• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

WTF, 9 policemen needed to ask sungei rd vendor to take down shade

BusNo64

KNNCCB WTF is this? 9 fucking policemen in 3 policecar is needed to just ask a karang guni man in sungei rd to take down his share...KNN are we having too many policemen around issit? WONG KAN SENG, PLS ANSWER THIS, WTF IS GOING ON WITH YOUR POODLES???!!! :mad::mad::mad::oIo::oIo::oIo:

Posted on 12 Jan 2010
Isn't this overkill? 9 cops in 3 police cars to get stall holder to take down shade

3_cars_9_policemen_deployed_just_to_issue_one_summon-thumbnail.jpg

Is it necessary for the police to deploy three cars and nine officers just to ask a flea market stall holder to take down his tent? That's what STOMPer Choy wonders after witnessing the incident at Sungei Road on January 10.

After some CISCO officers noticed the stall holder's tent, they informed the authorities.

Nine policemen arrived on scene in three separate cars within minutes but the man was only issued a fine.

This might be a little too excessive, says Choy.

In an email, he says:

"Three NEA deployed personnel from CISCO demanded that a stall holder dismantles the shade that he erected.

"He wasn't armed.

"Minutes later, three police cars with nine policemen turned up and coaxed the man to take down the shade.

"Is it an effective way of deploying so much resources to settle a minor problem?

"The man was issued with a summon later."

hhhbatman said on 12 Jan, 2010 Report as offensive

Now u know where the police are when u call them when in emergency times.once i called them which was a policepost about 100m away from my house.i told them a burglar was trying to enter my house.guess what,they took 45mins to come and said they were busy.see how the blue man work,non- emergency type case send so many policeman just to see the tent take down,while some emergency cases,take too long to come down.....

Add to that, if there is any possibilty of real confrontation type emergency with bad guys like in your case, they will take long time to come.

Why is it so hard to please our citizens. There was this complaint about not having enough policeman to stop a dangerous man. Now there is a complaint about too many. I feel so sad for our PAP government.

Scared of a revolution being ignited from Sungei Road?

Years back, all it took was a team of 4 env (tehgu) fellas accompanied by a cop and a vc (aka rat catcher) to just pack all the illegal vendor's stuff into a van and that's it. Nowadays, it has to take 9 cops to 'persuade' this fella not to block his ahkong's road?:oIo:

I was at a 'member' supermarket some time ago, when a man caught shop lifting locked himself in the supermarket office armed with a paper cutter!. The public spirit people, me included called the police...the store detective could not do anything...the police post is about 400m from the supermarket, while the tense situation between the shoppers , staff, the store detective......it took, many frantic calls, a run to the police post by a concern public AWAREd citizen....the police came 45 minutes, by then, the man had bolted out of the store....

If this was some terrorist....

Another incident, was woken up by a commotion downstairs , and saw a couple, they were quarrelling loudly, after a while, it became violent, the man took a stick & started beating the woman...who made even louder sound...I called the police, while all this was going on,,,after 20 minutes, no police car....a burly man from somewhere in the block, came down, stopped the man & told him to 'Fark off'....by them 35 mins the police arrive...

But if this was Uncle Yap abusing the cat downstairs, I am sure....they will drop down from the sky!!...:D in their avatars!!!

It means the area is very safe and therefore the police very free and had nothing else to do. :D

KNNCCB WTF is this? 9 fucking policemen in 3 policecar is needed to just ask a karang guni man in sungei rd to take down his share...KNN are we having too many policemen around issit? WONG KAN SENG, PLS ANSWER THIS, WTF IS GOING ON WITH YOUR POODLES???!!! :mad::mad::mad::oIo::oIo::oIo:

Posted on 12 Jan 2010
Isn't this overkill? 9 cops in 3 police cars to get stall holder to take down shade

3_cars_9_policemen_deployed_just_to_issue_one_summon-thumbnail.jpg

Is it necessary for the police to deploy three cars and nine officers just to ask a flea market stall holder to take down his tent? That's what STOMPer Choy wonders after witnessing the incident at Sungei Road on January 10.

After some CISCO officers noticed the stall holder's tent, they informed the authorities.

Nine policemen arrived on scene in three separate cars within minutes but the man was only issued a fine.

This might be a little too excessive, says Choy.

In an email, he says:

"Three NEA deployed personnel from CISCO demanded that a stall holder dismantles the shade that he erected.

"He wasn't armed.

"Minutes later, three police cars with nine policemen turned up and coaxed the man to take down the shade.

"Is it an effective way of deploying so much resources to settle a minor problem?

"The man was issued with a summon later."

My personal thinking is: they are good to issue summons to the normal, kind, harmless, and less fortunate Singapore citizens especially Chinese and indian. They will be very effective to do such things. When there is any relating to foreign country citizens, especially USA citizens, or other influencing countries, will see another kind of cordial, caring, friendly treatment to these people. I hope this is just my prejudice. Please prove to me if I am wrong!

LOL, good one. And you are absolutely right. The fear is not what Uncle Yap is going to do but to impress the ministry that they handled the situation quickly.

But if this was Uncle Yap abusing the cat downstairs, I am sure....they will drop down from the sky!!...:D in their avatars!!!

My personal thinking is: they are good to issue summons to the normal, kind, harmless, and less fortunate Singapore citizens especially Chinese and indian. They will be very effective to do such things. When there is any relating to foreign country citizens, especially USA citizens, or other influencing countries, will see another kind of cordial, caring, friendly treatment to these people. I hope this is just my prejudice. Please prove to me if I am wrong!

2 words, Michael Fay!!!

I don't agree with you with regards to the treatment of locals vs foreigners by the police. However I do agree with most of the others that the Home team isn't exactly world class

2 words, Michael Fay!!!

I don't agree with you with regards to the treatment of locals vs foreigners by the police. However I do agree with most of the others that the Home team isn't exactly world class

I also hope I am WRONG.

Perhaps you drive big cars, wear luxury watch and expensive clothes, and never, never have a chance to touch on this subject?

I have stopped social work, after sharing too many negative encounters from the less fortunates.

Wrong. When head of Nortel was stabbed by robbers in his friends house in Bt Timah, the Gurkhas were activated to search the nearby forest. Micheal Fay damaged more cars belonging to Ang Mos in his condo than locals. The Ang Mos were fed up. Take the case of the german girl who was in possesion of drugs that put her squarely for the gallows. Take the case of ABC journalists from Australia.

2 words, Michael Fay!!!

Actually only one is required and the 8 of them are on standby for the SDP. Since some of the SDP members are currently serving jail terms, the 8 are temporarily excess staff.

so what if you disgree, you big fuck issit? :rolleyes:

This is a forum for discussion where U everyone is here to provide their opinions. U dun need to be a big fuck to disagree. Only elitist and UncleYap will need a Big F to disagree before they will listen. So are U an Elitist? :oIo::oIo::oIo:

So you think you are one big fuck pissing ppl off here? Ppl must listen to you meh? Ppl here cannot post what they like meh? :oIo::oIo::oIo:

I don't expect pple to listen to me but this is a public forum where we are free to express our opinions and open for discussion. Unlike your elitist nature where U only listen to Big F, I take in the opinions of everyone, even jokers like Makapaa and Tonychat where I find myself agreeing with them from time to time. U dun like my opinion, feel free to dispute it, but I have the right to disagree. Last I checked, the owner of this forum still maintained a free speech policy

So you can disagree with ppl, i cannot disagree with you? Freedom of speech goes both way, you want to jack ppl up, expect ppl to jack you up too :rolleyes: