Wow such high pay!

Before the wage increase, they were making a mere $3.43 an hour, assuming a 40-hr work week! A meal would chew up two hours of their wages! World-class living indeed.

Jermyn Chow
The Straits Times
Tuesday, Aug 13, 2013

SINGAPORE - The 240 airport trolley handlers are now earning up to $1,000, up from their monthly pay of $550 to as much as $1,000. Their increase in pay depends on their work attendance and performance.

its disgusting that they were earning $550 before and we are told we have swiss standard of living...

fuck and/ or FOO k the rich ass holes who think like that. its ok to have money, but don't use it to keep others "in their place"

Never knew $550 was their salary. Would have thought at least 1k before OT and other allowances. Meals and transport, what's left after that? Still dare to report in the newspapers. Seepay siasuay and malu.

Before the wage increase, they were making a mere $3.43 an hour, assuming a 40-hr work week! A meal would chew up two hours of their wages! World-class living indeed.
The phrase "as much as" or "up to" is deceptive when you read it please beware....they say "as much as $1000" really means nothing

Agree. This type of wording is machiam saying taxi drivers can make $7k per month....if driving 20 hours everyday non stop for one whole month.

Never knew $550 was their salary. Would have thought at least 1k before OT and other allowances. Meals and transport, what's left after that? Still dare to report in the newspapers. Seepay siasuay and malu.

When there is 'noise' to say that even $1k per month is a pittance....
Rest assured the trusty msm will jump in to showcase model worker raising family of 4 on this salary.....and can even buy a new 4 room flat.....surreal stories machiam from another dimension.

Agree.

Ii is really pitiful. Some of them I have seen is really old and weak in their 70s. I shudder to think if they release our CPF at age 75 which may not be inconceivable. As it is now, they have postponed the disbursement from 55 to 65.

Ii is really pitiful. Some of them I have seen is really old and weak in their 70s.

I have chatted with some of them. You know what? They have voted for LEEgime at every general election. So do I pity them? No. Serves them right.

Err..for one thousand a month these serving serfs can buy a HDBeee leh according to some Ministars so of course they vote Papeeee lah! Hehehehehehe

Did they tell you, that they enjoyed earning so much that they will work till they are 71 & the PAP is the best?

kopiuncle and leongsam laud the PAP for this!

They are so ignorant ...they are fed crap on TV, radio and newspaper. Show them that there is a better world out there and that sinkapore is supposed to be a first world country.

When gov ask other to increase wage. Their own GIC give shit salary.

Assume chee bye la, they work 4-6 hrs and avg pay is 5-6. Better than Mc cuz no need tahan asshole like u order mean and act as if eating in restaurant.

and one has to foo king eternally grateful to the richer and more powerful always

WTF earning $550.00 per month that has been under paid and exploited by the contractors
now pay $1k so much news! Earn $1k in Sinkieland u can't survived, one bloody plate of mee
goreng already hitting $3.00 PPL who earn $3.8million keep quiet!!
White Maggot few % increase for these poor Cart pusher can survived for many years!!

Shitty Times really suck big time!!

WTF earning $550.00 per month that has been under paid and exploited by the contractors
now pay $1k so much news!

wow almost 100% increase, now, who dare say singapore is not an elderlies parardise???????