• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ferrari Driver Died ; Taxi Driver Injured On The Job - 12 of May

LeMans2011

Re: Dumb Ass Talkin Again

You have a comprehension problem, huh ? :rolleyes:

You can't tell which is a Jap car, huh ? Don't you know that if you have enough armour to protect your car (especially the sides and front), the chance of survival will be higher ? If this is so easy, then why are these people investing money on crash dummies in labs ? They are too free, huh ?

You are just another dodo bird heading for extinction. Atheists are all dumb folks. As usual.

By now you must have realised no Japanese car is involved here. Not too sure if a Merc can withstand this kind of impact.. he must be driving at 160kmh. BMW ranks one of the worst in crash test below Kia so no question about it.

HTOLAS

Re: Ban All Sports Cars ?

The engine dropping may not be a weakness - it could actually be a safety feature. A collision (especially a frontal one) can result in a car's engine crashing through the firewall into the cabin. Some cars are designed to have the engines drop to the road and out of the way to prevent that. Of the cars I test drove, I was told Renault, Citroen and Opels are designed that way.

Precisely. I may be wrong but I think his punch line is referring to the cab's engine found 30m away from the vehicle which is about its weakness and not an issue with who is at fault. Simply put he is putting down japan made as oppose to german made.

Conqueror

Precisely. I may be wrong but I think his punch line is referring to the cab's engine found 30m away from the vehicle which is about its weakness and not an issue with who is at fault. Simply put he is putting down japan made as oppose to german made.

Japanese metallurgy is not as good as German's ?

How about an e30 BMW... or am I just saying that because mine's for sale :smile:

All good cars, but the years you would have to get to make them $3500 aren't by any means what I'd call "sporty." I'd call them "pokey." :smile:

Older BMWs are a great choice. They come from the factory with high levels of performance, quality, and luxury, and they run darn near forever. I would also think German before Japanese for the over-100k segment. They both score highly for quality engineering, but the japanese cars don't spend as much time and money on things like quality of materials. Body panels are a much thinner gauge steel, leather and cloth on the seats are skimped to keep cost low, and things like quality of assembly start to show. I guess what I'm saying is, with a german car like BMW, or MB, you'll get more quality for your cash with fewer rattles, squeaks, tears, and fades.

If you had said new car, I'd say Japanese. But used $3500 car and "sporty" don't really fit the Japanese car description.

Yeah, I'd say its a real gamble with that many miles. Put it this way; you could have my BMW convertible with 156k for about the same money, but with brand new paint, new interior, a properly lowered suspension, and serious street respect. Not to mention, the Germans know metallurgy, so that engine will last a long darn time.

cheowyonglee

Re: Dumb Ass Talkin Again

this prc idiot must be some communist 太子党。his father confirm must be some corrupted high end offical.or else how can he afford to buy such a car?take note, the salary alone as a official not enough to tahan that car.

[video=youtube;vgWQGCRGO3Y]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vgWQGCRGO3Y&feature=youtube_gdata_player[/video]

Conqueror

Sonata

By now you must have realised no Japanese car is involved here. Not too sure if a Merc can withstand this kind of impact.. he must be driving at 160kmh. BMW ranks one of the worst in crash test below Kia so no question about it.

Someone said it was a Korean one. Oh no ! That is even worse ! No doubt that the cabin was intact and the engine was torn out. At least, the cabin armour or padding should have protected the victims. But, if there isn't any side impact beams for side protection, then, too bad when there's a direct impact to the cabin at a right angle.

exobay

From other forums there are some additional info:

1. Braddel Prostitutes praising dead Felali At Tiong and more or less made it to appear he was a victim, but not the culprit that killed and injured other road users.

2. Ah Tiong Felali driver body reeks of alcohol, so he was half-pissed, otherwise why not wearing seatbelt?

3. Taxi passenger who died (poor Jap tourist) was not wearing seatbelt. All reading this be forewarned that no matter what, please put on your seatbelt in cars and taxis. You never know what can happen.

4. Taxi driver killed is the sole bread winner of family with school-going kid/s.

5. Taxi driver started his shift that fateful day at 4 pm but was driving past 4 am when he should be home resting. If he had done so, he will still be alive today.

6. Not much news from Braddel Prostitutes regarding the other victims but focus was on the Ah Tiong and wife. No news also about the Malay motorcyclist except he had spinal injuries.

7. The passenger in the Felali was said to be another Ah Tiong female and she escape death as she wore a seatbelt.

8. A speed bump (unmarked) already in place at the junction where incident happened.

9. If you are driving, please be careful not to beat the green light by moving off too quickly as nowadays many drivers try to beat the red light.

10. Reports are there that Orchard Road has many young drivers with fast cars that want to race with each other, weaving dangerously through the traffic. The traffic police are very busy looking for illegally parked cars or cars stopping at double yellow lines, and not catching drivers beating red lights or speedsters.

11. Apparently, Singaporean drivers are getting to behave badly often beating red lights thus encouraging FT drivers to do same things. Monkey see, monkey do.

12. RIP to the taxi driver and his passenger. Fuck this Ah Tiong for causing carnage on our roads and last of all Be Safe whoever you are when on our roads.

Kid278

The engine dropping may not be a weakness - it could actually be a safety feature. A collision (especially a frontal one) can result in a car's engine crashing through the firewall into the cabin. Some cars are designed to have the engines drop to the road and out of the way to prevent that. Of the cars I test drove, I was told Renault, Citroen and Opels are designed that way.

No challenge, news report as such suggest a collision with great impact, it indirectly also suggest an impression of weakness. I am no expert so I leave it at that. You may have the expertise, you can form your own opinion, I have no issue with that.

exobay

Re: Sonata

Someone said it was a Korean one. Oh no ! That is even worse ! No doubt that the cabin was intact and the engine was torn out. At least, the cabin armour or padding should have protected the victims. But, if there isn't any side impact beams for side protection, then, too bad when there's a direct impact to the cabin at a right angle.

Not possible if the passenger is not wearing a seatbelt. Imagine a speeding car weighing about 2 tons crashing just where you are sitting. She had no chance whatsoever, poor thing.

Conqueror

Re: Ferrari Driver Died ; Taxi Driver Injured On The Job and die the following day

Last I read was the taxi driver brain dead.

Now izit no breathing also?

I know the answer : brain dead = dead. This is what some docs will say. Normally, the life support will be removed for his or her natural death.

If someone is brain dead, the person is dead, period.

This fact can be hard to accept, particularly when a patient might look very much alive to family members. Brain dead people often still have a heartbeat, and their chests may rise and fall with the help of a ventilator, sometimes giving hope to grieving families that the person may suddenly wake up.

Brain death is the irreversible end of all brain activity (including involuntary activity necessary to sustain life) due to total necrosis of the cerebral neurons following loss of brain oxygenation. It should not be confused with a persistent vegetative state. Patients classified as brain dead can have their organs surgically removed for organ donation.

Brain death, either of the whole brain or the brain stem, is used as a legal indicator of death in many jurisdictions.

Conqueror

Not possible if the passenger is not wearing a seatbelt. Imagine a speeding car weighing about 2 tons crashing just where you are sitting. She had no chance whatsoever, poor thing.

I suspected that too. I will never take any chance because it all happens in a split second before your brain can even react to decide whether you should start pulling the belt first.

But, will the side window glass panel kill you ?

cheowyonglee

our reporters should be curse.wtf they praise the driver when he was in the wrong?n his wife said he drive at night becos he is introvert.knn, pls lar... this communist breeded bastard wife really know how to cover up for his husband even to the extend of knowing his hubby have an affair with a lady but still act blur.

Unrepented

Engine is to block the impact and hopefully push away. Given the compact arrangement and distance of engine to driver, as well as height of the vehicle clearance from the ground, there is not enough time and distance for the engine to drop for your said objective.......imo.:o

exobay

I suspected that too. I will never take any chance because it all happens in a split second before your brain can even react to decide whether you should start pulling the belt first.

But, will the side window glass panel kill you ?

The impact of the Ferrari is enough to send the body of the passenger to crash into the opposite side of the taxi. She will be dead almost instantly by the force.

Conqueror

Traction

our reporters should be curse.wtf they praise the driver when he was in the wrong?n his wife said he drive at night becos he is introvert.knn, pls lar... this communist breeded bastard wife really know how to cover up for his husband even to the extend of knowing his hubby have an affair with a lady but still act blur.

DPAr6TSiJvP2RZeA3x0m.jpg

Probably an early mid-life crisis at 30. He want to 'how lian' lah like saying he's still young and rebellious. Girl must be willing enough to take a ride to feel the expensive speeding car. They forgot that the roads here are NOT compatible with the car. Junctions are killers.

Sports cars have to be used on a designed tracks where curve roads bank to prevent overturning and to press the tyres on the track tightly (traction). Obviously, tracks with no junctions will be great for speeding.

banked-circular-road.jpeg

Unrepented

Re: Ferrari Driver Died ; Taxi Driver Injured On The Job and die the following day

Some porlumpar in edmw trying to say the taxi driver is not dead because there are cases of patients waking up after being certified brain dead. You and I know where they are coming from. I juz want to remove that excuse base on technicalities. But of course don't wish the taxi uncle demise.:o

I know the answer : brain dead = dead. This is what some docs will say. Normally, the life support will be removed for his or her natural death.

If someone is brain dead, the person is dead, period.

This fact can be hard to.........jurisdictions.

One CSI bro at edmw said ferrari may be travelling at about 270km/hr based on assumed camera frame speed of 30fps.

270km/h is crazy.
If never crash into taxi it will crash into something else.
Your reflexes cannot react fast enough at these speed on normal road even if you were alert much less the fucker was suspected drunk.
Pro race car drivers maybe can do it