• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

WP's Parliamentary Questions on 9 July

Fook Seng

zhihau said:
nice job, bro!

just wondering if WP could also help an Aljunied GRC voter, me, to ask our dear leaders what is the projected population density for Singapore in the next 20-50 years. me also have a number of questions raised previously, as shown in the thread (link below).

Singapore will not have enough space to accommodate all that population in 20 to 50 years. If 3 million people need 2 more million to keep it from declining in the future, 5 million people will need another 3.5 million and so on and on. The population will get to be very huge. Remember most of the new FTs are like us, they come from a one-child regime and old habits die hard.

When GMS was with WP maybe he could pass your comments up. Now even Ah Ram is not around to take over this role.

Fook Seng

Kinana said:
Sibei bo liao!

How about FT issues that the mad crowd had been crying over? WP has no issue with these? What a joke!

Those questions the PAP would have no answers, extremely bo liao questions.

Fook Seng

Kinana said:
Not suggesting rushing into anything. Why waste time?
All they need to do is to bring up real issues properly. Won't die one, why scared?
Everyone will be able to see.

Those are in fact the questions I need answers so that we can discuss in this forum.

Fook Seng

valiant20 said:
Don't think they will listen to me. I'm a nobody.. :biggrin:

You can try asking them, maybe they will listen to you.. remember to state your name and ic number, including your sammyboy nick! then they will stand up and take notice!

I will stand up and take notice.

When GMS was with WP maybe he could pass your comments up. Now even Ah Ram is not around to take over this role.

bro,
now that you've mentioned, seems like the locals will be totally displaced by 2 generations :(:(:(

tanwahp

bro,
now that you've mentioned, seems like the locals will be totally displaced by 2 generations :(:(:(

WP has "lost" its representation. But it might not be a bad thing. We know this is was a springboard from a pornographic forum. Also better not to get these fellas to represent them. Years ago I felt they were clowns and was quite put off by WP for some time.

Fook Seng

Kinana said:
They actually do. The people without the answers are singkies and WP.

Is that why the Govt is so helpless? A problem created by their policies and there is no answer from anyone?

Fook Seng

tanwahp said:
WP has "lost" its representation. But it might not be a bad thing. We know this is was a springboard from a pornographic forum. Also better not to get these fellas to represent them. Years ago I felt they were clowns and was quite put off by WP for some time.

Honestly speaking, to be fair to WP, what they can do in parliament is not much different what KJ, CSJ and TJS can do outside of parliament, considering the lopsided representation in parliament. There is nothing they can change if PAP decided on something. The only difference is that the govt is obligated to give a response.

Fook Seng

zhihau said:
bro,

Those are the calculations deduced from the Govt's explanation why we need this number of FTs. Those are not my own calculations. I believe in the principle of negative feedback in the natural world as well as in its effect on human interactions.

Kinana

Is that why the Govt is so helpless? A problem created by their policies and there is no answer from anyone?

The problem is not the govt but human nature. All developed countries javelin birth rates. You have the solution sir, go make babies

Fook Seng

Kinana said:
The problem is not the govt but human nature. All developed countries javelin birth rates. You have the solution sir, go make babies

Human beings everywhere they are the same. It is the environment created by the Govt that is different. As to your dare, I have already done my fair share and that was before the Govt created the present stupid environment. You ask me for the solution to this? Simple. Change the government. Dare not? Scared?

tanwahp

Honestly speaking, to be fair to WP, what they can do in parliament is not much different what KJ, CSJ and TJS can do outside of parliament, considering the lopsided representation in parliament. There is nothing they can change if PAP decided on something. The only difference is that the govt is obligated to give a response.

It's to change the government. Any seat you take brings you closer to that goal. WP is 38 seats and 4% away from that. KJ, CSJ and TJS are 44 seats and 14% away. Let's not care what the opposition MP does with the seat.

You want something closer or further? Remember after LTK took over, WP took 10 years to struggle from where KJ, CSJ and TJS was to where it is now.

Tension68

Let's be very clear (in case some ppl haf misconceptions abt wad the opp r doing), having a minority representation in the government means they WILL get out-vetoed or "bombarded" when and if they come out with ideas and suggestions.

We will probably not noe if opp's ideas or suggestions will really be taken seriously by ruling party. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I seem to see the pappies "shoot down" opp's ideas and nvr really accept anything from anyone, other then from their own camp. (I stand to be corrected, as this is my opinion and also on my memmory)

I don't really noe how our parliament works, and am still finding out about it as I go alone.. but unless there are more opp to stand "against" the ruling party, almost anything the pappies want to do will probably pass thru.

Do they really consult us, the citizens and voters? I don't hear or see any "discussion", do you?
Even the "needing a certain number of foreigners to sustain the current sg population" saying is by pappies.. is there any concrete evidence to confirm that ALL foreigners contribute to OUR society? And I'm not talking about growth. That is only a part of a country's make-up to consider.. not the entirety.

Now we hear that pappies "urging" sgs to accept FTs and to find a "balance" so that we can maintain and continue our growth".. GREAT!
So now us S'POREANS HAF TO ADAPT AND ADJUST.. ONCE AGAIN(?)!!

Pappies are jus not listening.. s'poreans dun mind foreigners cleaning tables, in building and construction.. domestic helpers, healthcare (tho I noe of some sg who are keen to take up this profession).. those jobs that S'poreans may not want to consider for a CAREER.

S'poreans DO MIND foreigners taking up executive positions, managerial positions and other higher positions, because WE KNOW where we got our education certs, but some, if not most of the foreigners' education history are in serious question.

I stray abit far from topic.. but I can understand why WP would not want to post the FT question in parliament.. face this possible scenario.. WP or oppo ask the FT question.. and then TCH stand up and asks, "Well, what do you think we should do?" Horrifying.

Then imagine posing suggestions and possibly getting laughed at and shot down even.. sigh.. not a smart thing to do.

Kinana

Singapore will not have enough space to accommodate all that population in 20 to 50 years. If 3 million people need 2 more million to keep it from declining in the future, 5 million people will need another 3.5 million and so on and on. The population will get to be very huge. Remember most of the new FTs are like us, they come from a one-child regime and old habits die hard.

The current population growth was planned and announced more than 10 years ago.
Nobody ever said the population will go to 8.5 million at all. You are shooting a straw man sir.