you can easily get OLDTOWN KOPI for about 50c

so do not go to their fake high-class kopitiam in shopping to drink their kopi. definitely NOT WORTH IT!!

My friends and i went to SQ 2 which is adjoined to NOVENA SQUARE. we decided to ve kopi at oldtown kopitiam there.

a cup of kopi cost $2.50. i ordered the hazelnut kopi which cost $2.80. we ordered some french toast. when the bill came, it was like $13+

the bill come with 10%service and 7% gst. that would be fine until my li'l brother kaypoh-kaypoh went to the counter which was designed like starbuck. there he saw pre-packed 3in1 oldtown kopi satchels for sale in a big packet containing 10.

the oldtown kopi 3in1 cost of $5.05 nett. same for the hazelnut kopi. leetahsar asked the cashier there: "are these the same we drank just now?" the cashier said, "yes. if u wanna drink some more at home, u can buy these 3in1 - exactly the same!"

there u ve it. oldtown kopitiam kopi actually cost 50c.

why pay for almost $3 for a small cup of kopi that is brewed out from a 3in1 satchel?

according to leetahsar, each satchel can be made into 2 cup similar size to what we had in the oldtown kopitiam. that means the kopi we drank would further be halved the cost at only 25c per cup!!

some call it "lifestyle". to LTS, it was a delusion and extravagance.

being poor does have its blessing. it makes one clearer in his vision and desire.

When you drink kopi there, you are actually paying rent for the space you sit.

By this logic, every f&b outlet cannot go Liao. Coke, coffee, pasta, steak, zicha etc everything mark up. Best if you live in North Korea and plant your own food.

My friends and i went to SQ 2 which is adjoined to NOVENA SQUARE. we decided to ve kopi at oldtown kopitiam there.

a cup of kopi cost $2.50. i ordered the hazelnut kopi which cost $2.80. we ordered some french toast. when the bill came, it was like $13+

the bill come with 10%service and 7% gst. that would be fine until my li'l brother kaypoh-kaypoh went to the counter which was designed like starbuck. there he saw pre-packed 3in1 oldtown kopi satchels for sale in a big packet containing 10.

the oldtown kopi 3in1 cost of $5.05 nett. same for the hazelnut kopi. leetahsar asked the cashier there: "are these the same we drank just now?" the cashier said, "yes. if u wanna drink some more at home, u can buy these 3in1 - exactly the same!"

there u ve it. oldtown kopitiam kopi actually cost 50c.

why pay for almost $3 for a small cup of kopi that is brewed out from a 3in1 satchel?

same lah for shampoo u use.
u buy a bottle of sunsilk or lux or pantene...how much do u think it cost to make this crap?
they sell u at about 10 bucks.
do u think the actual cost of manufacturing is 10 bucks???
i am sure it cost less than 1 dollar to make it.
but from the factory, the outsorced logistic wants to earn, the wholesaler wants to earn, the supermarket wants to to earn...so it end up 10 bucks lor!

Shampoo manufacturing cost $3~$4/bottle that price of FOB at factory gate.

so do not go to their fake high-class kopitiam in shopping to drink their kopi. definitely NOT WORTH IT!!

Import your own coffee bean and you can sell it cheaper,and you could start your own chain, for old time sake at 20 cent per cup...:)

Roasted coffee beans are not expensive, it is the quantity MOQ that might affect your buying power, all the flavor are added during roasting of the beans.

Neither are sugar expensive, just the MOQ of 12,500 mt per month x 12 months.....per mt is arond 600 usd +/-.......:p

Come on guys, you know coffee don't cost much right?
You pay for the ambience, service etc. How to compare?

BTW, don't drink white coffee. Its made by roasting cofee with margarine, a deadly combi.
I told this to my fren and she never drank white coffee after that.
I'm not saying that other 3 in 1 are healthy, just that white coffee is the worst

every step of the food chain up (suppose valuse adding) from the coffee plant is mark up w margin.... Just plain capitalism....nothing to complain....not happy with old town, ya kun or even your downstairs coffeeshop(yes, they also with margin), don't drink lor...u got a choice

Ex

13 bucks is too much. A cab fare may not be that expensive anyway. Cutthroat shops. Rental is expensive. You are booking a space to drink it.

Re: Ex

heard that oldtown kopitiam is part owned by mark lee. is it true? wow! either he's going to be very rich or it would close shop soon. ridiculous prices!

freshly brewed kopi at toa payoh lor 8 hc

guys, u can't believe this!

at a corner stall in toa payoh lor 8 hawker centre, there is a kopi stall that freshly ground the kopi beans and brews it for you. cost per cup is less than a $1. think it's about 70c to 80c depending whether u want condensed milk or "cream". kopi or kopi-c siew tai.