• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

New developments to share

Unfortunately, we have a weak leaders that are pro-FT. HDB price increases, blame the local, to an extent that JB properties price increases, also blame the local. What to do??

Yeah but I think they're weak leaders also becos the citizens have spoilt them rotten over the years, so much so they've become brazen to talk down to citizens. It is only the recent years that the ill effects of their lousy policies affect enough masses that the public outcry or scolding or bitching forced them to back down. So i think bitching does help the rest of the citizens even if whatever changes come too late for the people who bitched about it.

malpaso

I'd prefer Adda Heights anytime over BDO.

yes, true... but anyway here is the latest prices for comparisons .. from cari chinese forum

perjiranan 12 phase 2, total 277 unit. . .
Acerola 1 DST 528,800 22x70 91 Units Build up: 2098
Acerola 2 DST 527,800 22x70 105 Units Build up: 2095
Cassana DST 594,800 24x70 59 Units Build up: 2198
Samara DS 40x80 semi-d 1,051,800 22 Units Build up: 3228
All prices is after Rebate

Not bad, BDO johor land, these must be base prices of new houses in the vicinity. touching 600k.

Your men are smart to know what's good for them. But many of us who are married to Singaporean men, didnt marry up. We married our equals, men we met in University. This thinking abt men marrying down is like you say traditional, out of date.

"Your men are smart to know what is good for them". Are you saying Singaporean women are not good for Singaporean men? You said your kids are Singaporeans right? Boy or girl? Nevermind, just tell your Singaporean daughter or grand daughter in future what you think of Singaporean women.

You said many of you are university graduates who married equal. So? Are you saying that means the Singaporean men you all married do not have qualities that Msian wives look up to? You said many of you are university graduate but I also can see with my own eyes over the years that many are also non graduate Msian women married to Singaporean.

Also I would say women university graduate marrying graduate is still within the tradition of women marry up, men marry down. If graduate don't marry graduate, where to find so many master degree of doctorate holders to marry up? It is only the rare women graduate who marry non-degree holders who are considered breaking the tradition of women marry up men down. Since it is pretty rare even now, how can say this tradition is out of date? Not just it is not out of date, it is very much alive and kicking.

Oh lastly marry up is pretty wide encompassing, not just education, including family status too like marry up to SG rich family with landed property.

Please look up the word 'seems' in the dictionary. As for the best of both worlds, isnt that what Singaporeans are seeking by moving across the Causeway? Nothing wrong in either case. Frankly I am also not in favour of foreigners here in SG who make life tough( mainly the crowds) for us, my FAMILY is Singaporean as I am the only SPR. Hubby and kids are Singaporean. But I think its rather sad that 1. Singaporeans blame foreigners for policies like subsidies when this is something they should take up with their govt. The truth is Singapore is not attractive enough to attract foreign talent becos of high cost, poor lifestyle, so the govt is using other 'carrots' to attract FT. The best FT would prefer to go to countries that can offer them more. This is why the quality fo some FT is very questionable. But its sad that Singaporeans lump Malaysians under the same category although I do agree that some Malaysians do misbehave and also express views that are unfriendly.
Generally Malaysians are actually the lesser evil should you need to bring in outsiders.Most of us dont come here for subsidies , we just come here to earn a living and sometimes we end up marrying a Singaporean and staying on.

Ok then since you insist "seem" and "are" make a difference, I've re-quoted your comment with "seem" and my reply accordingly. As you can see, nothing has changed in my reply except changed from "Singaporean are resentful" to "Singaporean seem resentful."

YOU: "we SPR think Singaporeans seem resentful that some of us who come here do well, amass wealth, then go back to retire."

ME: "I think you're also generalising when you said Singaporeans SEEM resentful PR come here do well, amass wealth and go back to retire. In the past few years, with the sheer number of PRs, what Singaporeans resent are not PRs making money but PRs taking the benefits - often at the expense of Singaporeans - and yet take Singapore for granted and can even call Singaporeans names."

Please look up the word 'seems' in the dictionary. As for the best of both worlds, isnt that what Singaporeans are seeking by moving across the Causeway? Nothing wrong in either case. Frankly I am also not in favour of foreigners here in SG who make life tough( mainly the crowds) for us, my FAMILY is Singaporean as I am the only SPR. Hubby and kids are Singaporean. But I think its rather sad that 1. Singaporeans blame foreigners for policies like subsidies when this is something they should take up with their govt. The truth is Singapore is not attractive enough to attract foreign talent becos of high cost, poor lifestyle, so the govt is using other 'carrots' to attract FT. The best FT would prefer to go to countries that can offer them more. This is why the quality fo some FT is very questionable. But its sad that Singaporeans lump Malaysians under the same category although I do agree that some Malaysians do misbehave and also express views that are unfriendly.
Generally Malaysians are actually the lesser evil should you need to bring in outsiders.Most of us dont come here for subsidies , we just come here to earn a living and sometimes we end up marrying a Singaporean and staying on.

Regarding Singaporeans also having best of both worlds by moving across the causeway, I think it is not true as Singaporeans are staying on social visit pass in Msia. How can be the same as Msian SPRs staying in own country and working in SG as PR?

I also disagree that Singapore is not attractive enough to attract FT except using subsidies. Singapore used to be a nice place and attract FT in the past without problems and Singaporeans have no problem with these FTs who were here. But the recent years policies have destroyed what was built up over the years by letting in people with dubious quality.

Talking about your comment that Singaporean lump Msian together with other foreigners, I think you said before it irks you when you're mistaken as Singaporean, right? If you think Msian and Singaporean should be one, why does it irk you to be mistaken as Singaporean? Back in 2006 before the ill effects of foreigner policies, I recall a HR exec in my office told me she is Singaporean in our casual conversation, only few years later I come across her personnel file then realised she is actually a Msian SPR. It is sad that in less than 8 years time Msian changed from trying to pass off as Singaporean to it irks me to be mistaken as Singaporean.

Oh lastly who say Singaporeans are not taking up with the govt regarding subsidies for foreigners? Bitching , scolding, public uproar, are the ways that Singaporeans are doing it. It works to certain extent that is why there is a flurry of policy changes targetting PR lately that come too late and very late but better late than never lah.

summervale

The calibre of the leaders that we have now are very different from those in the 60's and 70's. Those leaders in the past also have the blessing to have a team of capable subordinates working under them.

Now, look at the current ones (the professional's).. what are their main drives/objectives? To serve the public? To enjoy the social status? Fat pay? Probably, they also don't know (other than scripts reading..)..

I will leave it here for you/others to ponder..

Yeah but I think they're weak leaders also becos the citizens have spoilt them rotten over the years, so much so they've become brazen to talk down to citizens. It is only the recent years that the ill effects of their lousy policies affect enough masses that the public outcry or scolding or bitching forced them to back down. So i think bitching does help the rest of the citizens even if whatever changes come too late for the people who bitched about it.

Chocolate

"Your men are smart to know what is good for them". Are you saying Singaporean women are not good for Singaporean men? You said your kids are Singaporeans right? Boy or girl? Nevermind, just tell your Singaporean daughter or grand daughter in future what you think of Singaporean women.

You said many of you are university graduates who married equal. So? Are you saying that means the Singaporean men you all married do not have qualities that Msian wives look up to? You said many of you are university graduate but I also can see with my own eyes over the years that many are also non graduate Msian women married to Singaporean.

Also I would say women university graduate marrying graduate is still within the tradition of women marry up, men marry down. If graduate don't marry graduate, where to find so many master degree of doctorate holders to marry up? It is only the rare women graduate who marry non-degree holders who are considered breaking the tradition of women marry up men down. Since it is pretty rare even now, how can say this tradition is out of date? Not just it is not out of date, it is very much alive and kicking.

Oh lastly marry up is pretty wide encompassing, not just education, including family status too like marry up to SG rich family with landed property.

You are obviously a Singaporean( may I add a MINORITy) who has some strong feelings against Malaysians so I doubt you will want to relocate to Malaysia, so what are you doing here?. I dont know what your problem is. I am not making any generalisaions. May I point out thre are also Singaporean women who marry Malaysian men and are happy and its not a matter of marrying up or down. I think cross cultural marriages like this are good, it gives the kids exposure to 2 countries/ cultures and more options. Many Singaporeans who are married to Malaysians are happy to have that option of settling in another country, undeniably its smoother when the spouse holds a Malaysian passport.The same applies to any other passports ( Aussie with MY or SG for instance)
Your comment about marrying into rich SG family, I wonder what you're trying to say. Not all of us Malaysians who come ehre are poor andtrying to latch on to a rich Singaporean.Some of us come from families that are pretty well off, some even come here just for teh English education.And our parents paid for our education, at foreigns tudent rates,w e dont need to marry into a rich Singaporean family.If you're implying that Malaysians come here to feed of Singaporeans then I find that offensive.
To end this stupid and off topic discussion let me tell you what I think of Singaporeans in general. Most are decent human beings, helpful, hardworking,generous, goal oriented. On the downside they are a bit uptight( comes from living in a high stress environment), less warm than most people from small towns( but then its no different from KL), kiasu( not necessarily bad). I am not in anyway against Singaporeans and I am in many ways very Singapoeran in my ways as I have been here from a very young age( my teens). What I do not Singapoeans who are not happy with the government policies and blame Malaysians for it. In the same vein, I do not like Malaysians who come here then bite the hand that feeds them like the ASEAN scholar who recently disgraced himself. If you notice he did the same in Malaysia by posting an offensive anti -Islamic video. Such people are a disgrace whatever the Nationality.
I hope we can put this to rest.

Chocolate

Regarding Singaporeans also having best of both worlds by moving across the causeway, I think it is not true as Singaporeans are staying on social visit pass in Msia. How can be the same as Msian SPRs staying in own country and working in SG as PR?

I also disagree that Singapore is not attractive enough to attract FT except using subsidies. Singapore used to be a nice place and attract FT in the past without problems and Singaporeans have no problem with these FTs who were here. But the recent years policies have destroyed what was built up over the years by letting in people with dubious quality.

Talking about your comment that Singaporean lump Msian together with other foreigners, I think you said before it irks you when you're mistaken as Singaporean, right? If you think Msian and Singaporean should be one, why does it irk you to be mistaken as Singaporean? Back in 2006 before the ill effects of foreigner policies, I recall a HR exec in my office told me she is Singaporean in our casual conversation, only few years later I come across her personnel file then realised she is actually a Msian SPR. It is sad that in less than 8 years time Msian changed from trying to pass off as Singaporean to it irks me to be mistaken as Singaporean.

Oh lastly who say Singaporeans are not taking up with the govt regarding subsidies for foreigners? Bitching , scolding, public uproar, are the ways that Singaporeans are doing it. It works to certain extent that is why there is a flurry of policy changes targetting PR lately that come too late and very late but better late than never lah.

If you're not happy with your govt policies, take it up with them.I dont mean Singapoeans in general I mean YOU . Dont blame Malaysians. We never asked for subsidies and we dont make your policies. Anyway, it doesnt make a difference to me and since subsidies are tied to income levels, not many Singaporeans I knwo benefit from them in any large way.
I made that comment abt being irked to be mistaken as Singaporean not becos there is anything wrong with being Singaporean but because I dont want to be seen as anything other than what I am. Its a pity if I have lost my identity by living abroad. I was commenting on Nottiboy making comments about Mlalyisans behavior/Mannerism. My point is that its not so easy to tell us apart, especially those of us who have been here a few years.Even in MY I am sometimes mistaken for Singaporean until I speak Malay as being Malay educated in MY till I came here and excelling at the language , anyone hearing me will know I can't possibly be a Singaporean.
Similarly my husband and childen are Singaporean and no reason to be ashamed of that anywhere we go. I am also proud to be SPR. When we travel abroad, if we run into difficulties, we have to option, we can get help from the Singapore or Malaysian high Comms. I NEVER tried to pass myself off as Singaporean and I am shocked that you generalise that few years ago this is what Malaysians in general did. Most Malaysians I know do not do that, so don't generalise.

Chocolate

Just to put you out of your ignorance let me explain how Singaporeans even on social visit pass avail themselves of Malaysian subsidies:

1. Pump petrol
2.Buy basic food items( rice, sugar, cooking oil) -some buy huge amounts in Jusoc like 10 of each, they maybe re-selling( available in Geylang Serai mkt) or are in food biz.
3. Medical-some go to MY hospitals and see doctors to get presecription meds for eczema, asthma etc, much cheaper than SG. Even non citizens can get these I hear on the Car forum.

By availing themselves of these subsidies as well as saving on housing, lower cost of living they get the best of both worlds. I have no problem with this, in fact I tell my friends of any lobangs i know.
Over here as well, you need to pay attention to where the moeny is going. We are not the ones robbing you.

Oh the same I can say of you. You are obviously a Msian (may I add a MINORITY) who think Msians are superior and look down on Singaporean women, so I doubt you will want to become Singapore citizen eventually, so why marry into a Singapore family? Prior to this post that you said about Singaporeans being hardworking, generous, helpful etc, what did you say about Singaporeans in your past posts? You said Singaporeans are racists that is why not welcome in Msia, even when a kidnapped victim you wrongly thought to be Singaporean you said it is stupid to wear jewellery to be robbed in Msia and Msians will not do that (as it turned out, the victim is a Msian SPR residing in Spore who went to collect medicine from Msia hospital and was kidnapped infront of the hospital, etc etc.

Why you find it offensive when I said about marrying up into rich SG family? When you said Singaporean men prefer foreign wives, Msians are popular choice and Sg men are smart to know what they want, are these words not offensive to a Singaporean woman? And in the first place, what is so offensive about marrying up into rich SG family? Although I'm not born rich, am not rich and have bought condo in my life without any cent from parents, I don't see anything wrong with people being born rich, marrying up into rich family and buy condo with help from parents. If they are my friends, I'm happy for them. And many times, rich families have rich family problems. As long as people don't achieve things playing underhand means or do things to harm people like by bringing themselves up and putting others down, what fault is it to be born rich or marry up?

To end this stupid and off topic discussion that you started saying you're PR married to sinkie, I also tell you what I think of Msians in general. Most are decent human beings, hardworking, love networking, goal oriented. On the downside they are a bit aggressive, just as kiasu (not necessarily bad). What I do not like are Msians who chose to come to SG to make money, get married and then talk bad about SG and call people names. Such people are disgrace whatever the nationality.

You are obviously a Singaporean( may I add a MINORITy) who has some strong feelings against Malaysians so I doubt you will want to relocate to Malaysia, so what are you doing here?. I dont know what your problem is. I am not making any generalisaions. May I point out thre are also Singaporean women who marry Malaysian men and are happy and its not a matter of marrying up or down. I think cross cultural marriages like this are good, it gives the kids exposure to 2 countries/ cultures and more options. Many Singaporeans who are married to Malaysians are happy to have that option of settling in another country, undeniably its smoother when the spouse holds a Malaysian passport.The same applies to any other passports ( Aussie with MY or SG for instance)
Your comment about marrying into rich SG family, I wonder what you're trying to say. Not all of us Malaysians who come ehre are poor andtrying to latch on to a rich Singaporean.Some of us come from families that are pretty well off, some even come here just for teh English education.And our parents paid for our education, at foreigns tudent rates,w e dont need to marry into a rich Singaporean family.If you're implying that Malaysians come here to feed of Singaporeans then I find that offensive.
To end this stupid and off topic discussion let me tell you what I think of Singaporeans in general. Most are decent human beings, helpful, hardworking,generous, goal oriented. On the downside they are a bit uptight( comes from living in a high stress environment), less warm than most people from small towns( but then its no different from KL), kiasu( not necessarily bad). I am not in anyway against Singaporeans and I am in many ways very Singapoeran in my ways as I have been here from a very young age( my teens). What I do not Singapoeans who are not happy with the government policies and blame Malaysians for it. In the same vein, I do not like Malaysians who come here then bite the hand that feeds them like the ASEAN scholar who recently disgraced himself. If you notice he did the same in Malaysia by posting an offensive anti -Islamic video. Such people are a disgrace whatever the Nationality.
I hope we can put this to rest.

I didn't generalise about Msian passing off as Singaporeans, I am saying about YOU saying you're irk to be mistaken as Singaporean and it is sad considering I have come across Msian passing off as Singaporean. Anyway what is bad about passing off as Singaporean? It is good thing that they want to blend in to be part of Singapore.

Also which part of my post said I blame Msians for taking subsidies? I said SPR who take benefits and yet take Singapore for granted and call Singaporean names. I don't mean Msians in general, I said YOU. You don't take benefits? Have you ever bought HDB? Have you ever studied in Singaporean school, especially if it is a good branded school taking a space that can go to other Singaporean kids? Yes, you pay taxes. But isn't paying taxes a given for your opportunity to earn an income in SG? When Singaporean sell their Msia house, don't we pay tax too for the profit but does paying this tax entitle Singaporeans to taking benefits in Msia?

If you're not happy with your govt policies, take it up with them.I dont mean Singapoeans in general I mean YOU . Dont blame Malaysians. We never asked for subsidies and we dont make your policies. Anyway, it doesnt make a difference to me and since subsidies are tied to income levels, not many Singaporeans I knwo benefit from them in any large way.
I made that comment abt being irked to be mistaken as Singaporean not becos there is anything wrong with being Singaporean but because I dont want to be seen as anything other than what I am. Its a pity if I have lost my identity by living abroad. I was commenting on Nottiboy making comments about Mlalyisans behavior/Mannerism. My point is that its not so easy to tell us apart, especially those of us who have been here a few years.Even in MY I am sometimes mistaken for Singaporean until I speak Malay as being Malay educated in MY till I came here and excelling at the language , anyone hearing me will know I can't possibly be a Singaporean.
Similarly my husband and childen are Singaporean and no reason to be ashamed of that anywhere we go. I am also proud to be SPR. When we travel abroad, if we run into difficulties, we have to option, we can get help from the Singapore or Malaysian high Comms. I NEVER tried to pass myself off as Singaporean and I am shocked that you generalise that few years ago this is what Malaysians in general did. Most Malaysians I know do not do that, so don't generalise.

I

Chocolate

Oh the same I can say of you. You are obviously a Msian (may I add a MINORITY) who think Msians are superior and look down on Singaporean women, so I doubt you will want to become Singapore citizen eventually, so why marry into a Singapore family? Prior to this post that you said about Singaporeans being hardworking, generous, helpful etc, what did you say about Singaporeans in your past posts? You said Singaporeans are racists that is why not welcome in Msia, even when a kidnapped victim you wrongly thought to be Singaporean you said it is stupid to wear jewellery to be robbed in Msia and Msians will not do that (as it turned out, the victim is a Msian SPR residing in Spore who went to collect medicine from Msia hospital and was kidnapped infront of the hospital, etc etc.

Why you find it offensive when I said about marrying up into rich SG family? When you said Singaporean men prefer foreign wives, Msians are popular choice and Sg men are smart to know what they want, are these words not offensive to a Singaporean woman? And in the first place, what is so offensive about marrying up into rich SG family? Although I'm not born rich, am not rich and have bought condo in my life without any cent from parents, I don't see anything wrong with people being born rich, marrying up into rich family and buy condo with help from parents. If they are my friends, I'm happy for them. And many times, rich families have rich family problems. As long as people don't achieve things playing underhand means or do things to harm people like by bringing themselves up and putting others down, what fault is it to be born rich or marry up?

To end this stupid and off topic discussion that you started saying you're PR married to sinkie, I also tell you what I think of Msians in general. Most are decent human beings, hardworking, love networking, goal oriented. On the downside they are a bit aggressive, just as kiasu (not necessarily bad). What I do not like are Msians who chose to come to SG to make money, get married and then talk bad about SG and call people names. Such people are disgrace whatever the nationality.

Look at your last sentence, you're just quoting mine. You cant even be original?Your description of Malaysians sounds like what i said abt Singaporeans. It seems you're just here to make personal attacks on me , maybe because I am Malaysian. So I will end this once and for all. I will not dignify anything else you say with a comment. Go find some place else to vent your frustrations.

avelc

Ok coming back to this topic. Looks a decent buy...

yes, true... but anyway here is the latest prices for comparisons .. from cari chinese forum

perjiranan 12 phase 2, total 277 unit. . .
Acerola 1 DST 528,800 22x70 91 Units Build up: 2098
Acerola 2 DST 527,800 22x70 105 Units Build up: 2095
Cassana DST 594,800 24x70 59 Units Build up: 2198
Samara DS 40x80 semi-d 1,051,800 22 Units Build up: 3228
All prices is after Rebate

Not bad, BDO johor land, these must be base prices of new houses in the vicinity. touching 600k.

Just to put you out of your ignorance let me explain how Singaporeans even on social visit pass avail themselves of Malaysian subsidies:

1. Pump petrol
2.Buy basic food items( rice, sugar, cooking oil) -some buy huge amounts in Jusoc like 10 of each, they maybe re-selling( available in Geylang Serai mkt) or are in food biz.
3. Medical-some go to MY hospitals and see doctors to get presecription meds for eczema, asthma etc, much cheaper than SG. Even non citizens can get these I hear on the Car forum.

By availing themselves of these subsidies as well as saving on housing, lower cost of living they get the best of both worlds. I have no problem with this, in fact I tell my friends of any lobangs i know.
Over here as well, you need to pay attention to where the moeny is going. We are not the ones robbing you.

You are the one who is ignorant. Don't you know that 97 petrol is not subsidised? And that is the kind of petrol that Singaporeans are entitled to pump in Msia.

As for buying basic food items, how much sugar, flour, rice can a Singaporean family eat in general? You're talking about a MINORITY trader who come here to take buy and resell. Anyway I doubt many will take the risk to be slapped with GST for that when they return to SG buying above a certain (i think it is $400).

As for medical, I'm not sure and never think of taking such advantage. One weekend I came down with diarrheoa and went to visit the GP in BI and was charged Rm80 for the consultation and some medicine for it. Not that cheap leh even by Sg standard.

Look at your last sentence, you're just quoting mine. You cant even be original?Your description of Malaysians sounds like what i said abt Singaporeans. It seems you're just here to make personal attacks on me , maybe because I am Malaysian. So I will end this once and for all. I will not dignify anything else you say with a comment. Go find some place else to vent your frustrations.

Read carefully and you can tell the difference. You can't even read properly? Who is the one attacking first? YOU. Oh I'm going out indeed and will not reply to you.

malpaso

Ok coming back to this topic. Looks a decent buy...

yup. for those who like BDO area / neighbourhood, it's a steal. that's what i gather from the people queuing up over a few days ... queue up for a 500kRM++ terrace house! phew.. just a few years ago, this price considered ridiculous.

FHBH12

yup. for those who like BDO area / neighbourhood, it's a steal. that's what i gather from the people queuing up over a few days ... queue up for a 500kRM++ terrace house! phew.. just a few years ago, this price considered ridiculous.

If I'm e developer I will up prices by another $20-30k RM of most units upon seeing e queue, keeping a few units at e promised base price.

Funniman

If I'm e developer I will up prices by another $20-30k RM of most units upon seeing e queue, keeping a few units at e promised base price.

Just play the sticker game lor, say almost fully booked liao. The later release them and say..returned booking due to loan problems but at new prices or non discounted prices.

Funniman

Latest I heard CS2 at Puteri Harbour is goign to be launch in September. It is directly in front of Hello Kitty Park.
Only commercial and office space, no residential. Developer: UEM Sunrise.