• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Spending more than what one earns – how young Singaporeans end up in debt

[h=2]Spending more than what one earns – how young Singaporeans end up in debt[/h]Posted by temasektimes on June 26, 2012

Most young Singaporeans find themselves working like slaves for the rest of their lives to service their debts because they are spending more than what they earn, according to a commentary by Financial Adviser Kelvin Ng on Yahoo News.

Despite their meager starting pay, many young Singaporeans have no qualms splurging on branded products, expensive holidays and cars which see them ending up with a mountain of debt.

Kelvin Ng used a real life example of a Singaporean couple to illustrate his point:

“Take for example a Singaporean couple who falls in love and decide to settle down. The man is in his thirties and woman in her twenties. They have a combined income of about $8,000. The man buys a proposal ring that costs $7,000 (Larry’s brand as girlfriend likes it). The couple also buy a pair of engagement rings that costs $6,000 (Cartier due to peer pressure). The wedding photo package costs $6,000, wedding dinner costs $7,000, honeymoon to Korea $3,000. They then decide to apply for a DBSS flat after countless tries with HDB’s BTO without success and have to cough up $350,000 (by taking up an HDB loan and wiping out their CPF and savings). They then spend $20,000 on minor renovation and furniture.

The man decides to upgrade his car as he could not resist the latest continental car design and coughs up $100,000 (by taking a car loan). The man likes to collect watches, saw the latest Rolex and could not resist it. He has no cash but buys it for $12,000 with an interest free 24 month installment since it is so cheap per month.”

The above case study is not uncommon among Gen Y nowadays. In fact, there are many couples with a combined income of less than $5,000 who are living the ‘high life’ which they cannot afford.

Second example of a typical Singaporean couple:

“The man is working as a mid-level manager in a MNC drawing a monthly salary of $3,000 monthly while his newly wed wife earns $2,400 monthly as an administrative staff. They bought a four-room resale flat in Hougang at $400,000 + and took a renovation loan of $50,000 to renovate their place. Then they spent their savings of $60,000 with another $40,000 chipped in from parents for their wedding dinner. The man felt he must buy a car to drive his wife around and got a new Mazda 3 at over $100,000. Before they have their first child, they are already buried deep in a mountain of debts.”

With a starting pay of only $2,600 for a fresh graduate and $1,800 for a diploma holder coupled with sky-rocketing prices of HDB flats and rampant inflation, most young Singaporeans will not be able to live the standard of life they aspire to unless their parents are filthy rich or they earn more than $10,000 monthly.

Instead of complaining non-stop about their predicament, it is time for Generation Y to manage their own expectations and live within their means or they may find themselves stuck in a rat race forever just to service the interests of their bank loans.

Whining will not get you anywhere. Only hard work, realistic expectations and prudent financial planning will help you cope with the harsh realities of life in Singapore today.

B

Baluku

How to spend less? Everything goes up like crazy.

Only salaries don't go up. Stingy employers!

Lousy UNIONs!

Take for example a Singaporean couple who falls in love and decide to settle down.

BAD MISTAKE.

Don't want to get in debt? Here are some tips:

1) Don't get married.
2) Don't have kids (including out of wedlock).
3) Don't buy a car (car loan debt and drains your monthly disposable income).
4) If you can, stay with your parents for as long as possible.

P.S: Try and do a marriage proposal when you are jobless, and let's see how the 'marriage is love' theory hold up. Good luck!

Jumong

BAD MISTAKE.

1) Don't get married.

P.S: Try and do a marriage proposal when you are jobless, and let's see how the 'marriage is love' theory hold up. Good luck!

Just move to Thailand like the rest in the Thailand thread.

Live in a condo, drive the latest hybrid, sample different dishes from almost 70 provinces etc. Paradise is just 2 hours 10 minutes away from Changi Airport. And best part ? You have at least 3 budget airlines serving the same route.

BAD MISTAKE.

1) Don't get married.

Best advice! Never get into large debts. This is exactly what the pappies want! So the peasants will be forever 'guai guai' cos' they are in debt. And this is the reason why the peasants cannot even get out of Sinking land.

Was in debt before but no more. :smile:

Live in a condo, drive the latest hybrid, sample different dishes from almost 70 provinces etc. Paradise is just 2 hours 10 minutes away from Changi Airport. And best part ? You have at least 3 budget airlines serving the same route.
Key thing is financial management. If no discipline, go anywhere also got money problem. I do spent quite a lot in LOS but that's because of the positive returns of investments and my passive income. I have no choice but to be careful with money cos' one mistake is all it takes for me to end my LOS dream and return to SG to clear plates at hawker centre.

Talking about hybrid, I quite regret buying now. Money could be use to fund other investment. :mad:

The government makes it pretty impossible for you to not have huge debt. The goal of that is that you will have to focus on making a living, thus having no time or desire to think about politics. They have succeeded for a while until they face a generation who do not think much about money.

shittypore

All the Gen Y shld ask tis Kelvin Ng to managed their Financial Portfolio and see in
ten yrs time they can afford all tos items and dreams that he mention.

[h=2]Spending more than what one earns – how young Singaporeans end up in debt[/h]Posted by temasektimes on June 26, 2012

Most young Singaporeans find themselves working like slaves for the rest of their lives to service their debts because they are spending more than what they earn, according to a commentary by Financial Adviser Kelvin Ng on Yahoo News.

Despite their meager starting pay, many young Singaporeans have no qualms splurging on branded products, expensive holidays and cars which see them ending up with a mountain of debt.

Kelvin Ng used a real life example of a Singaporean couple to illustrate his point:

“Take for example a Singaporean couple who falls in love and decide to settle down. The man is in his thirties and woman in her twenties. They have a combined income of about $8,000. The man buys a proposal ring that costs $7,000 (Larry’s brand as girlfriend likes it). The couple also buy a pair of engagement rings that costs $6,000 (Cartier due to peer pressure). The wedding photo package costs $6,000, wedding dinner costs $7,000, honeymoon to Korea $3,000. They then decide to apply for a DBSS flat after countless tries with HDB’s BTO without success and have to cough up $350,000 (by taking up an HDB loan and wiping out their CPF and savings). They then spend $20,000 on minor renovation and furniture.

The man decides to upgrade his car as he could not resist the latest continental car design and coughs up $100,000 (by taking a car loan). The man likes to collect watches, saw the latest Rolex and could not resist it. He has no cash but buys it for $12,000 with an interest free 24 month installment since it is so cheap per month.”

The above case study is not uncommon among Gen Y nowadays. In fact, there are many couples with a combined income of less than $5,000 who are living the ‘high life’ which they cannot afford.

Second example of a typical Singaporean couple:

“The man is working as a mid-level manager in a MNC drawing a monthly salary of $3,000 monthly while his newly wed wife earns $2,400 monthly as an administrative staff. They bought a four-room resale flat in Hougang at $400,000 + and took a renovation loan of $50,000 to renovate their place. Then they spent their savings of $60,000 with another $40,000 chipped in from parents for their wedding dinner. The man felt he must buy a car to drive his wife around and got a new Mazda 3 at over $100,000. Before they have their first child, they are already buried deep in a mountain of debts.”

With a starting pay of only $2,600 for a fresh graduate and $1,800 for a diploma holder coupled with sky-rocketing prices of HDB flats and rampant inflation, most young Singaporeans will not be able to live the standard of life they aspire to unless their parents are filthy rich or they earn more than $10,000 monthly.

Instead of complaining non-stop about their predicament, it is time for Generation Y to manage their own expectations and live within their means or they may find themselves stuck in a rat race forever just to service the interests of their bank loans.

Whining will not get you anywhere. Only hard work, realistic expectations and prudent financial planning will help you cope with the harsh realities of life in Singapore today.

The government makes it pretty impossible for you to not have huge debt. The goal of that is that you will have to focus on making a living, thus having no time or desire to think about politics. They have succeeded for a while until they face a generation who do not think much about money.
It's possible. Biggest problem is the HDB loan. Because of the HDB loan, peasant cannot afford to be jobless. Once there are no debts, the peasants are in clearer mind to think what they want to do in the future. If debt not clear, forever thinking how to pay HDB and car loan.

Don't talk cock hor newbei, we work damn hard here hor. Don't talk until like we damn relak one corner hor.

Sinkies, please don't come here. Thailand very jialat ok: drinks are cheap so drink too much ; food is cheap so eat too much ; massages are too addictive so massage too much ; land is big so go holiday too much ; life is slow so relak too much ; government don't take care so all money earned I get 100% never save in any government scheme don't know what to do with so much money so sinkies please listen, don't come here its hell please believe me.

Best advice! Never get into large debts. . . . . . . . .

Wrong please owe so much until the back is scare of you will continue to suppok you scare you die cannot pay back.

. . . . . .

Talking about hybrid, I quite regret buying now. Money could be use to fund other investment. :mad:

Alamak why regret? This is a powerful care with 2 motors ; saves fuel in Thailand payback is about 5 years ; got lots of Lexus gadgets etc etc

Why regret? I never regret!

Don't talk cock hor newbei, we work damn hard here hor. Don't talk until like we damn relak one corner hor.

Sinkies, please don't come here. Thailand very jialat ok: drinks are cheap so drink too much ; food is cheap so eat too much ; massages are too addictive so massage too much ; land is big so go holiday too much ; life is slow so relak too much ; government don't take care so all money earned I get 100% never save in any government scheme don't know what to do with so much money so sinkies please listen, don't come here its hell please believe me.
Pi joetys mao laew lor?

Wrong please owe so much until the back is scare of you will continue to suppok you scare you die cannot pay back.

Alamak why regret? This is a powerful care with 2 motors ; saves fuel in Thailand payback is about 5 years ; got lots of Lexus gadgets etc etc
Why regret? I never regret!
Hybrid is indeed a good car but really don't need it in Sin City\. Even go walking street also have problem finding parking lot unless I book a room in Siam Bayshore. :smile:

kazuo

But this "bankrupt youth" scenario is not a new phenomenon. It's been around for at least the last 10 yrs. Just visit any used car showroom. Half of the cars there are less than 6 months old and repossessed.

There are alot of hao lian youngsters esp those born after 1985 who think they rule the world. Fucking cocky, nose in the air, talk also talk louder than their fathers. Haha, do a check with the banks. You be surprised how many bankrupts are below the age of 30

Cruxx

How can that be? Singaporeans are rich, right? I see so many Iphones everywhere I go. :rolleyes:

instead of saving money why dont ppl try to earn more money ...saving money cant go far ...making money can :wink:

How to spend less? Everything goes up like crazy.

Only salaries don't go up. Stingy employers!

Lousy UNIONs!

Food prices at the coffee shop near me, went up by 50cts, this coffee shop boss face appears regularly with the 'white cannies', in the same area, another coffee shop replaced their old table & chairs with new ones, drinks prices up 10cts.

Who do we blame ourselves for the increase in prices? ourselves? we didn't upsize & upgrade our careers??

Young SINgaporeans in debts, they examine their debts, who is their biggest creditor.....their Government!:rolleyes:

Cruxx

instead of saving money why dont ppl try to earn more money ...saving money cant go far ...making money can :wink:

Saving money is, technically speaking, deferred consumption. You'll eventually spend the money anyway. You can't make money grow just by not spending it. :smile: