• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

WP TC responds to the PAP attack on financial statement

tanwahp

HTOLAS

PAP is getting desperate. Its minions (some of them are on this forum) are also getting desperate.

But can you blame them? :biggrin:

1. aiyoh!
2. if the dafter sheep or dogs boh song.
3. make police report mah.
4. simi concern, unhappiness or crap:kma:
5. the half-pail water media is equally daft on such reporting.
6. conveniently overlooking the lemens bros and sis saga hoh:confused:

Haha yeah lor they like to express disappointment, concern etc crap, who cares about what they feel on issues? Any wrong doing they should report police or charge WP in court indeed..

The Minister and the Perm Sec should be fired. They don't even bother to find out more before releasing statements to attack the integrity of the WP TC. Now, these overpaid individuals are made to look like fools.

Here we go again ...the bs from the government. The government is using our taxes to go after its political enemies. And wasting the WPTC resources to refute the allegations of the government.

The WPTC should bill the government for this unnecessary usage of their resources.

After a thorough rebuttal from the WP TC, the MND could only come out with this short response.

So, is the PAP going to snatch the management of the wards and give it to its politicians using this report from the auditor as an excuse to do so?

Here is the follow-up response from the MND:

The AHPETC auditor expressed a disclaimer of opinion on the TC's FY2012 financial statements. This is more severe than a qualified opinion.

In making the disclaimer, the Auditors raised 13 issues of concern.

Of these 13 issues, 4 of them are related to issues the auditor had raised the year before (FY 2011). The TC had assured MND then (15 August 2013) that "most have been rectified, with a few still in progress". The auditor's latest report however showed this not to be the case.

Nine new issues of concern were raised by the auditor for this FY 2012 (viz points 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12 and 13 in the auditor's Basis for Disclaimer of Opinion). These include for instance:

a)the TC did not transfer funds into its Sinking Funds as required under Rule 4(2B)(a) of the Town Councils Financial Rules;

b) the TC did not make available information to the auditors details of project management service fees paid to a related party;

c) the TC did not make available to the auditors its latest management accounts and records of minutes subsequent to the financial year end, to allow the auditors to ascertain if the TC's financial statements properly reflected any required adjustments or disclosures made.

Such failures are not related to handover issues.

WP TC's response to the original PAP's allegation

We refer to the media statement by the Ministry of National Development (MND) released on the evening of 13 February 2014. Therein, MND highlighted various concerns regarding the auditor's report on the financial statements of Aljunied-Hougang Town Council (AHTC) for Financial Year 2012. As MND's observations as stated are incomplete and will mislead the public, it is therefore necessary to put the MND's statement in proper perspective.

The auditors have given us a qualified report. It is not an adverse report. They have also stated clearly that apart from their specific observations, our books, accounts and records have been kept in accordance with the Town Councils Act. The full audited report can be found at www.ahpetc.sg.

In its media statement, MND highlighted the auditors' inability to verify certain figures. We do understand the auditors' plight, as there were information gaps that existed at the handover after the General Election 2011 which to date are still not filled.

At FY 2011, the auditors had tried to request information from former auditors, unsuccessfully. Repeated attempts by the Town Council (TC) to obtain information from the former Managing Agent (MA) and government authorities, such as asking MND / the Housing and Development Board regarding $1.12 million which the PAP-run Aljunied TC had recorded as receivables from the Citizens Consultative Committees (CCCs) for Town Improvement Projects, did not yield answers.

Attempts in FY 2012 to get the information were also unsuccessful. Unless those agencies with the required information furnish them to the TC, it is likely that information gaps will remain and the accounts will continue to be qualified every year. In this regard, we note that MND could well be the best party to assist the TC to resolve some of the key information gaps.

We refer next to the transfer of monies to the TC Sinking Fund in FY 2012. We acknowledge that the TC's practice of transferring monies to the Sinking Fund after deducting Sinking Fund expenses was an oversight, which has since been rectified. This oversight did not result in any loss of monies nor unauthorized spending. The auditors' advice has been taken to ensure a physical transfer of monies from the Operating Fund of the TC to the Sinking Fund every quarter from now on.

Mass media reports have repeated past insinuations of impropriety in the TC awarding the MA contract to FM Solutions and Services Pte Ltd (FMSS). These must be debunked.

MND's media statement highlighted the auditors' observations that project management fees to a related party had not been separately disclosed in the accounts. It is standard practice for TCs which engage MAs, including PAP TCs, to include project management as part of the MA services awarded. As far as we know, TC financial statements do not specify separate reporting for project management fees paid, as these are reported as construction costs for the project or Sinking Fund expenditure. In any event, AHPETC submits quarterly returns to MND on any new contracts awarded to MAs. We are thus puzzled by the auditors' observation as to why this leads to a qualification of the accounts, but more puzzled by why MND sees this as an issue.

It is useful to set out, again, the circumstances leading to the appointment of FMSS as MA for AHTC. Post General Election in May 2011, there was an urgent need to put in place a new MA for Aljunied GRC, as the incumbent MA had indicated its wish to be released from the MA contract. At the same time, the Town Council Management System (TCMS) had been sold to Action Information Management Pte Ltd (AIM), a company wholly-owned by the People's Action Party, and could be terminated anytime with one month's notice.

The TC determined that there was no time to call a tender under these circumstances, and the most prudent course of action was to plan for a tender in a year's time after the proper completion of handing over was better assured. The TC then decided to appoint FMSS, which comprised key staff from the former Hougang TC, to manage the newly gazetted Aljunied-Hougang Town.

FMSS was appointed without tender for only ONE year, a transitional period, principally to oversee key tasks of the handover, using the same rates as the former MA appointed by the PAP for Aljunied TC. An open tender was then called in 2012 for a customary 3-year contract.

Although three companies picked up the tender documents, only FMSS submitted a tender. The tender was rigorously evaluated and subject to a special audit. Accordingly, any allegation of impropriety is utterly rejected. Nevertheless, as indicated previously, any authority or anyone believing there was wrongdoing should report the matter to the Corrupt Practices Investigation Bureau with whom the TC will fully co-operate.

At this point, we continue to fine-tune the town management accounting systems as we operate live on a daily basis. As MND has expressed its concerns over our accounts, we seek its assistance in resolving the issues raised by our auditor, by helping us verify and confirm the various opening figures handed over from the former Aljunied TC. We also welcome any audit by MND which it deems necessary.

palden

So many lame excuses. They are wasting precious time of our Millionsters to point out where they are wrong. WP screwing themselves up again. They just want to collect their salary doing nothing and maximize their lobang so while it last. Vote out WP in 2016!

Workers' Party says government statement on its town council finances incomplete

Here is WP's statement:

We refer to the media statement by the Ministry of National Development (MND) released on the evening of 13 February 2014. Therein, MND highlighted various concerns regarding the auditor's report on the financial statements of Aljunied-Hougang Town Council (AHTC) for Financial Year 2012. As MND's observations as stated are incomplete and will mislead the public, it is therefore necessary to put the MND's statement in proper perspective.

The auditors have given us a qualified report. It is not an adverse report. They have also stated clearly that apart from their specific observations, our books, accounts and records have been kept in accordance with the Town Councils Act. The full audited report can be found at www.ahpetc.sg.

In its media statement, MND highlighted the auditors' inability to verify certain figures. We do understand the auditors' plight, as there were information gaps that existed at the handover after the General Election 2011 which to date are still not filled.

At FY 2011, the auditors had tried to request information from former auditors, unsuccessfully. Repeated attempts by the Town Council (TC) to obtain information from the former Managing Agent (MA) and government authorities, such as asking MND / the Housing and Development Board regarding $1.12 million which the PAP-run Aljunied TC had recorded as receivables from the Citizens Consultative Committees (CCCs) for Town Improvement Projects, did not yield answers.

Attempts in FY 2012 to get the information were also unsuccessful. Unless those agencies with the required information furnish them to the TC, it is likely that information gaps will remain and the accounts will continue to be qualified every year. In this regard, we note that MND could well be the best party to assist the TC to resolve some of the key information gaps.

We refer next to the transfer of monies to the TC Sinking Fund in FY 2012. We acknowledge that the TC's practice of transferring monies to the Sinking Fund after deducting Sinking Fund expenses was an oversight, which has since been rectified. This oversight did not result in any loss of monies nor unauthorized spending. The auditors' advice has been taken to ensure a physical transfer of monies from the Operating Fund of the TC to the Sinking Fund every quarter from now on.

Mass media reports have repeated past insinuations of impropriety in the TC awarding the MA contract to FM Solutions and Services Pte Ltd (FMSS). These must be debunked.

oratedar

So many lame excuses. They are wasting precious time of our Millionsters to point out where they are wrong. WP screwing themselves up again. They just want to collect their salary doing nothing and maximize their lobang so while it last. Vote out WP in 2016!

Nutcase

You support. Who? nsp, sdp, rp? Vote wp out? Ask your party go any wards in ahpetc for multi corner fight lor.

Source: The Real Singapore

ALJUNIED RESIDENT CHALLENGES MND TO SUE AHPETC
Post date: 15 Feb 2014 - 1:50pm

I refer to the article “Auditors unable to fully verify AHPETC accounts for second year; MND concerned” (Straits Times, Feb 14).

The Ministry of National Development has expressed concern that independent auditors have been unable to fully verify Aljunied-Hougang-Punggol East Town Council’s (AHPETC) accounts for the second year in a row.

In a press statement on Thursday, the ministry noted that the town council had not complied with some provisions of the Town Councils Act and the Town Councils Financial Rules, as reported by the independent auditor.

As a resident of Aljunied, I would like to make some comments on the subject issue.

But first, I would like to make a qualification, just as auditors routinely make qualifications in their audit and annual reports.

I am commenting as a resident of Aljunied and as a Singaporean, and not in the context of having qualified as a Chartered Secretary (former Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators), former Accredited Investment Fiduciary Auditor and past president of the Society of Financial Service Professionals. It has also been a very long time since I was involved in annual reports or matters relating to corporate governance.

In the qualifications that auditors routinely make in annual reports – I understand that if there was a serious breach of statutory duties and responsibilities – the directors and officers responsible may be taken to task or even charged in court.

Since as I understand it – this is the second year in a row and more than a year has lapsed since Aljunied’s previous governance issues – why is it that Aljunied has not been taken to task or charged in court by the relevant authorities?

You mean “expressing concern” is all that you can do for a second year – and you are not going to anything about it?

If I may use an analogy – things are getting out of proportion. If Aljunied town council and even stallholders can be charged in court over a small matter like the Chinese New Year trade fair – why is it that no action whatsoever has been taken against Aljunied town council over governance irregularities involving millions of dollars of residents’ money?

With regard to AHPETC having only submitted its audited financial statement for the financial year ended March 31 2013 on Monday, six months later than the Aug 31 deadline - AHPETC chairman Sylvia Lim has acknowledged these issues, and said in the town council annual report that preparing the financial statements “continued to be a challenge” because of “handover issues that required more time to resolve”.

In fact AHPETC said in their media release in November that in “the area of Corporate Governance, our banding is listed as ‘pending’ mainly because our auditors are still in the midst of finalising our FY12 financial statements. We understand that the issues being addressed include complexities resulting from the handover legacy, classification and treatment issues, year-end adjustments, and others. We appointed the auditors in early May 2011 and we hope the audit will be completed soon”.

Aren’t “handover” issues arguably as much related to both the handing over and receiving parties?

If I may use the analogy of the honourable Minister who so rightly said (something along the lines) in his much acclaimed speech in Parliament on the issue of “hawker centres’ cleaning” that if what he said was untrue, he would waive his rights and asked Aljunied MPs to sue him.

Perhaps it is time for my town council’s MPs to say something along the same lines – like if we have breached our statutory or fiduciary duties and responsibilities – sue us – but don’t keep repeating through our 150th Press freedom ranking media like “a broken tape recorder”!

Now let me as a resident of Aljunied become “a broken tape recorder” and ask again the following questions:

… Why is it that under Section 34 of the Town Council Act, when a different party takes over a town council after an election – 100% of the accumulated operating surplus has to be transferred to the sinking fund. This in effect, deprives the residents of the surplus for operating expenditure.

… Why is it that some town council facilities were transferred to the People’s Association after the last general elections?

… Why is it that a $2 company (AIM) was set up – which as it turned out required my town council to source for a new software system. This may cost more money which may come from the residents at the end of the day.

… Why did you keep threatening us in the previous elections (prior to the last one) that if we did not vote for you – our HDB flats would not be upgraded?

And even now with upgrading in opposition wards – it still involves the Grassroots Advisor who typically is the losing candidate.

Leong Sze Hian

*Leong is the Past President of the Society of Financial Service Professionals, an alumnus of Harvard University, has authored 4 books, quoted over 1500 times in the media , has been host of a money radio show, a daily newspaper column, Wharton Fellow, SEACeM Fellow, columnist for Malaysiakini, executive producer of the movie Ilo Ilo (24 international awards). He has served as Honorary Consul of Jamaica and founding advisor to the Financial Planning Associations of Brunei and Indonesia. He has 3 Masters, 2 Bachelors and 13 professional qualifications.

The Minister and the Perm Sec should be fired. They don't even bother to find out more before releasing statements to attack the integrity of the WP TC. Now, these overpaid individuals are made to look like fools.

Everything and everyone is on autopilot in govt.
Everyone assumes the deputy clown down the line is doing his job.
Fish rots from the top.

Sylvia to Cheap Shot Cow - Get MND to audit us

Ms Lim then challenged MND, “Accordingly, any allegation of impropriety is utterly rejected. Nevertheless, as indicated previously, any authority or anyone believing there was wrongdoing should report the matter to the Corrupt Practices Investigation Bureau with whom the TC will fully co-operate.”

With regard to MND’s highlighting the auditors’ observations that project management fees to a related party had not been separately disclosed in the accounts, Ms Lim said that it is a standard practice for TCs which engage MAs, including PAP TCs, to include project management as part of the MA services awarded.

“As far as we know, TC financial statements do not specify separate reporting for project management fees paid, as these are reported as construction costs for the project or Sinking Fund expenditure. In any event, AHPETC submits quarterly returns to MND on any new contracts awarded to MAs. We are thus puzzled by the auditors’ observation as to why this leads to a qualification of the accounts, but more puzzled by why MND sees this as an issue,” she added.

Ms Lim then threw the ball back at MND, “At this point, we continue to fine-tune the town management accounting systems as we operate live on a daily basis. As MND has expressed its concerns over our accounts, we seek its assistance in resolving the issues raised by our auditor, by helping us verify and confirm the various opening figures handed over from the former Aljunied TC. We also welcome any audit by MND which it deems necessary.”

- http://www.tremeritus.com/2014/02/15/ahpetc-to-mnd-we-need-figures-from-you/