• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

New developments to share

malpaso

My guess is if your property is bank-valued not borderline RM1 million but around RM1.4 it should be acceptable for State Consent. But that's my guess only. And to get fast fast State Consent must send in the runners and pray hard, if not just pray even harder.

my guess is that, as bro Funniman pointed out, state valuation will hinge on past transactions. so, the properties around the 600k RM ++ house should be "churned" around a few round by locals (since no foreigner can buy.), slowly up to pass 1M.. before the valuation > 1M. may take loooong time neh.

Frodo

my guess is that, as bro Funniman pointed out, state valuation will hinge on past transactions. so, the properties around the 600k RM ++ house should be "churned" around a few round by locals (since no foreigner can buy.), slowly up to pass 1M.. before the valuation > 1M. may take loooong time neh.

Then confirm must pray even harder than harder. :wink:

Hopefully won't take too long for your case.

Newbie11

i thought foreigner buy aussie prop must sell back to LOCAL?

U r right. Reason for foreigners to buy new stock is to protect locals, so that foreigners will not compete with locals for existing stock and foreigners to boost economy and jobs as new unit require construction.

FHBH12

I share the same gratefulness as you do! And since mine is intermediate terrace, at most only maintain front (one measly garden patch) and back (not much at the back anyway).

Mine is a cluster but when I see so many windows, big floor area and spider webs and lizard shits to clean, I faint. I'm getting a part time cleaner to help out once a month soon.

Frodo

Mine is a cluster but when I see so many windows, big floor area and spider webs and lizard shits to clean, I faint. I'm getting a part time cleaner to help out once a month soon.

I should be getting my share of the same too, hopefully lesser!

RedsYNWA

I used to envy those staying in landed. But after trying out landed in Johor, I have concluded that staying in HDB is better as there is a Town Council to help you maintain the facilities and façade.

Actually I have the opposite experience. Staying in huge double-storey terrace is superb compared to HDB. But I have also learnt to appreciate the little things in Singapore that I didn't notice before hand, such as more efficient transport system (from roads maintenance, traffic lights control, the many expressways, MRTs), safety, better amenities & shopping etc.

Eg in JB, you are hard pressed to find a gd Chinese restaurant beyond Pekin restaurant, Grand Straits Garden, Shi Li Fang. Or a gd fine-dining french restaurant. Or Prada/Gucci etc..... In Singapore, the range is huge from hawker centres to top notch dining & shopping.

1nottiboy

Your agent is rite. Seri Alam will boom... but his is MY "near" future which in human years could very mean next life time.

Property agents (whether from SG or MY) often tell half truths. do your own homework. dun trust them.

As a Singaporean buying property in Iskandar my first thought was to buy landed, not condo. Living in condo was to me like living in a luxury HDB (sorry for being blunt), since I have been living in flats for whole life. Landed offers a different feel though. Everyday drive/ride pass landed properties in Singapore but knowing cannot own one because out of reach, but then JB offers "salvation". :p

Anyway, my agent told me that Seri Alam would boom in near future, and my property exceeding RM1 million in near future not a problem. Don't know whether true or not, but hear already also feel good. Anyway, nearby Fortuna Hub is progressing well and should make things attractive overall. Huat ah!

Funniman

Actually I have the opposite experience. Staying in huge double-storey terrace is superb compared to HDB. But I have also learnt to appreciate the little things in Singapore that I didn't notice before hand, such as more efficient transport system (from roads maintenance, traffic lights control, the many expressways, MRTs), safety, better amenities & shopping etc.

Eg in JB, you are hard pressed to find a gd Chinese restaurant beyond Pekin restaurant, Grand Straits Garden, Shi Li Fang. Or a gd fine-dining french restaurant. Or Prada/Gucci etc..... In Singapore, the range is huge from hawker centres to top notch dining & shopping.

You do not just buy the physical house. You buy the environment, your choice of neighbours, the infrastructure and the surroundings. Add all that up, you bought a home.

kawan2sgmy

Thanks for yr effort in trying to seek clarification to our issues although nothing concrete comes out of it! They can't commit themselves if they are not sure at this stage.
Hierarchy system, top people decide new policies, so below people waiting to see everything in black and white before committing, if say wrong things, their heads will drop off.

Verbally he said ok, but if you ask him to give you black and white, I think he will tell you not ok... maybe it's foc, so he hold back. Hahaha!

I guess it will take some time for things to filter through. What to do, just have to wait for further clarifications. We must remind ourselves this is not Sg...
Anyway, we very much appreciate yr effort!

Stupid lawyer is useless, despite being a big law firm. I asked him on transfer or will to foreign next-of-kin for properties below RM 1m. He stuttered and said in both cases, it "should" be ok 1, no issues from the cases so far. But I detect uncertainty in his reply.

I then asked what's going to happen to so many condo units below RM 1m in JB, e.g Country Garden. His reply was that the RM 1m was a Federal proposal, but the actual individual state min. amount may vary. It may not be RM 1m. For example, though Federal passed the RM 500K a long time ago, in certain states such as Johor, it remained at RM 250k for a long time before being revised to RM 500k subsequently.

For certain 'special' non-medini projects, he thinks there may well be 'special exemptions' from the RM 1m requirement. All in all, he said v little useful things, and I am not convinced. My regular lawyer provides better answers...... haiz...

RedsYNWA

You do not just buy the physical house. You buy the environment, your choice of neighbours, the infrastructure and the surroundings. Add all that up, you bought a home.

Well, yes, staying at Taman Molek is great from the house to the environment, choice of neighbour, surrounding etc. Just that JB still cant beat SG for sheer variety, amenities & convenience. You gain in other ways though. I speak with 7 years of experience in JB. I am sure forumers like Bro Malpaso feel the same as me.... haha

Frodo

Your agent is rite. Seri Alam will boom... but his is MY "near" future which in human years could very mean next life time.

Property agents (whether from SG or MY) often tell half truths. do your own homework. dun trust them.

I think my agent still OK lah as she has been staying in Seri Alam all along. After I signed the SPA and paid up deposit, she revealed that a couple of days before I sign on SPA somebody offered her RM100K more for the unit I was buying. Thank God she did not play me out for that extra RM1000 commission.

kawan2sgmy

Oh no, changes again! Macham stock market, if buy, no follow up on the news, sure fall behind...sianz...

there is no such thing as "international " unit. my SEC house i bot at 658k rm is supposed to be "international" lot, now because of the new 1M min price, become "local" lot.

1nottiboy

Actually, to each his own. I know of a multi millionaire who purposely moved out of his bungalow to stay in a HDB. Of course, he is one of the strange ones. But he likes the idea that he doesn't hafta bother with leaking roofs and tending to the garden. He is in his 40s.

Then there is me who is not a fan of HDB living. its more because of the neighbours. relatively more weird/unbearable characters compared to private housing.

But to live in MY, ultimately its the mei meis who decides what I buy. Does the mei mei prefer to do it in a house? or to do it in a condo? most of the time, the gal doesn't care, as long as your wallet is fat.

Funniman

Well, yes, staying at Taman Molek is great from the house to the environment, choice of neighbour, surrounding etc. Just that JB still cant beat SG for sheer variety, amenities & convenience. You gain in other ways though. I speak with 7 years of experience in JB. I am sure forumers like Bro Malpaso feel the same as me.... haha

Me too been staying in a landed all my life. So I do know what it is like.
If only Spore is not so expensive, I would have bought there as the infrastructure and the convenience is there. Then again I am not staying full time there, so PH or Spore does not really matter.

Funniman

Actually, to each his own. I know of a multi millionaire who purposely moved out of his bungalow to stay in a HDB. Of course, he is one of the strange ones. But he likes the idea that he doesn't hafta bother with leaking roofs and tending to the garden. He is in his 40s.

Then there is me who is not a fan of HDB living. its more because of the neighbours. relatively more weird/unbearable characters compared to private housing.

But to live in MY, ultimately its the mei meis who decides what I buy. Does the mei mei prefer to do it in a house? or to do it in a condo? most of the time, the gal doesn't care, as long as your wallet is fat.

Big difference.
A big house to run about in the kitchen or in the living room or in the gym room or even balcony. Small condo...where else can you go?:biggrin:

Funniman

Oh no, changes again! Macham stock market, if buy, no follow up on the news, sure fall behind...sianz...

I think there are 2 types of approvals here.

1. Leasehold need State Exco approval to transfer name and on top of this you need another State approval for the 1.0M thingy. Of course selling to Malaysian is not a problem.

2. Freehold do not need State Exco approval to transfer name but you need State Approval for the 1.0 M thingy.

International lot..really I have not seen this classification on any Land Grants or SPA before. Anyone got this "International Lot" in their paperwork? Can enlighten?

Frodo

Being a multi-millionaire wouldn't it be easier to get someone to repair the roof, or to tend the garden? Or else move out to new bungalow without garden?