• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

World-renowned opera conductor come back SG, fight for delivery jobs with the m&ds!?

Cottonmouth

World-renowned opera conductor now Singapore food delivery rider
https://www.nst.com.my/world/world/2...delivery-rider
https://forums.fuckwarezone.com.sg/images/statusicon/wol_error.gifThis image has been resized.Click to view original image

FOR several years, I worked as a conductor based in Russia, specialising in opera and ballet, and performing around the world, winning some accolades along the way.

Today, I am a food delivery rider for Foodpanda.

After finishing my national service, I won a scholarship in 2011 to study music in London before moving to Saint Petersburg in Russia with an FJ Benjamin-Singapore Symphony Orchestra bursary to complete my postgraduate studies in conducting in 2013.

https://forums.fuckwarezone.com.sg/images/statusicon/wol_error.gifThis image has been resized.Click to view original image

I was a prize winner at several conducting competitions, and an assistant conductor to leading French conductor Yan Pascal Tortelier with the Iceland Symphony Orchestra and BBC Philharmonic.

I was also the first Asian and foreign assistant conductor of the Perm Opera and Ballet Theatre, near Russia's Ural mountains, which ranks just behind the famous Mariinsky and Bolshoi Theatres in Russia, and the first to open the Linkhovoin Opera Festival in Russia on its 80th anniversary.

Before the Covid-19 outbreak, I was the permanent guest conductor of the Mariinsky Theatre North Ossetia-Alania Branch, a well-known theatre in south-western Russia just across the border from Georgia, and a Riccardo Muti conducting fellow at the Spring Festival in Tokyo – Tokyo Opera Nomori.

I was usually well booked as I travelled from engagement to engagement, working with opera houses, ballet companies, and orchestras in Russia and Europe.

As performance venues went into lockdown and closure, I had no engagements nor cancellation fee for more than 10 months, and started to take on other jobs such as teaching music privately and in seminars online over Zoom.

Even though restrictions began to ease throughout Europe at the end of last year, the majority of orchestras started to opt for local conductors, and at the same time, promote new and upcoming young homegrown conductors instead of inviting foreign guest conductors like myself.

With the second wave of Covid-19 hitting many parts of the world late last year and having used up my savings, as well as feeling homesick, I decided to look for suitable jobs back home in Singapore.

I returned in December, and despite applying for more than 40 jobs, including sales, management, and academic positions, I received rejections from every single one of them.

As I have been overseas for many years, I was also ineligible for any government relief schemes in Singapore.

Facing financial instability, I found myself feeling depressed and anxious. I was constantly feeling frustrated and dejected.

Wanting to do something more useful, I applied to deliver food for Foodpanda, and have been doing so since January.

Working eight to 10 hour shifts four to five times a week is extremely tiring and can be dangerous as we rush between deliveries, especially during the rainy days as we work rain or shine.

It has been only two months, but I have sprained both ankles and a wrist in a couple of small accidents on my second-hand kick scooter, as I did not have a budget for a bicycle.

I often receive a huge smile and a "thank you so very much" after a delivery, and occasionally those to whom I deliver food offer me a cold drink and some snacks on a hot day.

Because of the gratitude I have received, and the different perspectives and insights while encountering people in different situations and from all walks of life, I have grown more introspective, and developed a clearer sense of purpose.

Having others appreciating us delivery riders bolsters our self-esteem, and in turn gives us greater self-acceptance which improves our emotional well-being.

This job has given me a lot more courage, strength, happiness, and also made me feel calmer and more contented, knowing that I have continued to bring a little joy to people's lives, just as I used to do through music.

The job is about the money, but at the same time it has brought me back to my roots and reminded me that it is about doing something good while you are at it.

As my mentor, the great Italian conductor Riccardo Muti once said: "Music is important not because it is an entertainment. Music is not only a profession but is a mission. That is why we do this work. A mission to make society better."

It is a common misconception that conductors, or maestros, live in our musical ivory towers, impervious to the outside world.

A maestro is also a cultural worker. Like everyone else, we have been affected by the global pandemic. Many of us performing artists constantly face new challenges and hardship while we try to continue our passion in music.

We are all fearful for our future and, while some of us are already back on stage, many still face the complex challenge of performing in a physically-distanced set-up and venue, while others who are still not able to resume due to the restrictions in place have taken up other jobs to tide us over in these extraordinary times.

Nevertheless, I still continue to explore opportunities in the music sector in Singapore, such as organising a workshop to share the art of operatic and ballet conducting with a live ensemble, and continuing to give masterclasses and seminars in creative practice.

I am optimistic that the decrease in new infections around the world will continue, while the global vaccine rollout will continue to increase.

Opera houses in Russia and Europe have begun to open again, and even though things will not be the same as they were before any time soon, I hope that the governments around the world will understand that the performing arts are the spiritual sustenance we all need.

Despite the restrictions, there is a glimmer of hope for me to return to performing, as I am still engaged to make my operatic debut at the Spring Festival in Tokyo with Verdi's Macbeth in April, and also a series of operas at the Mariinsky Theatre North Ossetia-Alania.

Conductors are in many ways citizens of the world, but Singapore still remains home to me. I hope that the country will be a place to provide opportunities for me to develop and nurture my skills. – TODAY ONLINE

gingerlyn

His name is unique. Yellow skin but without any yellow sir name ? What’s wrong to have Singaporeans yellow sir name such as Ang Bong, Chew, Teo, Ong, Lim, Tan ?

frontier

For classical musicians, those who are willing to teach are paid very well. If they opt for a performing career path, it is tougher.

kaninabuchaojibye

since he's back, please serve him a saf100 and get him back for reservist ict
he must have siam many reservist icts already.
payback time hor

This type of people makes malays poorer by cutting their market share. Why can't he busk at mrt station like malays in KL or london? I am sure he can earn a decent income doing it.

KNN being a ex musician my uncle think music conductor is a conman job KNN when my uncle was playing the music he or all his co players only watchout for the conductor when to start only KNN my uncle further confirmed it when 1 of my uncle's friend became a conductor for his church choir without trained in music KNN basically they just need to know when and which part of the music notes need to have crescendo by which instrument or singer and know which part of the concert area they are seated that's all KNN
KNN the trick to a successful non trained conductor is to first to know the music piece and which part has emphasise on which instruments then you can 至我发灰 smiling and floating and doing flowery moves KNN mostly there is a standard seating arrangement gai KNN typical ones are wind wood instruments all in front baritone trombones playing the counter melody and French horn 2nd row KNN 3rd row left the saxophonist right the bassist center the trumpets KNN last row the percussionist KNN

Morale of this story....don't pick a career that has no hope.
Yes. That's a worrying trend for younger sinkies. An arts degree really cannot put food on the table especially in sinkapore. Many of my friends children are seemingly taking that road and I am screaming inside.

Maybe I'm just old fashioned

This type of people makes malays poorer by cutting their market share. Why can't he busk at mrt station like malays in KL or london? I am sure he can earn a decent income doing it.
yeah I really want to see a conductor busk in public... Wave.his arms to music blaring from a portable speaker LOL

countryman

Why does he need to be back in SG since he has already settled down in St.Petersburg?
He can always be a private music teacher or do something else in the music industry.. Why is he competing for food delivery jobs?

Why does he need to be back in SG since he has already settled down in St.Petersburg?
He can always be a private music teacher or do something else in the music industry.. Why is he competing for food delivery jobs?
Imagine teaching imbeciles music. When you are already at the top.twinker twinker litter starrr

bushtucker

as if there aren't any food delivery services in Russia. probably he is a weakling who cannot tahan the cold Russian winters.