• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Workers' Party voicing out people's needs in parliament? Sure boh?

Even Worker's party says that we need 5million+ in Singapore. Sure it beats having 6.9 million but is that acceptable? You all think loh.

Unless Worker's party can come up with a comprehensive and workable plan to REDUCE the population and deport foreigners, they can never be considered to be a viable party.

Politics is choosing the lesser of many evils. No party is going to be of your complete delight.

tanwahp

Worker's party has already accepted the status quo. The PAP's status quo.

The WP would have simply echoed PAP's 6.9 million instead of saying 5.9 million if that was true.

But assuming you are right, what would WP's intention to please the PAP be? All we have heard from this angle are conspiracy theories.

Some of you are real idiots. :rolleyes:

Singapore has a first-past-the-post electoral system. Mathematically, political parties with a more extremist bent will inevitably fall by the wayside.

WP's main role now is to convince those less hardcore supporters of the PAP to switch over. That's all that matters.

[video=youtube;s7tWHJfhiyo]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s7tWHJfhiyo[/video]

And enough of the 'what has WP done lately' bullshit from you PAP shills (you know who you are). When you have a few WP people becoming full ministers and a credible non-partisan labour movement (hint: the NTUC is not one), then, and only then, are you allowed to express your opinion on their performance.

Clone

The two statements are contradictory.

It is exactly because WP does not want to be another PAP that they declare that they are not ready to form the government. (They have never said they will never ever want to form government or want PAP to be in power forever.)

Frankly they know not all its 9 MPs are ministerial calibre, some are and some are MP material only.

Rather than give you the PAP type of sub-standard minister, they want to wait until they have really attracted enough correct people.

If substandard ones can also be ministers, why still need to wait? Bureaucrats run the show, not politicians.

tanwahp

If substandard ones can also be ministers, why still need to wait? Bureaucrats run the show, not politicians.

Not entirely. If only bureaucrats matter, we wouldn't be arguing over whether PAP is good or should be voted out.

sochi2014

Chio or not? Mai Tu Leow!! Faster Grab!!

iE.b2KELeDvk_2.jpg

Re: Chio or not? Mai Tu Leow!! Faster Grab!!

Hi Kopisai...just up your own clone to 120? hahaha :biggrin:

Poomer

Our labour MPs are doing all sorts of things to push for better employment and wages for our sinkies. What did Workers' party do? Whining and complaining doesnt help hor. Pls come up with a solution instead of kpkbing can?

View attachment 14625

No wonder the wages of most people are still stagnant, income gap is widening, and more foreigners are brought in. Our labour MPs must be hard at work. :rolleyes:

You realise that after all the flowery words and fancy acronyms, you realise that Singapore's unions just do what they do best, talk some cock about championing the worker's cause, while watching on approvingly as the government continues to marginalise Singaporean workers because without a doubt, they know which side butters their bread.

Isogallardo

No wonder the wages of most people are still stagnant, income gap is widening, and more foreigners are brought in. Our labour MPs must be hard at work. :rolleyes:

You realise that after all the flowery words and fancy acronyms, you realise that Singapore's unions just do what they do best, talk some cock about championing the worker's cause, while watching on approvingly as the government continues to marginalise Singaporean workers because without a doubt, they know which side butters their bread.

Income gap widening? i wonder why Gini coefficient says otherwise...
http://m.todayonline.com/singapore/income-gap-shrinks-first-time-four-years

Wages stagnant? I wonder why there is income growth then,
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/unemployment-remains-low/972346.html

More foreigners? Why are businesses finding harder to find foreign workers?
http://www.cnbc.com/id/101056686

hmmmm...

Isogallardo

i also wonder what is all the increment of CPF, the changing of the Employment Act..etc.. all these just talk only lo. Ya very smart.

tanwahp

Income gap widening? i wonder why Gini coefficient says otherwise...
http://m.todayonline.com/singapore/income-gap-shrinks-first-time-four-years

It doesn't say "otherwise", it says it managed to reverse a position to 4 years ago after rising for more than 4 years.
http://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/singapore-income-inequality-rise-dept-135226813.html

Maybe not most, but 20%.
http://sg.news.yahoo.com/mom-report...-poreans--pay-stagnated-over-last-decade.html

More foreigners? Why are businesses finding harder to find foreign workers?
http://www.cnbc.com/id/101056686

Apparently this chart shows that foreigners went from 38.2% in 2012 to 38.6% in 2013. Maybe these businesses don't know how to do business?
http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/singapores-population-growth-slows-0

Clone

Not entirely. If only bureaucrats matter, we wouldn't be arguing over whether PAP is good or should be voted out.

Is there even a need to argue?Governing a country is not exactly rocket science. Most of the time, muddling through suffices.

Whether you muddle through is inconsequential.

However, when you let one group of people, one faction or any one family have absolute power for too long, bad things tend to happen. Very bad things.

kingrant

Let's hear a piece of the classic Low Thia Kiang who asked the Health Minister in parliament:

Would queuing for a hospital bed be one of the activity of active ageing for seniors?

Are we moving from Third world to First and then back to Third world all in one generation? (ref to hospital beds in tents, Little India riot, Woodlands cockups...)

Classic LTK! He always gets my vote!