• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

anyone got photos of first generation tiong bahru market?

Fishypie

Used to live at Yong Siak Street, when I was very young, near to the entrance of Boh Boh San, wonder if the row of old shop houses is still there today? There was a primary school not far from there. When I was an adult, someone told me that Yong Siak Street was famous for Prostitutes!? I was too young to bother, but I noticed quite a lot of doll up women...
They were the kept mistresses by the rich men.MOst were staying in Bo Bo Tan Gardens; and oh, not forgetting
there was messes for cards & mahjong as weLL.

Fishypie

Your principaL then was..Lee Chong Kee ?
Or Let me rattLe off these names, if any are famiLiar: Mr Seet, Edmund Tay, Yogi Bear, Arjit Singh..:wink:

3_M

Used to live at Yong Siak Street, when I was very young, near to the entrance of Boh Boh San, wonder if the row of old shop houses is still there today? There was a primary school not far from there. When I was an adult, someone told me that Yong Siak Street was famous for Prostitutes!? I was too young to bother, but I noticed quite a lot of doll up women...

Not true. Yong Siak wasn't a red light district though Tiong Bahru used to be a place where many rich men kept their mistresses.

The shophouse is still there but many units are now leased to cafes, bookshops and restaurants, sushi bar etc.. it feels a little bit like Holland V . Wife's family used to stay there for 3 generations.

That primary school is Tiong Bahru pri. My mum's alma mater. Bo Bo Tan somehow gave me an eerie feel. Maybe because one relative died in one of the unit there.

ykhuser

Your principaL then was..Lee Chong Kee ?
Or Let me rattLe off these names, if any are famiLiar: Mr Seet, Edmund Tay, Yogi Bear, Arjit Singh..:wink:

my year i also know mr seet .not sure if it it the same seet.hehe

queenstown technical school?

got maraget drive old photo and leng kee photo lagi best.the 80s...where singapore not so crowded.
now i recall the tiong bahru people, i very sad.most would have passed away.30 years have passed

Not true. Yong Siak wasn't a red light district though Tiong Bahru used to be a place where many rich men kept their mistresses.

The shophouse is still there but many units are now leased to cafes, bookshops and restaurants, sushi bar etc.. it feels a little bit like Holland V . Wife's family used to stay there for 3 generations.

That primary school is Tiong Bahru pri. My mum's alma mater. Bo Bo Tan somehow gave me an eerie feel. Maybe because one relative died in one of the unit there.

They have demolished Bo Bo Tan...and built a swanky condo over it....used to be chummy with the caretaker of the pri school...in fact, ate chapati in the house..too young to care or know about mistresses or pros or...anyway didn't live too long in that estate...remember it for I spent one of my fun years of life there...especially the community center near the market...remember use to play with the swing there...ahh!! Tiong Bahru estate..

ykhuser

I dont really comment here but I was from the former QSTS too, dr chee's sis was my teacher. :biggrin:

Dr chee's sister's english command is good. really admired her.she lived by 1 rule.Blood is thicker than water.
What ever dr chee does, she stand by with him.

btw is is wrong to use ( 's ) twice in this sentence?
Dr chee's sister's english command is good.

Fishypie

my year i also know mr seet .not sure if it it the same seet.hehe

queenstown technical school?

got maraget drive old photo and leng kee photo lagi best.the 80s...where singapore not so crowded.
now i recall the tiong bahru people, i very sad.most would have passed away.30 years have passed
Think he must have retired Long ago.He was the Sports' Convenor then..

bushtucker

ahh yes! block 40A margaret drive. home of two excellent fishball noodle stalls, superb hainanese chicken rice on 2nd floor, delicious char kway teow and western food in the evenings.

Fishypie

ahh yes! block 40A margaret drive. home of two excellent fishball noodle stalls, superb hainanese chicken rice on 2nd floor, delicious char kway teow and western food in the evenings.
..and not forgetting the Cheng Tng staLL which faces opposite the PubLic toiLet..:eek::smile:

canloh

fisherpie and ykhuser bros

I was from the late 80s till the early 90s one. QSTS looks very lok kok to me when i was there in the late 80s, ha ha those memories....yes miss those things back then, used to take train from my house to redhill and then alight from there and walk through those block of flats to school, now got two condos there, then in sec 4 afternoon session have to walk to the bus stop to take 33. now right beside the bus stop is NTUC dawson place.

my principle is miss ng after that she was transfered to hk international school and then the new principle is one mrs goh i think. Miss chee is really strict with the students and we are all terrified of her, but she holds her grounds well and does not practice favoritism among the students, so i find her OK, she taught eng and PE, but she only taught me PE for three years, no eng lesson from her. I remember Mr Seet, an old man who taught gymnastics or whatever u called that, like very popular among the students, not sure if he is still around, looks to me like in the 60s at that time. anyway when u were only 13, everything looks old to u, haha. :o

lianbeng

lianbeng still remembers got 1 chye tau kueh stall sibeh hojia - very black n sweet with plenty of eggs! :biggrin: shiok manz!

canloh

More pics pLs, Bro Postnew..:smile:

not everyday u get one ang moh as ur vice priniciple and to have a road named after him somemore, haha.

still remember the singapore river canal behind blck d and technical block, its the origin of singapore river and now filled up liao, fuck. i liked having classes in block d and then looking out of the window at the canal watching monitor lizards swam in it and count the number of bus 103 going by maragret rd knowing school is almost up and i can go home.