• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Meridin at Medini and Astaka Project in Iskandar - any good?

cow138

SPR are not Singaporeans . Most are Malaysians. Statistics have shown most buyers are Malaysians whether SPR or not. To say "stupid Singaporeans will just snap it up regardless" is untrue and uncalled for.

That's interesting.. I got your point.. I am a Singaporean born and bred. I just feel that somehow the costs not in line with Malaysian prices especially those in KL.. maybe I am missing something. But I feel that when I read so many units being snapped I feel that something is not right.

Where are you referencing your statistics.? I thought that it's not so easily found. That would be useful and enlightening.. as whenever I go down to the showrooms they mostly say that it's Singaporean who buy.

gooddebt

That's interesting.. I got your point.. I am a Singaporean born and bred. I just feel that somehow the costs not in line with Malaysian prices especially those in KL.. maybe I am missing something. But I feel that when I read so many units being snapped I feel that something is not right.

Where are you referencing your statistics.? I thought that it's not so easily found. That would be useful and enlightening.. as whenever I go down to the showrooms they mostly say that it's Singaporean who buy.

Mmm I am surprised that you are a Singaporean... we should not berate our own pple as being stupid right ? I find it rather disconcerting that others label us this way tho we are a from a developed nation and now coming from one of our own ? Have some nationalistic pride.

For the statistics, they are all over the newspapers and media reports.

jasonzq

Went to Meridin. I feel that the apartments are quite cheaply built.. all using cheap tiles which is pretty disappointing. There was no parquet flooring for the rooms.. so kinda know that there's some corners being cut
The showroom cost of ID is pretty impressive.

Feel the same as you when i visited their show room, not only the tiles, kitchen cabinet and wardrobes are all low quality type. so much differnt from other mahsing showunits i had visited in KL.

cow138

Mmm I am surprised that you are a Singaporean... we should not berate our own pple as being stupid right ? I find it rather disconcerting that others label us this way tho we are a from a developed nation and now coming from one of our own ? Have some nationalistic pride.

For the statistics, they are all over the newspapers and media

Is strange that is their locals who are suddenly buying up the condos. And Singaporeans are not a big investment portion of the takeup percentage. It's surprising to me. . Check out the link below.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/business/more-snapping-up-homes-in/704142.html

nextreal

Most are Malaysians. Statistics have shown most buyers are Malaysians whether SPR or not.

I agree.

If the words of the agents can be believed, Malaysians form the main bulk of buyers for Meridin, Astaka and even the recent Markers (commercial).

nextreal

Astaka quality is pretty good apparently. The quality is pretty ok.. matching or better then Singapore standard from what I can see from the brochure..

That's why I feel frustrated with the condo sales development go Johor.. they seem to be short changing the buyers.. it just seems like they know stupid Singaporeans will just snap it up regardless. So not much effort into doing it properly.. even established developers are going this route.

Hopefully it will change as buyers are starting to get more sophisticated and start to demand more by not buying crappy developments. Else we just have ourselves to blame.

On Astaka's choice of materials, do note on the brochure states ceramic and homogenous tiles to be used in the common bathrooms. I don't see that as being better than Sg standards.

As for the statement on "stupid Singaporeans", I take offense to that. As one of those who bought Meridin, I am fully aware of the lower standards of the finishes used. A lot of Iskandar projects are as such. Elsewhere at Paradiso, the materials used seem to be better, but the psf is higher too.

I did not buy stupidly, but went in with my eyes fully opened. I believe the majority of buyers of such "mid quality finishes" condos, like me, don't really place much priority on the finishes, but more on other factors like location, reputation of developer, capital appreciation potential, etc.

Finishes can be changed easily; location, nearby amenities and developer's track records cannot.

Ks2750

Yes well the furnishing is secondary la..
To those who want st Regis quality u need to pay > a Million bucks or $2 to $3000 Psf
With that money u can also hire own interior designer and install marble floor and jacuzzi in it
Or can try the china developer paradiso nuovo who claim will install quality furnishing at $850 Psf
But u will be living with lots of chinaman and in front of hospital
Anyway whatever u buy here it's good
In future there will be plenty of development
coming

1nottiboy

you must do more ground work. visit more showflats. talk to the property agents (girls only). Talk to the bankers (girls only). this is what I do. then you will know whos buying what.

most projects in JB (those I have visited so far) are bought by Malaysians. Even the BIG EXPENSIVE bungalows in Setia Tropika were mainly bought by Malaysians. Do not underestimate the financial strength of Malaysians. Do not underestimate the power of 90% financing for first 2 properties and DIBS.

Plus, the average Malaysian is very very frugal. Cost of living is also low. Add all these factors up, you will realise that Malaysians have more money than you think they have. Also, a large number of them have large homes - big enough for 3 generations.

For the statistics, they are all over the newspapers and media

Is strange that is their locals who are suddenly buying up the condos. And Singaporeans are not a big investment portion of the takeup percentage. It's surprising to me. . Check out the link below.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/business/more-snapping-up-homes-in/704142.html

FHBH12

If the Malaysian families have members working in Singapore but staying in Johor, they will enjoy >2.5x spending power due to exchange rate and lower cost of goods/services. They really can save a lot. The Malaysians are the ones that bought up the big semi-Ds and bungalows in Desa Tebrau where I bought (a tiny terrace) also. In Singapore, a lot of our taxes is used to build fanciful stuffs for foreigners, like the Gardens by the Bay and Jewel @ Changi.

gooddebt

you must do more ground work. visit more showflats. talk to the property agents (girls only). Talk to the bankers (girls only). this is what I do. then you will know whos buying what.

most projects in JB (those I have visited so far) are bought by Malaysians. Even the BIG EXPENSIVE bungalows in Setia Tropika were mainly bought by Malaysians. Do not underestimate the financial strength of Malaysians. Do not underestimate the power of 90% financing for first 2 properties and DIBS.

Plus, the average Malaysian is very very frugal. Cost of living is also low. Add all these factors up, you will realise that Malaysians have more money than you think they have. Also, a large number of them have large homes - big enough for 3 generations.

==========================================================================================
There are many rich Malaysian businessmen who keep low profile but buy big when they see value. In fact I heard many are not from Johore. Their wealth can be unimaginable...

RedsYNWA

The Malaysians are the ones that bought up the big semi-Ds and bungalows in Desa Tebrau where I bought (a tiny terrace) also.

How much do the Desa Tebrau bungalows cost now? Looks atas, and near to Jusco, Mt Austin & Johor Jaya. My main concern is the traffic conditions there seem to be worsening from 2-3 years ago due to population influx.

FHBH12

How much do the Desa Tebrau bungalows cost now? Looks atas, and near to Jusco, Mt Austin & Johor Jaya. My main concern is the traffic conditions there seem to be worsening from 2-3 years ago due to population influx.

Cluster was $1 mil a few months ago. So semi-Ds and bungalows should be higher than this. I didn't ask because I knew I cannot afford :p

The cluster launched end of last year was wiped out within minutes of launch. The left over terraces in mid of this year got people queuing overnight to buy, so I know demand for new landed properties there is good! :smile:

Traffic congestion area = Huat area :biggrin:

kopikong99

==========================================================================================
There are many rich Malaysian businessmen who keep low profile but buy big when they see value. In fact I heard many are not from Johore. Their wealth can be unimaginable...

For Teega, they bring in busloads of KL tycoons to have the first bite of the cherries. There are lots of KL property investors who have make big bucks from the KL boom coming to Iskandar and buying big. There is also no state consent levy for Malaysians.

For SPR, they earn S$ with 2.5X buying power and so they are also buying like nobody business and hoping to offload to Singaporeans when they start coming in later. My observation is many Singaporeans is always waiting for Sg gov to lead, ie. when Temasek invest, they also start following.

malpaso

Feel the same as you when i visited their show room, not only the tiles, kitchen cabinet and wardrobes are all low quality type. so much differnt from other mahsing showunits i had visited in KL.

please check where is the rubbish chute! for 'luxury' condo, i want the rubbish chute INSIDE my unit, not outside near the lift lobby.

crystal_tiong

please check where is the rubbish chute! for 'luxury' condo, i want the rubbish chute INSIDE my unit, not outside near the lift lobby.

hee , they would said due to fire safety , they cant build rubbish chute inside the house !
Teega also luxury leh also dun have !

FHBH12

hee , they would said due to fire safety , they cant build rubbish chute inside the house !
Teega also luxury leh also dun have !

Rubbish chute should be outside the house as it is cleaner. Sometimes I open my common rubbish chute and cockroaches and weird smell come out. Luckily it is outside the house.

crystal_tiong

Rubbish chute should be outside the house as it is cleaner. Sometimes I open my common rubbish chute and cockroaches and weird smell come out. Luckily it is outside the house.

so everytime u throw rubbish , u need to wear something presentable .... cant just wear pyjamas in case bump to neighbours.
can u imagine msia standard of clearing the rubbish ? once every day or 2 days ? or inconsiderate neighbour didnt tie the rubbish bag properly ? will still have cockroaches n weird smells etc