• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

New rules to require employers to consider S'poreans fairly before hiring foreigners

watchman8

Re: New rules to require employers to consider S'poreans fairly before hiring foreign

At last!! Now they are changing course!! Keep on slapping them, WP!!
Singaporean males are already massively discriminated against due to NS, reservist and IPPT liabilities. How is 2 weeks of free advertising on MoM website going to change preferential treatment of foreigners?

A tiny and inconsequential change in the discrimination against Singaporeans. And this tiny tweek came about after a massive 40% voted against PAP. So obviously PAP needs a lot more people to vote opposition to wake up their idea.

Vote out Tan Chuan Jin!!

I_Hate_Pappies

Re: New rules to require employers to consider S'poreans fairly before hiring foreign

Response of job advertisements that clearly highlighted for "Singaporeans Only are flooded with FT resumes. Clearly, you guys don't talk to your HR people from your company.

watchman8

the business dun own the people a living, they are leaving singapore surely but slowly.
Where can the businesses go? Malaysia with bumi policies? China with all the red tapes and high corruption expenses? Indonesia with tough living conditions and even more red tapes?

When you are the prettiest call girl in the bar, you should set higher standards than the rest.

WongMengMeng

PAP IBs are the call girls of this Sammyboy bar. Check these out:

WongMengMeng, all of us already confessed that we are PAP IB.

At least PAP pays GD, Lock, me and many others PAP IB double for working on public holidays.

Based on my pap ib database, one of sammyboy nick is the current changi chalet warden. If WMM and his clones continue to waste our time, the warden will have special treatment for the tikko cheapo new inmate. ….

I_Hate_Pappies

The gabernment chose to be a follower rather than to be an innovator or creator in the first place. The only thing they can do now is to continue this process by flooding the market with cheap labour to keep the market alive.

Where can the businesses go? Malaysia with bumi policies? China with all the red tapes and high corruption expenses? Indonesia with tough living conditions and even more red tapes?

When you are the prettiest call girl in the bar, you should set higher standards than the rest.

HK is one place.

an excellent move by our very enlightened government
it's not a submission to the minority
it's not a failure or an admission of wrong - doing
it's a gracious concession for singaporeans who could not make it
so be grateful to our compassionate government
be thankful and be eternally indebted to our world class civil governance
if you let some of these lunatic Oppo govern singapore
it will be the path of utter ruin and castastrophe
just look at all the clowns here...disgusting and utterly idiotic

Korvus

Timbuktu....

sporeans have poor work attitude. It is true.
Anything that doesnt belong to them , they heck care.

That is true...I have been on both 'side of the fence'..I know...but we have to take care of our own people first...generally we are hard working people...it is the local employers encouraged over the many decades by .!! , sigh! we all know who represent the workers....an attitude of " ai ci, ai pi, ai...tua niap nee"...& spoil them by allowing them 'free flow' FT...but in the same vein as I support SINgapore workers, I chastised them too, they deserve what they get in 2013...need not elaborate much...but WE STILL HAVE TO LOOK AFTER OUR OWN PEOPLE FIRST!!

Singaporeans have to learn to compete with foreigners.There is no doubt about this.

From what I have observed, many foreigners in the retail line are copying the bochap attitude of Singaporeans. I have seen the transformation within one year. Many in the service industry, the retail and the F&B, were very good when they first came here: hard-working, courteous, kind and very dedicated . Now they are becoming lazy, bochap attitude and can't be bothered at all. Their attitudes not only changed but they also learn to eat snakes. In the end, they are just as big and bochap like many Singaporeans.

But those SIA Girls are still the Best in service and in their delivery of service to their passengers. 5 Star treatment and they are nice, kind and beautiful Singapore Girls!

Singaporeans have to learn to compete with foreigners.There is no doubt about this.

From what I have observed, many foreigners in the retail line are copying the bochap attitude of Singaporeans. I have seen the transformation within one year. Many in the service industry, the retail and the F&B, were very good when they first came here: hard-working, courteous, kind and very dedicated . Now they are becoming lazy, bochap attitude and can't be bothered at all. Their attitudes not only changed but they also learn to eat snakes. In the end, they are just as big and bochap like many Singaporeans.

But those SIA Girls are still the Best in service and in their delivery of service to their passengers. 5 Star treatment and they are nice, kind and beautiful Singapore Girls!

I have since 1976.....you think, the FT problem just started yesterday?? The 'playing field' became more & more crowded & uneven for SINgapore workers, & to what we have today..."mired in m&d" stuck in a corner...can not even shout for help! What are you saying, we have to learn??

It is productivity improvement, learning more skills, be vertical & lateral mobile, working harder, going for upgrading, going for more upgrading...have you not heard or know all these...?? what we have not learn??

What is all that for, when the FT is the flavor of the day, of the week, the month & the year & even the decade...what have we learn?? one main thing..who did we vote for??

snowbird

the NEW rules kick-off Aug 2014. Isn't it too far away to manipulate
around the bush?

Also wondering why implement next year and not immediate like other announcements like taxation, housing rules, COE rules etc .
So that those employers with heavy reliance on FT can use this window period to their advantage or worse, quickly replace some sinkies with FT before Aug 2014??

PrinceCharming

Will it be strictly enforced or just another wayang wayang "We-care-for-Sinkies" stunt ?

It's just another wayang.

When AEC (Asean Economic Community) is implemented sometime in 2015, such MOM rules will be ruled illegal. Employers in Sinkieland will be FREE to hire any one from the other Asean countries.

What are the penalties if the company does not comply and still hire a foreigner? no penalties,,,might as well the gahmen shut up,,,

[h=2]the manpower ministry on monday announced new rules that require employers to consider singaporeans fairly, before hiring skilled professional foreigners.[/h]
singapore: The manpower ministry on monday announced new rules that require employers to consider singaporeans fairly, before hiring skilled professional foreigners.
hahahahaha! Consider nia?.

the new fair consideration framework will affect employers who apply for employment passes (ep) -- the work pass for foreign professionals working in managerial, executive or specialised jobs. It will take effect in august 2014.
knn, might as well take effect just before ge 2016

under the new rules, firms making new employment pass applications must advertise the job vacancy in a new jobs bank administered by the singapore workforce and development agency (wda) for at least 14 days.
14 days nia, employers can wait leh.

the job ad must be open to singaporeans.

Employers are encouraged to keep records of their interview process as proof that they've done due diligence in trying to look for a singaporean worker.
knn, i like this phrase. "done due diligence in trying" so employer try lor, but still cannot find sinkees to take up job. How to proof a company never done due diligence in trying har?

if an employment pass is still needed, the employer will have to make a statutory declaration that a job advertisement with the national jobs bank had been made.
useless declaration for fuck?! What is the penalty for errand employers?!

the ministry and other government agencies will also identify firms which have a disproportionately low level of singaporeans at the pme (professionals, managers and executives) level or have had repeated complaints of nationality-based discrimination.

These firms will be asked to provide the ministry with information such as organisation charts with nationality information, recruitment processes and staff grievance handling procedures.

If firms are not responsive towards improving their recruitment and training processes, the ministry may impose additional requirements.

They include - attesting that the firm will not displace any similarly employed singaporean within 60 days before or after applying for an employment pass. Firms may also have their work pass privileges curtailed.
However, there are some exemptions. Small firms with 25 or fewer employees and jobs which pay a fixed monthly salary of s$12,000 or more, will not be subjected to the advertising requirement.

The manpower ministry said the new rules are not a "hiring singaporean first" policy but about fairness in hiring. The ministry said it expects firms to consider singaporeans fairly for jobs, based on merit.
knnbccb, own people don't take care. Take care of chow shit skins and pinoys with fake degrees.

firms will be given some lead time to transit for their existing pool of employment pass holders. Existing ep holders whose passes expire before january will receive a one-time renewal based on the existing ep criteria.

Those whose passes expire between january 1 and june 30, 2014 will receive a one-time renewal of up to one year based on the existing ep criteria. After 30 june 2014, all existing ep holders will have to meet the new criteria.

Separately from january, the qualifying salary for new ep applications will be raised from s$3,000 to s$3,300. The ministry said this is in line with rising salaries.
wah! Foreign trashes pay increment wor!? Sinkees do ns.

it had been two years since the last adjustment to the employment pass.
fuck pappies!

I have since 1976.....you think, the FT problem just started yesterday?? The 'playing field' became more & more crowded & uneven for SINgapore workers, & to what we have today..."mired in m&d" stuck in a corner...can not even shout for help! What are you saying, we have to learn??

It is productivity improvement, learning more skills, be vertical & lateral mobile, working harder, going for upgrading, going for more upgrading...have you not heard or know all these...?? what we have not learn??

What is all that for, when the FT is the flavor of the day, of the week, the month & the year & even the decade...what have we learn?? one main thing..who did we vote for??

you are absolutely spot on!!!
all these years of learning, re-learning, retrenching and relocating, renovating and innovating...and we are left with nothing more than watching a new face from no where taking over all our efforts to upgrade oursevles. something is very wrong here..

suddenly we become redundant...too old ...too out-dated....what went wrong? what happend to those years of upgrading and increase productivity ? and what we have are some new faces - who dragged us down to their level and worse...sad hor.

is it fair to hire a more expensive sinkie, while cheaper younger FT exists to help company save money? business job is to make money, not to provide jobs for sinkie.

Definitely fair lah. Who is paying for the infrastructure, social and security costs? Sinkees. Business can move elsewhere if they are not happy with the rules.

In fact, I think the new rule is too lenient. The vacancy should be in the job bank for a minimal of 60 days and remain there until it is filled. The minimum salary should be $10k a month. After all, these foreigners are supposed to be talent mah. You don't pay $3.3k to talents. What kind of talents would want to work for $3.3k?