• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

New developments to share

Chocolate

For this, you must ask them. I really don't know. Everyone buys with different objectives. Some buy to stay. Some buy to retire. Some buy to punt. Some buy because it offers them freedom. etc.

I suspect a lot of SPRs buy for retirement. They make use of the benefits in SG, save their money and want to eventually retire and die in MY. Which is what the SG govt wants anyway. Help us make money when you are young, but when you are old pls FO and die elsewhere. Pardon my French. Besides, as much as culturally, MY and SG are similar, they are still diff in many ways. MY SPRs frens have certain mannerisms that irk me... so much so that I have stopped asking them out for drinks or to my nite club parties. So quite many of them are more comfortable retiring in MY. Even Singaporeans will retire in JB one day. Just wait and see if I am rite. (Kindly note that I have nothing against SPRs. I am ok having meals and "frenship" with female SPRs. But when it comes to golfing, drinking and chionging, my requirements are a little more stringent.)

As for whether SPRs are punters or not, I am also sure, quite many of them are. Each Malaysian can get 90% loan for 2 properties - add in the DIBS feature, if I am Malaysian, I will also punt.

There are some of us SPRs who constantly get mistaken for Singapoean, pardon me but it irks me that it always happens to me. Unfortunately those of us who came here young, picked up many of teh Singaporean traits, if we're not careful we may have problems reintegrating back home.
As for 'punting', most of the SPRs I know ( and these are people who own a few properties in SG) dont want to take 90% loan as the interest will just bleed them. rates are much higher across the Causeway. As for younger ones who can't afford to pay down, many of them are reluctant to buy until they have enough to pay down or offset with flexi loan at least 50%, except if they are buying for own stay to commute daily. We know from our parents time, how interest just wipes out potential gains and adds risk. But if Ringgit continues to decline, its a good idea to borrow as you're locking in the price and will be re-paying less in SGD.However, your 'investment' may also fall in value in SGD terms.
For all these reasons most SPR's prefer to invest in SG first.
As for retiring in MY, its about lifestyle, its hard for us to stomach the crowds and we yearn for our moderate pace of life as we age.I believe SPR's also feel better equipped to cope with teh crime situation as we know hwo to be low profile and are betetr at taking precautions, am not saying we're smarter, its just that it comes more naturally to us. E.g when we park, my hubby looks for shade, I look for one nearest the shopping centre or guard post.

Frodo

Crime rate is measured via population numbers i.e. criminal act per 100,000 residents. NOT ACCORDING TO LAND SIZE.

The Malays lady how old? pretty or not? got ( . ) ( . ) ?

Malay lady is old already, but move in when younger lah. Said she has not personally have crime experience. My contractor also lived in JB for more than 20 years also nothing happened to him. While no guarantee just use common sense to prevent yourself from being victim of crime.

1nottiboy

Chocolate Jie Jie,

not angry at me for being notti towards you last time arh? (wink wink)

With DIBS sure can punt. It is only because of DIBS that I am buying into JB. Without DIBS, there is no incentive at all. But having said that, upon TOP/VP, I will also pare down my loan to 50%, assuming I decide not to sell. Actually, I haven't decided. Everything will depend on the situation in 2016 and beyond. if mortgage interest hit 6% and if I cant sell, I will fully pay up. And of cos, the supply of pretty chicks in JB will be a factor too.

Everyone! With regards to my previous posting and the little commentary on SPRs, it is based on my LIMITED INTERACTION with THE FEW SPR frens that I have. It is NOT indicative of SPRs as a whole. I am sure most are nice ppl. just in case a few feathers get ruffled.

There are some of us SPRs who constantly get mistaken for Singapoean, pardon me but it irks me that it always happens to me. Unfortunately those of us who came here young, picked up many of teh Singaporean traits, if we're not careful we may have problems reintegrating back home.
As for 'punting', most of the SPRs I know ( and these are people who own a few properties in SG) dont want to take 90% loan as the interest will just bleed them. rates are much higher across the Causeway. As for younger ones who can't afford to pay down, many of them are reluctant to buy until they have enough to pay down or offset with flexi loan at least 50%, except if they are buying for own stay to commute daily. We know from our parents time, how interest just wipes out potential gains and adds risk. But if Ringgit continues to decline, its a good idea to borrow as you're locking in the price and will be re-paying less in SGD.However, your 'investment' may also fall in value in SGD terms.
For all these reasons most SPR's prefer to invest in SG first.
As for retiring in MY, its about lifestyle, its hard for us to stomach the crowds and we yearn for our moderate pace of life as we age.I believe SPR's also feel better equipped to cope with teh crime situation as we know hwo to be low profile and are betetr at taking precautions, am not saying we're smarter, its just that it comes more naturally to us. E.g when we park, my hubby looks for shade, I look for one nearest the shopping centre or guard post.

Chocolate

Chocolate Jie Jie,

not angry at me for being notti towards you last time arh? (wink wink)

With DIBS sure can punt. It is only because of DIBS that I am buying into JB. Without DIBS, there is no incentive at all. But having said that, upon TOP/VP, I will also pare down my loan to 50%, assuming I decide not to sell. Actually, I haven't decided. Everything will depend on the situation in 2016 and beyond. if mortgage interest hit 6% and if I cant sell, I will fully pay up. And of cos, the supply of pretty chicks in JB will be a factor too.

Everyone! With regards to my previous posting and the little commentary on SPRs, it is based on my LIMITED INTERACTION with THE FEW SPR frens that I have. It is NOT indicative of SPRs as a whole. I am sure most are nice ppl. just in case a few feathers get ruffled.

Not taking anything personally, but I think you're generalising. Yes agreed, there are differences and not to ruffle feathers ( to quote you) I would also say sometimes we SPR think Singaporeans seem resentful that some of us who come here do well, amass wealth, then go back to retire.You forget that we sacrifice a lot to come here, your Lifestyle is a real come down for us. When i first came here I was shocked that HDB flats are considered comfortable living, Malaysians( even the not rich) call them pigeon holes.Perhaps that's why we're spurred to really make it here, must be able to afford private property . We also work pretty hard, becos we give up so much to come here and our families put their hopes in us( in some cases) we are willing to work a lot harder and dont sweat the small stuff. I see a lot of Malaysians eating bread and maggi mee to survive and save. Not advocating it, but hey I think Singaporeans need to sometimes be made aware of this.
As for investment, it sounds to me like you know what you're doing. I hope to make those who are not so well versed to stop and think carefully. Don't be a slave to the bank.

Valdez

Definitely will be a stop at nusajaya. Wonder where?

image.jpg
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/asiapacific/malaysia-expects-high/795078.html

Valdez

S'pore vehicles may be taxed for entry

NUSAJAYA: Iskandar Malaysia Public Transport Corporation is considering imposing a levy on Singapore-registered vehicles entering the country.

State Public Works, Rural and Regional Development committee chairman Datuk Hasni Mohammad said it was estimated that over 200,000 vehicles commuted between the two countries every day.

He said the levy would reduce the congestion at the entrance to the Customs, Immigration and Quarantine (CIQ) complex in Johor Baru and could also encourage more to use public transport.

"Public transport users make up only 14 per cent of the commuters," he said at a recent state assembly sitting.

"The fees collected will be used to develop road infrastructure, carry out maintenance works and provide better public transport.

"We aim to have a convenient, reliable and effective public transport system," he said.

He said it is hoped that the levy would change the mind set of motorists in Iskandar Malaysia and encourage them to switch to public transport.

"The levy is part of a long-term development management plan which focuses on reducing the number of foreign-registered vehicles coming into the country to control the traffic volume," he said.

He said about 70 per cent of vehicles on the road were privately owned and a strategic plan was required to solve the issue of traffic congestion.

Datuk Hasni Mohammad says fees collected will be used to improve the roads as well as public transport service.

nextreal

Definitely will be a stop at nusajaya. Wonder where?

It won't be in Medini, as land there has been zoned.

It's unlikely to be towards the north in Bt Indah or Setia Tropika because these seem to be out of the way and too built-up.

It shouldn't be too south too near Leisure Farm as it will be too near to CIQ.

My guess then will be nearer to the west, where Peter Lim's Motor City will be. Kinda like KLIA and Sepang.

dare2

I know a singaporean with 3 properties in JB and KL, all paid in cash on local terms as they were in her god-sister's name. Possibly many more bought in spouses' names? So the 9K plus fire may not be reflective of the the true situation.

RedsYNWA

It won't be in Medini, as land there has been zoned.

It's unlikely to be towards the north in Bt Indah or Setia Tropika because these seem to be out of the way and too built-up.

It shouldn't be too south too near Leisure Farm as it will be too near to CIQ.

My guess then will be nearer to the west, where Peter Lim's Motor City will be. Kinda like KLIA and Sepang.

I agree with you. Aligning it is also easier near the western area. Anyway depending on where HSR terminates in SG and its cost, its ridership figures may still be suspect. It's still gd news anyway for Iskandar properties nonetheless, but its actual operations could be 10 years away. At least I feel 2020 is too early for the project, esp if it is planned from CBD to CBD....

FHBH12

I agree with you. Aligning it is also easier near the western area. Anyway depending on where HSR terminates in SG and its cost, its ridership figures may still be suspect. It's still gd news anyway for Iskandar properties nonetheless, but its actual operations could be 10 years away. At least I feel 2020 is too early for the project, esp if it is planned from CBD to CBD....

2030 is more likely. They should have just call for tender instead of announcing it so early. This will create opportunity for land acquisition costs to go up and derail the whole project.

Actually, that 9,826 Singaporeans mentioned is relatively a very small group to cause the slightest ripple in the property market.
Its the Malaysians professionals and PRs working in SG, earning S$, flooding in to buy in JB and the numbers I believe far exceed that 9,826 by few times!
I personally know quite a few are already doing this, many to hedge and for investment and some, a nice home when earned enough and retire from SG.

Yeah many of these Msian SPRs are the people who bought JB and a few I know intend to sell their HDB soon - at big profit of course.

Many of us SPR came here with the plan to work here and retire in MY. Some of us married Sinkies.Surprisingly in my case and many of my friends in my situation( wife PR, hubby Sinkie), its our hubbies who are keener to retire in MY, even those who can afford landed here. They seem attracted to the laid back atmosphere, also it allows them to retire earlier, stretch the dollar.
May I also say, when we buy high priced properties, its often for our own use. SPRs who have a lot of money, will first and foremost invest in SG, at least many have in the past. I don't know if in the future it will be tougher as cooling measures are a hindrance. When the Iskandar plan was hatched, many saw it as a way to invest, but those I know are not flippers. Most buy for rental yield in old age, when they retire there.
Just one SPR's view

PR married to sinkies? Yeah many mudlanders are married to Singaporeans.

Not taking anything personally, but I think you're generalising. Yes agreed, there are differences and not to ruffle feathers ( to quote you) I would also say sometimes we SPR think Singaporeans seem resentful that some of us who come here do well, amass wealth, then go back to retire.You forget that we sacrifice a lot to come here, your Lifestyle is a real come down for us. When i first came here I was shocked that HDB flats are considered comfortable living, Malaysians( even the not rich) call them pigeon holes.Perhaps that's why we're spurred to really make it here, must be able to afford private property . We also work pretty hard, becos we give up so much to come here and our families put their hopes in us( in some cases) we are willing to work a lot harder and dont sweat the small stuff. I see a lot of Malaysians eating bread and maggi mee to survive and save. Not advocating it, but hey I think Singaporeans need to sometimes be made aware of this.
As for investment, it sounds to me like you know what you're doing. I hope to make those who are not so well versed to stop and think carefully. Don't be a slave to the bank.

Well you want to earn more than at home country, then of course you have to sacrifice something, be it come down on your lifestyle as you said or be far from family and friends. The same go for Singaporeans who intend to retire in JB. I think you're also generalising when you said Singaporeans are resentful PR come here do well, amass wealth and go back to retire. In the past few years, with the sheer number of PRs, what Singaporeans resent are not PRs making money but PRs taking the benefits - often at the expense of Singaporeans - and yet take Singapore for granted and can even call Singaporeans names.