• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

WP rebuffs SDP's joint campaign proposal

alantan27

The Workers' Party (WP) said on Saturday it will stick to its own plans to contest in Punggol East, in response to a proposal from the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) to field a “unity candidate” for the by-election.

“The Workers' Party has noted SDP's proposal. Our focus continues to be fulfilling our promise to offer a choice to voters in Punggol East,” said WP media team chair Mr Gerald Giam in a short e-mailed answer to The Straits Times early Saturday morning.

The party was responding to a proposal tabled by SDP on Friday to conduct a joint campaign where a SDP candidate would be fielded.

If elected, he would push SDP policies in Parliament and chair the town council, while the WP would run the council's daily operations.

This is the second time WP has rebuffed SDP's advances.

Earlier in the week, the SDP had asked to meet the WP to discuss how to avoid a three-cornered fight, to which WP chairman Sylvia Lim said her party would contest in the election.

The SDP's proposal drew flak from netizens yesterday, who left comments on the SDP's website and Facebook pages criticising the idea as unfairly benefitting SDP.

“If elected, the SDP MP gets a seat and the WP does the work. Please educate me as to how this is a 'compromise',” said one netizen called UncleJames Lee on SDP's Facebook page.

The SDP defended its proposal last night in a comment on its website, saying it would add another party's voice to Parliament.

“The reason why we proposed such an arrangement is that WP already has MPs in Parliament. An MP from the SDP would add another party's voice to the debate.

“That said, this is a proposal. We would be happy to discuss alternative arrangements. The important point is that SDP and WP should talk and work things out in the spirit of compromise and cooperation to avoid a three-corner fight,” it said.

The WP could reveal its candidate for Punggol East as early as Saturday. Party insiders have tipped Mr Giam, its Non-Constituency MP, as the front runner.

hahaha.....the party insiders are wrong....my idol said LLL had already been confirmed.

“That said, this is a proposal. We would be happy to discuss alternative arrangements. The important point is that SDP and WP should talk and work things out in the spirit of compromise and cooperation to avoid a three-corner fight,” it said.

to those sdp supporters, you have been complaining that PAP treat the people of Singapore as idiots, are you trying to say that SDP aint doing the same?

SDP wants the glory but they want WP to clean up the shit, so now who is the one playing elite?

PAP has been doing this to Singapore for the past 20 years, putting down singapoeans as unequals and inferiors, we do not need a PAP-mini (SDP) to do that same.

The Workers' Party (WP) said on Saturday it will stick to its own plans to contest in Punggol East, in response to a proposal from the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) to field a “unity candidate” for the by-election.

The WP are really doondu in not talking to other opposition parties. It is so difficult to come together and choose one candidate to defeat the PAP? If WP lose this BE bcos of their arrogance, they will regret their decision.

sdp, pls lah...if u wanna enter parliament, do it the hard way via contesting dun try to ride on coat tails. if not this rnd then work the grounds find the right ppl

hahaha.....the party insiders are wrong....my idol said LLL had already been confirmed.

If this is really true, LLL vs Dr Paul Thambyah or Vincent Wije, WP will lose. LLL is not even half the standard of PT or VW or Dr Ang.

I want to see a more capable MP who can speak up for the ppl than another quiet subservient type no different from the papzis.

So WP did reply SDP/CSJ earlier "INVITATION", saying it would (continue to) contest PE BE.

Either WP replied in some strange foreign language or it used very, very bombastic wordings to express itself, so much so that SDP/CSJ could not understand the meaning of those words.

What do you think?

So WP did reply SDP/CSJ earlier "INVITATION", saying it would (continue to) contest PE BE.

Either WP replied in some strange foreign language or it used very, very bombastic wordings to express itself, so much so that SDP/CSJ could not understand the meaning of those words.

What do you think?

"WP chairman Sylvia Lim said her party would contest in the election" in response to Jufrie Mahmood's invitation to lunch.
That is a clear decline for discussion. Either it was beyond JM's comprehension or SDP has only one agenda, to force WP to talk.

If this is really true, LLL vs Dr Paul Thambyah or Vincent Wije, WP will lose. LLL is not even half the standard of PT or VW or Dr Ang.

I want to see a more capable MP who can speak up for the ppl than another quiet subservient type no different from the papzis.

Got to be realistic, WP mps and candidates just do not have the calibre to be an alternative voice for the sinkies.

Just look at their performance the last 18 months, even on issue like constitution laws which 3 of their 6 mps are lawyers, they are silent.

Dr Chee is right, national issue SDP to be the alternative voice and policies.

Clean the toilets, sweep the streets and keep the estate clean, WP is up this alley.

Win Win for all

The WP are really doondu in not talking to other opposition parties. It is so difficult to come together and choose one candidate to defeat the PAP? If WP lose this BE bcos of their arrogance, they will regret their decision.

Methink you are a blind SDP follower.

I may be blind but the WP are fools not to sit with the other oppos for unified action. Who does WP think they are? Arrogance and aloof as the papzis? I am not blind to see this.

We can do away with one less or three more of their subservient MPs and nothing would change. Would adding another one more change things?

CSJ has proven to be worse than GMS. GMS at most bitched around this forum for MK GRC. It never wise to use the media to get the message across to the other party. Had he done everything behind the scene, it wouldn't make him look so stupid to everyone no matter how idiotic his proposal was.

What is he really thinking. Did he really believe that but broadcasting everything to the public will make WP appear unreasonable to the public and thereby exert the pressure for WP to negotiate? If that his ploy, it backfired badly.

scroobal said:
It is between SDP and WP. It will depend on the candidates offered by both parties. If it is JJ, SDP will yield but will seek concession or promise for 2016. WP will agree to the promise or concession if VW is the candidate proposed. If JJ is not the candidate offered, and SDP offers VW, WP will yield. Both sides will walk away with great amount of goodwill. I don't see any other scenario being played.
hahaha...csj damn kuku...never consult scroobal...
he should make clear in his letter that vw will be the candidate and wp will agree to give way....
pse go to the other thread on punggol Leader Board to have a good laugh....all the anal-ysis.....

I may be blind but the WP are fools not to sit with the other oppos for unified action. Who does WP think they are? Arrogance and aloof as the papzis? I am not blind to see this. We can do away with one less or three more of their subservient MPs and nothing would change. Would adding another one more change things?

If SDP is sincere you need to present a proposal that your comrade cannot refuse, not one that they cannot accept.
Please understand WP also has to answer to their supporters... accepting a proposal like this will make the WP look really stupid.
Just look at all the comments on cyberspace... if you are honest with yourself you know the proposal is crap.

hahaha...csj damn kuku...never consult scroobal...
he should make clear in his letter that vw will be the candidate and wp will agree to give way....
pse go to the other thread on punggol Leader Board to have a good laugh....all the anal-ysis.....

Just saw what is in kukubird's signature. He'll resign from sbf if it is a straight fight.

Please god make this a straight fight.

Hello bro Lemans, it is not whether supporters will accept or not. It is for the future of opposition politics. WP cannot half debate in parleement. Why put in another quiescent MP?

The ppl of sinkieland need no further reps who cant stand up for them? Hope you understand this!

CSJ has proven to be worse than GMS. GMS at most bitched around this forum for MK GRC. It never wise to use the media to get the message across to the other party. Had he done everything behind the scene, it wouldn't make him look so stupid to everyone no matter how idiotic his proposal was.

What is he really thinking. Did he really believe that but broadcasting everything to the public will make WP appear unreasonable to the public and thereby exert the pressure for WP to negotiate? If that his ploy, it backfired badly.

The reason probably made more sense when it got cooked up in his own mind. In his mind it was probably a subtle and crafty reason. Maybe he felt like he had to justify a three corner fight by making it look like at least he tried to negotiate.

It is very dangerous to stick out your neck and pull a stunt like that if you don't know what's going to happen. If you don't know how the public is going to react, how WP is going to react, or most likely, how your own people are going to react.

Is Punggol East A Teochew Village ?

I think you have to wonder whether Punggol East is another Teochew enclave before WP can fully take advantage of their similarity as a selling point to its residents.

With the pace that WP was going and their recent bad reputation as the PAP's subsidiary who upz LHL and gangs paychecks will not go well with his "slap the driver" promise during the last GE. And the recent sex scandal will also not go well with some voters too. They have little to gain by voting WP in too - not big enough like a GRC to fight PAP head on ?

In this case, a brand new SDP can be something refreshing here. But, are they worried about PAP's 'chow kwan' way of dealing with those who go against them ?

What about Nicole Seah's Party ?

Just saw what is in kukubird's signature. He'll resign from sbf if it is a straight fight.

Please god make this a straight fight.
hahaha.....why u so bad...
i put this many weeks ago.....
i am prepared to go if this happens.

It is not that the opposition should come together to choose one candidate to defeat the PAP. There is a time for that, and that time is 2015, 1 year before 2016, everybody sits down with a map of Singapore and they decide you take this, I take that. That is the time for this so-called "opposition unity" to take place.

WP contested this ward and won 40% in 2011. Therefore they have proven their mettle in the past by pushing the PAP a certain distance. Therefore they have FIRST RIGHT OF REFUSAL on Punggol East. Because POSSESSION IS NINE TENTHS OF THE LAW. Therefore, if it were a place that RP contested before that is vacated, then it is expected that other opposition parties put up their candidates only if RP vacates. It is not about who is the "best" party who can send in the "best" people. It is about common courtesy, respect for the rules, gentlemanly and mature conduct.

This common courtesy is the real meaning of "opposition unity". "Opposition unity" means "you don't come onto my turf until I have announced to the whole world that it is no longer my turf".