• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

New developments to share

RedsYNWA

Mine is at Straits View, the estate is quite old already. Tenants include Japs, Koreans, and some other nationalities.
I heard that some Japs buy whole block in some parts of JB, and there is also the Jap village at Molek pine. I worry the Japs working at Pasir Gudang will flock to their Jap territory, then I will have problem finding good corporate tenants.
So what you think of Permas Jaya area?

You must have purchased Straits View condo after some detailed research, as it is not a 'usual' type of foreigner purchase. I believe the fundamentals have not changed. Permas Jaya/Senibong Cove area seems to be developing fast too esp after EDL opening, so in the long run, your investment should do fine.

PS: I heard from a Jap that there are more Japs at Straits View den at Molek Pine. So it should be fine if you choose to hold. Hee.

Mummymoo

I am neither rich nor prime, just an average salary earner who found resale jumbo HDB prices too high and current HDB too small for growing family. BTO also not big and must wait and need to pay resale levy. And since we have been making frequent trips to JB for makan and leisure, it suddenly make it very attractive to buy a landed FH which is out of reach in Singapore. Scouted a few properties in Skudai and BI and found one we like very much in Seri Alam, not too far from CIQ too. Budget just nice for us and renting out HDB would provide a source of income to lessen financial burden too and help service monthly instalments for JB house.

Where's the like button for this? :smile:

kawan2sgmy

Thank you for your kind words. If I am not mistaken, Bandaraya bought the whole area at dirt cheap price. The whole area became 'wang' only after they built the bridge, connecting to Pasir Gudang. I also heard the Mgmt office belong to Bandaraya. As such I think they can do a good job managing and upkeep the estate which is very important to attract good tenants.

You must have purchased Straits View condo after some detailed research, as it is not a 'usual' type of foreigner purchase. I believe the fundamentals have not changed. Permas Jaya/Senibong Cove area seems to be developing fast too esp after EDL opening, so in the long run, your investment should do fine.

PS: I heard from a Jap that there are more Japs at Straits View den at Molek Pine. So it should be fine if you choose to hold. Hee.

alnine

It is the same in Singapore where Sentosa cove is for the wealthy foreigners who can own luxury bungalows and condos but at 99LH.

There are many rich malaysian lah. 90% of the people I know in Malaysia lives in landed and owns multiple cars. It is a land of many riches. Tomorrow if people do not trade with Singapore we have hardly any food to feed ourselves. No sand to build any more flats or condo. But the over 1 M foreigners will leave our shores and you have lots of empty pigeon holes to hide in.

Rojak

Was at the teega showroom ytd enquiring on cs1. salesman told me launching in nov & puteri harbour is like Medini & not affected by min rm500k/1mil. Anyone knows if there is any truth in that? Tks.

Rmb JB ppty market had been stagnant from post asian crisis 97 to 2009. If local Jb ppl that rich how come it will stagnant for so damn long, one reason is rental yield not growing. But i think if jb ppl bcome more risk aware, less risk taking, the overall ppty might seem gloomy in near future. Penang is island like sg, KL Klang valley region population bigger than sg. Jb neither island nor comparable in population. Only hope is price go up, so local will buy from u; if local c price not moving up, they rather dun bother sapu the excess (b4 the ppty boom on iskandar, the ppty supply is in equilibrium as rental not moving up nor house price moving up). Alternatively, buy other type of houses that market lack of like townhouse, living warehouses in residential zone (is there any in iskandar?) so probably u can demand a premium from following buyer.

I think the situation is different now with many non-JB local Msians moving to JB, many of them are from KL, Penang, etc and working in SG. They move their families to stay in JB while they commute to work in SG. I have come across quite a few like that, they either rent or bought a house in JB to live in and working in SG. These people from KL, Penang etc seem to be more keen to invest and hope property price to go up than the JB locals.

Sounds good on plan but however the longer the holding period, the greater the risks involved. Risks such as the flip flop policies... Change in rate of RPGT? Ability of investors to get tenant? And if tenanted, at what rental rate? Is it enough to cover the instalment?

The ultimate question to ask: do you have the risk appetite? Each investment holds its own risks...

Sorry to be a wet blanket... I am vested in jb property but I do so with these other due considerations.

Yeah got to take risks, but it is worth it lah 25% rpgt difference by waiting a few more years. If market crash then just hold another decade lor haha.

malpaso

I think the situation is different now with many non-JB local Msians moving to JB, many of them are from KL, Penang, etc and working in SG. They move their families to stay in JB while they commute to work in SG. I have come across quite a few like that, they either rent or bought a house in JB to live in and working in SG. These people from KL, Penang etc seem to be more keen to invest and hope property price to go up than the JB locals.

my KL kampong friend bot a condo in jb to be near her two kids who are on scholarship studying in sgp.

FHBH12

There are many rich malaysian lah. 90% of the people I know in Malaysia lives in landed and owns multiple cars. It is a land of many riches. Tomorrow if people do not trade with Singapore we have hardly any food to feed ourselves. No sand to build any more flats or condo. But the over 1 M foreigners will leave our shores and you have lots of empty pigeon holes to hide in.

It is easy to see the Johoreans are making tons of money by just looking at the traffic jams at the first and second links from Friday-Sunday and public holidays. The money must flow to somebody's pocket.

my KL kampong friend bot a condo in jb to be near her two kids who are on scholarship studying in sgp.

Yes, I have also come across one lady in her 60s who moved from KL to JB to be near her only daughter working and living in SG. She bought a terrace house in Tebrau area.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Was at the teega showroom ytd enquiring on cs1. salesman told me launching in nov & puteri harbour is like Medini & not affected by min rm500k/1mil. Anyone knows if there is any truth in that? Tks.

Medini areas are not affected as its leasehold under special arrangement for 129 years (99 + 30)

FHBH12

last friday najib tabled the budget in parliament.
most likely will go through. strong public support for the property measures.

Najib must have already consulted the key decision makers behind the scene and got the green light to table at the Budget 2014.

Serenity

malaysians being boleh, build up fucking hype to trap foreigners in, plans sweep under the carpet, regulations change at a stroke of the pen

Singapore government uses Additional Buyer Stamp Duty and Seller Stamp Duty for cooling measures.

Malaysian government uses Real Property Gain Tax and min purchase of RM1M for foreigner.

WHICH IS BETTER?

Funniman

Singapore government uses Additional Buyer Stamp Duty and Seller Stamp Duty for cooling measures.

Malaysian government uses Real Property Gain Tax and min purchase of RM1M for foreigner.

WHICH IS BETTER?

Spore Government: If you got money to Pay and Pay, go ahead and play.
Malaysia Government: If you got money to play, play big time. Don't come and play small time.

I think Spore method better. Not so complicated. Big spender style.

Newbie11

Putting aside vested interests, Malaysia measures are better in ensuring locals can buy homes below 1m. Including good quality homes. Najib showed the will to tackle the mkt.

Singapore penalize locals buying multiple homes through absd n ltv and ssd which is drastic over rpgt. Hdb resale still available to PR. Our approach is drip by drip

FHBH12

WHICH IS BETTER?

Malaysia allows investors to make profit after they sell. Singapore makes investors lose money when they buy.

austin_hts

In Malaysia, developer will sell property at 1 mil with rebates, say 20%. SPA price is 1mil, Loan based on this amt. You pay 800k. When u sell, say at 1mil, property gain zero. Hence no tax. Actual gain, 200k, ignoring legal fees, stamp duties. Eg KSL d esplanade, Setia sky88...... :-)

Malaysia allows investors to make profit after they sell. Singapore makes investors lose money when they buy.