• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Tan Chuan-Jin shoots worker party - "show me your ideas la"

†††††

Parliament debates WP's proposals on labour participation
Posted: 05 February 2013 1952 hrs

SINGAPORE: A considerable amount of time was spent debating the Workers' Party's (WP) proposals put forward on Monday by its party chairman Sylvia Lim.

The opposition party had proposed that the growth of foreign worker numbers can be reined in by increasing the labour force participation rate of Singaporeans.

Member of Parliament (MP) for Aljunied Group Representation Constituency Chen Show Mao elaborated on how the economically inactive Singaporeans could be incentivised to join the workforce to boost participation rate.

This includes home makers, foreign spouses of Singaporeans and the elderly.

Mr Chen said: "We should stop seeing elderly Singaporeans as a drain on our economy and a hindrance to our goal to keep Singapore dynamic. Older Singaporeans have much to offer us and not all of it can be measured in economic terms. Our elderly Singaporeans are essential to maintaining a Singapore core."

Acting Manpower Minister Tan Chuan-Jin commented: "You have described the outcomes, you have described the positives, the values of encouraging older workers and how they contribute. I am interested to know the specific programmes you have in mind because you have been talking about the elderly for a long time, surely you have very concrete ideas which I will be very interested to look at."

Mr Tan also repeated his point when Non-Constituency MP Gerald Giam elaborated on the Workers' Party proposal.

Mr Giam said the labour participation rate of Singaporeans can be raised by one per cent a year till 2030.

Mr Tan said: "A key component of your strategy is to beef up labour force participation rates to such a stage that we actually do not need foreign workers in Singapore, or there's an increase. I am very interested to know the initiatives and ideas that would actually bring that about and that's key.

"It's not the rhetoric that's important. Governance is about how do you translate ideas, visions, into reality. And that's what it's really about. Not just rhetoric, not just pressing the right emotive buttons. It's about making things happen so that we can realise, I think, a shared vision about how to make things better for Singaporeans."

Mr Giam responded: "I am not sure why the Minister seems to be implying that we're just doing rhetoric. We intend to push for measures to increase the labour force participation rate. We've mentioned things like flexi-work, tele-commuting, part-time work. But I think one area that is a very important way of increasing the labour force participation rate is to raise wages. And the reason is because it increases the opportunity cost of people staying at home."

Second Minister for Trade and Industry S Iswaran questioned: "May I clarify with the member does the WP's zero tolerance for foreign workers in this period extend to sectors like construction and others where we have great difficulty in finding Singaporeans to do the job?

"Secondly, this implies zero immigration, no new Singapore citizens or permanent residents (PRs). I'm trying to reconcile with the statement by the WP chairman who advocated extending PR and citizenship to respective groups."

Mr Giam answered: "We do not have a zero tolerance policy towards foreigners. The WP is not an anti-immigrant party and we welcome foreigners who come here to be able to contribute to our economy, contribute to our life over here.

"Regarding the specific question on construction, we do not see the need to increase the foreign labour force numbers. It does not mean we kick off all the foreigners that are here right now. We maintain the numbers that are here and replace those that leave.

"I'm saying we can hit zero if we increase our resident labour force. It's not our goal to hit zero foreign worker increments. Our goal is to hit that 1 per cent resident workforce and we believe that 1 per cent resident workforce increment can hit the growth we need to sustain a better life for Singaporeans."

Inderjit Singh, MP for Ang Mo Kio GRC said time is required in tightening the labour force and focusing on productivity.

He said: "Because companies have got a certain business model they are used to. Business models cannot change overnight. If you really care about companies then you will not tighten the labour workforce any further.

"Give them a chance, a longer time horizon to restructure and then tighten the labour force but what the Workers Party is proposing is just shut off the tap right now. That is not going to accelerate restructuring, it's going to kill companies."

Old habits die hard. Anything the Oppo say, is rubbish, lack of depth etc.

Any mature minister would ask in a classy manner for more details. Comments like "surely you have more details/concrete ideas and I will be interested to hear them" smacks of immaturity, defensive and someone who feels that he has been outshone and caught short.

Wildfire

Acting Manpower Minister Tan Chuan-Jin commented: ..... "I am interested to know the specific programmes you have in mind because you have been talking about the elderly for a long time, surely you have very concrete ideas which I will be very interested to look at."

Million Dollars Minister running out of ideas ... asking $15 K MPs for programmes :biggrin:

All PAP MPs and Ministers have the same old mentality ... there's is only one way to skin a cat!

WP should charge consultation fee if the Acting Minister is seriously about wanting to hear
alternative views and programmes.

Kinana

The questions brought up are indeed valid. WP seems to talk numbers without any specific A.D. Anyone can talk theory one. Even fools can talk theory, but can the theory work? It's seems WP don't even have a well thought out theory to discuss.

SixthColumn

The questions brought up are indeed valid. WP seems to talk numbers without any specific A.D. Anyone can talk theory one. Even fools can talk theory, but can the theory work? It's seems WP don't even have a well thought out theory to discuss.

Pap know wp busy with pe byele tion lah... O sptime to study so catch wp by surprise lah...pap always play chow kuan one lah

"Anyone can talk theory one."

Agreed with, wholeheartedly. The theory here is that the 6.9million target can be the worst case, best case, and just in case. Brilliant theory.

Go and spend more time watching your children grow up, you damn humbug.
Your comments are not doing anything to help the lives of ordinary citizens get better.

Einfield

And the White trash paper is with specific? They don't even reference their source on where those numbers come from.

Sir_Fcuk

Lunch Corporal
Million Dollars Minister running out of ideas ... asking $15 K MPs for programmes :biggrin:

All PAP MPs and Ministers have the same old mentality ... there's is only one way to skin a cat!

WP should charge consultation fee if the Acting Minister is seriously about wanting to hear
alternative views and programmes.

Minister Mentor step down, no more Minister Emeritus etc to ask, have to ask opposition MP lor..... It shows how poorly the acting manpower minister has thought things through. The elderly workforce is well and truly utilised in developed nations; knn Minister TCJ thinks Singapore is bangladesh or what

LimBoSeng

Old habits die hard. Anything the Oppo say, is rubbish, lack of depth etc.

Comments like "surely you have more details/concrete ideas and I will be interested to hear them" smacks of immaturity

In our time, we believed in patriotism. I, Lim Bo Seng was willing to die for the country. But, I find not a single shred in today's PAP.

BlueBrother

The PAP is the ruling party. They are running all the ministries; they are running the whole country. They have immense resources available to do their job. Their job is to develop and propose the policy to move the country forward.

The present Opposition does not have the same resources. They do not have all the information or the access to all the information available to the ruling party.

What is a minister pay compare to an Opposition MP ? It’s not realistic for the Opposition to come up with a sound policy based on the resources available to them. They are not paid that much to do other people’s job. It is more realistic for the Opposition to act as a check and balance on the Gov’t proposal.

The Opposition has to constantly challenge the Gov’t on their proposal to make sure that the final policy after rigorous debate is in the best interest of the people. If the present Opposition is trying to do the job of the PAP, they will fail badly.

Acting Manpower Minister Tan Chuan-Jin commented: "You have described the outcomes, you have described the positives, the values of encouraging older workers and how they contribute. I am interested to know the specific programmes you have in mind because you have been talking about the elderly for a long time, surely you have very concrete ideas which I will be very interested to look at."

If the minister is willing to donate his year's salary to the WP for the idea, it would be a fair trade. If he can't come up with a plan that sinkees approve, then he doesn't earn his keep.

songsongpunggol

what the fish do you need so many workers?

PAP has never heard of capital intensive productions?

[video=youtube;Dk306ZkNOuc]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dk306ZkNOuc[/video]

The PAP is the ruling party. They are running all the ministries; they are running the whole country. They have immense resources available to do their job. Their job is to develop and propose the policy to move the country forward.

The present Opposition does not have the same resources. They do not have all the information or the access to all the information available to the ruling party.

What is a minister pay compare to an Opposition MP ? It’s not realistic for the Opposition to come up with a sound policy based on the resources available to them. They are not paid that much to do other people’s job. It is more realistic for the Opposition to act as a check and balance on the Gov’t proposal.

The Opposition has to constantly challenge the Gov’t on their proposal to make sure that the final policy after rigorous debate is in the best interest of the people. If the present Opposition is trying to do the job of the PAP, they will fail badly.

Tan Chuan Jin talking cock again, as usual. And this is the guy who said he joined politics to make changes from within. This clown is just perpetuating the system, since he's benefitting from it. He has no sense of shame or embarassment whatsoever - is he even aware that his comments are childish and most immatured for a 'minister' (even if he is only 'acting') in the cabinet.

What do you expect from SAF scholar trash who're parachuted into the PAP? :rolleyes:

The PAP needs these bunch of military yes-men to keep it in power.