Yakult's "other countries also do it" line makes me sick

Singapore is not the only country tweaking the laws governing traditional and online media, Minister for Communications and Information Yaacob Ibrahim said yesterday.

New Zealand and Britain are also reviewing their regulatory approaches and frameworks for new and old media.

His remarks yesterday follow concerns that the Government's move - requiring prominent local news sites to get licences - amounts to tighter regulation.

He noted that New Zealand's Law Commission recently called for an independent watchdog to oversee broadcast, print and online news. It will have the power to censure and ask for material to be removed from a website as well as for a published apology.

AND WHEN IT COMES TO EXAMPLES WHICH ARE AGAINST THEIR INTENTIONS, THEY TOUT THE "BUT WE ARE DIFFERENT" LINE

PTUI! Yaacob 'once-in-fifty-years' Ibrahim, why don't you draw the same pay as the Minister would in New Zealand? PTUI!

Britain is reviewing its media but not clamping down on internet websites you fake Singaporean whose sons wont serve NS

Its really stupid of him to compare the situation here to the one in Britain..

Many British cartoonists have been lampooning their politicians for decades and they have yet to face any sedition charge..

Only in Sinkie land, we see someone being hauled up by the authorities for making a harmless cartoon depicting the true political situation in this country..

Pukimak Lu Yaacult.. :oIo::oIo::oIo:

Pergi mampus lah, fucktard Yaacob!

You should have been sacked after the floodings/pondings when you were the MEWR minister. Or at least, according to PAP tradition, be sent to the PMO without a portfolio and rot there.

Why not just declare Singapore to be a monarchy, make the Lees the royal familee and implement lese majeste laws?

Well, Yakult, is that right? Our boss Sam will have to verify that for NZ.

Sam? Where's he? Sam has to shut down now? Even his own govt played him out.

Its really stupid of him to compare the situation here to the one in Britain..

Many British cartoonists have been lampooning their politicians for decades and they have yet to face any sedition charge..

Only in Sinkie land, we see someone being hauled up by the authorities for making a harmless cartoon depicting the true political situation in this country..

Pukimak Lu Yaacult.. :oIo::oIo::oIo:

He's measuring his clamping rules vs British rules to stop Rupert Murdoch

The word "tweaking" has a very insidious connotation to it.

Maybe Yacock can tell us if pee-a-pee did any "tweaking" to the votes during the last election ?

The other countries have truly independent judiciaries, have true oversights over governments ....when sinkapore have those institutions, then let's talk.

Where it suits them, they will say other countries already doing it. If it does not suits them , they will say Singapore unique. So they get their cake and eat it too!

Yakult just made himself Public Enemy No 1, the most hated man on the island

So this is what we got for paying them vulgar salaries? But who to blame? PAP? Sinkies are the ones who sanctioned them and embarrassed ourselves.

don't let it come to FUCK

already lost my cool in some other thread...
some idiot said "if one is within Area A, then one is considered not within 200m radius of Area A."

Britain is reviewing its media but not clamping down on internet websites you fake Singaporean whose sons wont serve NS

Even if his sons serve NS, they will still retain their US citizenship. What can we do about it? Nothing.