• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

You can shop & dine in this ITE school

metalslug

http://edvantage.com.sg/edvantage/news/schoolnews/460304/You_can_shop_dine_in_this_school.html

You can shop & dine in this school
The New Paper | Thu Sep 23 2010

ITE's new campus houses a hotel, restaurant and even a supermarket.

You_can_shop_dine_in_this_school-topImage.jpg

THIS building houses a hotel, a fine-dining restaurant, a Shop N Save supermarket and a Yamaha music store.

Welcome to the new ITE College West.

And the good news is most of these facilities are not only for students or staff - members of the public can also go there to buy groceries, dine and shop.

Why open their doors to the public?

"Because we're right next to thecommunity," said the school's principal, Dr Yek Tiew Ming.

The swanky new building in Choa Chu Kang, which opened in July, occupies a land area of about 10 football fields.

During a media tour of the campus yesterday, Dr Yek said the facilities are designed to help the students be more "work ready".

"We provide students an authentic environment forthem to practise in," he said.

Four clusters

The building has four school clusters: School of Business and Services, School of Electronics & Info-Comm Technology, School of Engineering, and the School of Hospitality.

Hospitality students learn how to run the 22-room West Vista Hotelon campus.

The hotel's industry partner is the five-star Four Seasons Hotel Singapore.

"We work with big names and train our students to a five-star standard," said Dr Yek.

Mr Goh Mong Song, deputy principal (development) & director of the School of Hospitality, said the school has received enquiries about the hotel, which is open to students, staffand corporate partners.

Students also learn how to prepare meals and wait tables at the in-house restaurant, Amber@West, where trainee chef students do the cooking.

Said one student there, Aaron Liew, 19, who is in his first year of a Nitec course in food & beverage operations: "I've learnt endurance as I stand for more than 12 hours while waiting tables."

The ITE-Boncafe Barista Training Centre will train the students to be coffee baristas.

At the School of Engineering, students doing courses in automotive technology practise on real cars of various makes.

The School of Business and Services intends to set up a travel agency as well as three retail shops that will be run by students.

The school already has a retail training lab which resembles a real-life boutique, complete with mannequins and a cash register.

While this lab is not open to the public, the travel agency and other shops will be.

The idea is to have a "fenceless college", said Mr Peh Wee Leng, covering director and deputy director of the School of Business & Services.

Students like Aaron support that idea.

He said: "By letting the public experience ITE, they can see what we are capable of, and give ITE students a chance to work for them later on in real life."

This article was first published in The New Paper.

during my student years, ite was a place where moron went to study.

now much improved now, but with pap importing graduate from tom dick and harry university, what is their future?

Those who cant make it academically, and no money to go overseas to study, will end up in ITE.. When they grow up, they will be left behind by the society. These spanking new campuses will give them a false "feel-good" feeling now and false hopes that their skills are needed in the future. After they graduate, many of the female graduates will end up in the FL2 section of sammy's other forum and most of the male graduates will be repairing aircon and be bell hop in IRs... Ugly truth...

So, they better enjoy and bask in this "feel-good" feeling now coz in 2 years time, they will feel unwanted...

Those who cant make it academically, and no money to go overseas to study, will end up in ITE.. When they grow up, they will be left behind by the society. These spanking new campuses will give them a false "feel-good" feeling now and false hopes that their skills are needed in the future. After they graduate, many of the female graduates will end up in the FL2 section of sammy's other forum and most of the male graduates will be repairing aircon and be bell hop in IRs... Ugly truth...

So, they better enjoy and bask in this "feel-good" feeling now coz in 2 years time, they will feel unwanted...

KNN la with people like you around the world might as well end tomoro. CB pathetic idiot think ITE only good for nothing meh?

BTW...this FL2 section got ITE graduates...can share contact boh?

KNN la with people like you around the world might as well end tomoro. CB pathetic idiot think ITE only good for nothing meh?

BTW...this FL2 section got ITE graduates...can share contact boh?

KNN lah, dont try to act high morally, even the ITE students themselves see no future for themselves. You CB idiot cant read english? I said most of them graduates end up as bell hops and air-con repairman, i did not say they are good for nothing, only you think they are... Anyway, it's the truth those who cant make it academically go ITE. And the education ministry has failed miserably to increase the quality of ITE and other technical institutions to a higher standard so that they can get better employment after they graduate. It is exactly this reason that female graduates prostitute themselves as they cant survive with such low income. There are FLs from NUS, NTU and all POLYs.. is it any wonder there are FLs from ITEs? lol... THINK! The bro's post above mine says ITE is a place where morons go to study... :D

BTW, there is a "search" function on all forums.. USE IT... you can find at least 5...

Back then ITE was known as VITB......fail PSLE they dump you there to learn skills like hairdressing..........those who fail 'O' levels also get to go but to the 'business' courses to learn to be a clerk.....

My lecturer used to joked that those who go go to uni use brains, those who go POLY use hands, those who go VITB only need to use their feets that is why their shoes wear out so fat that they have to wear slippers to school....with those ugly brown uniforms :D

At the pace Singapore is heading towards (service industry) of serving people. ITE seems to have more prospect as compared to studying in NUS or NTU because there are plenty of foreign degrees (fake or real) MOM will accept into Singapore to compete with local tertiary qualified citizens for cheaper, better and fastest. Thus Singapore is no longer a talent hub which is stained by influx of fake foreign talent. ITE students are thus likely to have better career prospect than degree students now.