, or do I have to pay $55 for the trip +LEGOLAND ticket? The ad is somewhat confusing. I don't mind checking Country Garden out, if they are providing FOC tickets but not for $55.

Sadly those freebies are at buyers' expense. I will also check out CG next week.

kawan2sgmy

Maybe it's sales gimmick lah! If you don't buy, I don't think they will give FOC tickets.

They just called me, asked whether I am still interested in FSV.

good2

Hi everyone,
Has anyone here dealt directly with a property seller in msia?
Do share your experience here or by pm. Thanks

RedsYNWA

Maybe it's sales gimmick lah! If you don't buy, I don't think they will give FOC tickets.

They just called me, asked whether I am still interested in FSV.

True, no free lunch in this world. Well I think I will visit Country Garden, in their next promotional event....maybe got free seafood n petrol vouchers to boot! haha

Funniman

True, no free lunch in this world. Well I think I will visit Country Garden, in their next promotional event....maybe got free seafood n petrol vouchers to boot! haha

Careful careful. You can have the freebies but you will get high pressure selling talk before you get the vouchers.

kawan2sgmy

You may be right, there could be more freebies coming!
U want the Sg office contact to check on this freebie?