• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Years of Govt. policies have created this?

TeeKee

prawnssk.jpg

$239 for 8 tiger prawns: That's what Newton stall charged American diners
By Judith Tan

SIX Americans who sat down to a seafood dinner at Newton hawker centre on Saturday just about fell off their chairs when they were presented a bill for $491, including $239 for eight tiger prawns.

Mr Michael Rigby, 30, an exhibition specialist from Oregon who comes here regularly for work, said: 'It was more than what it would have cost us at a restaurant in the hotel.'
He said that when he asked the stallholder whether the bill had a mistake, he only got a shrug in reply. Seconds later, the man returned with four others, who he said looked to be in their 40s and well-built.
He said: 'I guess they didn't want us to leave without paying.'
Ironically, he and his wife, Dewi, 36, had set out to show their friends - Mr Sal Rubio, 53, his wife, daughter and son-in-law, all here for the first time - how safe, clean and honest this island city was.
The food centre was crowded then, so when the helpers from stall 43, Tanglin Best BBQ Seafood, showed them to a table, they felt obliged to order from them.
Besides tiger prawns, they had four crabs, baby squids, half a steamed chicken, four bottles of beer and fruit juices.
Mrs Rigby, referring to the price of the prawns, said: 'They were prawns. It was not like we dined on lobsters!'
She added that halfway through the meal, the stallholder even plonked two grilled sting rays on their table.
'We told them that we did not order them and they were quickly taken away. Afraid we would be charged for them, we asked for an itemised bill. When it came, we were shocked,' she said.
Mr Rubio, who is from Arizona, told The Straits Times that the prices seemed comparable to those of an American restaurant and thought nothing of it - until Mr Rigby queried the bill.
When reporters, tipped off on the incident by a friend of Mr Rigby's, staked out the food centre at 4.30pm yesterday, the stall's workers were gearing up for business.
But as talk got around that reporters were around, the shutters came back down. The workers disappeared.
Other stallholders, asked about the incident, were unwilling to talk, saying that they had to be 'cordial and respect each other's business practices, as we see each other every day'.
But some did say that the stalls there charge a 'standard' price of $8 for 100g of tiger prawns, and that most of the prawns are medium-sized, between 200g and 350 g each.
At almost $30 for each of the Rigby party's prawns, each would have tipped the scales on the heavier end of that range.
A check with seafood stalls outside Newton pegged the cost of 100g of tiger prawns at between $6 and $6.50; one high-end restaurant, the Royal China at Raffles, charges $12 for a medium-sized prawn.
The National Environment Agency (NEA), which runs the hawker centre popular among Singaporeans and tourists, said this was the first time a complaint of over-charging had been filed against Tanglin Best BBQ Seafood.
The agency is looking at the footage from one of its 16 closed-circuit television cameras in its investigations.
NEA noted that 10 complaints were received against stalls at Newton in 2007, and 11 last year; this year to date, two have been received.
The incident throws a negative spotlight back on Newton, which, despite undergoing $48 million in spruce-up works a couple of years ago, has yet to clean out the touts who harangue diners.
Mr Rigby said: 'The experience left me feeling quite embarrassed. I also feel embarrassed for Singapore. One bad experience like this simply leaves a bad after-taste.'

TeeKee

"I don’t see the necessity of owning a Mercedes-Benz and a swimming pool and a couple of mistresses. I think we’ve got our values all wrong.

You know $96,000 a month for a Prime Minister and $60,000 a month for a minister. What the hell do you do with all that money? You can’t eat it! What do you do with it? Your children don’t need all that money.

My children have had the best of education. In fact, I’m very proud of them. One of them is a senior registrar to two major hospitals in Oxford. Another of them is a consultant in European law to the Securities and Investment Board in the United Kingdom. They’ve had their education. There are no complaints.

I never earned $60,000 a month or $90,000 a month. When I was Chief Minister, I earned $8,000 a month. Look, what is happening today is we are encouraged to and are becoming worshippers of the Golden Calf.

We have lost sight of the joy and excitement of public service, helping our fellow men. The joy and excitement of seeking and understanding of the joy of the miracle of the living the duty and the grandeur. We have lost taste for heroic action in the service of our people.

We have become good bourgeois seeking comfort, security. It’s like seeking a crystal coffin and being fed by intravenous injections through pipes in the crystal coffin; crystal coffins stuck with certificates of your pragmatic abilities."

— An interview with David Marshall, 5 May 1994.

ahleebabasingaporethief

I applaud the hawkers at Newton.

I think they should be give awards for "maximizing" their profits from FTs.

They are telling the Garment. If you can cheat your own citizens, we can also do it, but to FTs.

They have learnt well from garment.....how to cheat! If you can do it so can we. So please dont KPKB ok.

yogi1973

newton charge sinkies the same rate wat.wahh, so cheapolo these yankees.they should ask the price before chomping down on the prawns. i go thailand also ask price of seafood first.

TeeKee

newton charge sinkies the same rate wat.wahh, so cheapolo these yankees.they should ask the price before chomping down on the prawns. i go thailand also ask price of seafood first.

erm...in developed countries, people trusts each other, don't expect kena ripped off by others...that is why he neber asked because he tot Spore is a developed country...

but the result proved we are still a developing country.

yogi1973

erm...in developed countries, people trusts each other, don't expect kena ripped off by others...that is why he neber asked because he tot Spore is a developed country...

but the result proved we are still a developing country.

pls lahhh....we are not only developed but first class ok....
even eat at hawker restaurant also got official reciept.

yogi1973

i hope these yankees dun go ktv, later rabba rabba finish, dun wan pay tips say too ex how??? ask for rabba receipt and lodge complain??

funglung

FTs kenna overcharged and they got balls to complain and kick up a fuss.

SINKIES GOT 400-500++ BILLIONS OVERCHARGED AND STOLEN INTO STINKING LEE KUAN YEW TEMASICK AND GIC AND THEY DONT SAY ANYTHING

Sinkies got no balls
You all dare not stand with those that tried to speak for you.
You all dare not give money to them so that they can work for you.
You all dare not support them publicly so that they can speak for you.

You all turn your backs on those that spoke out bravely against LKY
LKY hit out at those who tried to speak for you with his kangaroo courts
You turn your backs and not support them with money and courage.

You let them be beaten and bankrupted because you all have no balls

Why complain now?

Your 400-500++ billions sucked and bled into LKY Temasick and GIC

And even more billions are currently sucked and bled so that LKY can use those money to bastardised and pay his kangaroo courts and running dogs to bleed even more billions from you in future

You got what you all deserved
for your lack of balls

FIND YOUR BALLS TO PUT AN END TO LKY

or open your legs to be further screwed by him

allanlee

I applaud the hawkers at Newton.

I think they should be give awards for "maximizing" their profits from FTs.

They are telling the Garment. If you can cheat your own citizens, we can also do it, but to FTs.

They have learnt well from garment.....how to cheat! If you can do it so can we. So please dont KPKB ok.

Very well said !!!
Three cheers for the hawkers :biggrin:

allanlee

I have patronised this stall many times........ they have a three tier pricing system adopted from the PRC tourism department.

1) For singkees who are regular customers or friends of the hawkers...... the price is normal coffeshop zichar pricing.

2) For singkees not in category (1)....... the price is add 50% surcharge.

3) For FTs and tourists........ the price is add 50% surcharge + 50% gahmen tax + 50% ministar tax + 50% labour tax + 50% location tax + 50% summons tax + 7% gst => final bill is additional 307% of the original bill. :biggrin:

WELL DONE...... SCREW THE FTS !!!!

chobolann

I certainly don't fault the hawkers for charging what they did.

The hawkers must have taken the cue from our great political leaders. You pay for what you get. You want world class seafood, you got to pay world highest prices.

The hawkers have been taught well by our great political leaders through their rule by greed (ie you don't pay me the world's highest salary, i will be corrupt) and fear (ie bankrupting opposition and threatening us that our wives and daughters will be maids in foreign countries)

I will be amused if one of our great political leaders were to comment publicly on the price of the tiger prawns as exorbitant and direct CASE/any government agency to take the hawkers to task. For i cannot imagine oneself to have such moral authority when i demand such high salary myself for public service.

besotted

All right, big fat Americans made to pay more

Newton hawkers are GOOD.....should get an STB award for teaching these arrogant Yanks a lesson