• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Workers' Party did well in terms of overall popular vote (head to head contest with PAP). PAP is marginally behind WP for overall popular vote share

Smaller opposition parties often rejected the idea of the by-election strategy & always wanted to give people a chance to vote :rolleyes: without realising the people dun want them to contest in their constituency.

Many of them lost their deposits :frown:

Walkovers is good in time of uncertainty :D
PAP loves mosquito parties. It has a extra bonus effect on their overall popular vote share % because voters don't have a competitive choice other than to vote PAP.

Who wants a mosquito party to run a town council and screw things up for 5 years. Pretty obvious isn't it.

Had all these mosquito parties not exist, with Unelectables fucking off from GE scene, PAP overall popular vote share dramatically drops.

u got see some of their candidates? machiam like backside big big sit pmd deliver food pattern.

All I know is these Unelectables lacked self awareness and are mostly opportunists who try their luck without walking the ground extensively. And they sabotage a whole nation because of their own self interest.

If you want to constructively comment on this topic, don't write long grandmother motherhood statements as it adds no value to any discussion :cautious: :FU:

The insignificant nobody me had constructively helped your topic, even if your topic was based on skewered statistics, far more than you would even realized when you are still in rage & filled with clouded judgements, far more than I had intended to, as I often don't reply to insane threads...

There is NO sense in gloating & basking over PYRRHIC so called VICTORIES. It is an act of COMPLACENCY & sore loser syndrome. Only victors are remembered. None remembers 2nd place winners.

Even Mr. Pritam Singh's place as Leader of the Opposition in Parliament is at stake for his bad & miscalculated judgements. He is happy with that? As well as those whom stood by him for his leadership on campaign trails & even supporters, but saw their hard worked efforts gone to waste?.....

Perhaps they may do better in the next elections, but so too the winning side....Under-estimating one's opponents only leads to monumental failures....

All I know is these Unelectables lacked self awareness and are mostly opportunists who try their luck without walking the ground extensively. And they sabotage a whole nation because of their own self interest.

but last time uses by election strategy in the end those ministar from uncontested areas will come other serious competitive wards to champaign.

I believe as long as WP continues to bring in good talent and not let the party admit Unelectables, it will continue to do better or equal PAP in overall popular vote share%.

Workers' Party had already beaten PAP in head to head overall vote share % in GE2020 and GE2025, though marginally.

Statistics don't lie. So it bodes well for the party and hopefully for Singapore in the future.

And it's good that there will be 4 new young faces out of 12 in the Workers' Party slate in Parliament. Hopefully, they will perform well.

Overall in terms of popular vote between WP and PAP, PAP did not make any significant gains against WP from GE2020, despite using their full arsenal of tricks and negative politics, for example:

1. Relying on a massive influx of new citizens for its vote share
2. Gerrymandering in election boundaries
3. Persecution of Pritam in Parliament and courts
4. RIsking a so called DPM in Punggol
5. Character assassination of Andre Low during GE20GE2025

Last but not least, WP own self pwned ownself - Leon/NIcole affair and Raeesah Khan scandal.

Overall, PAP only managed a 0.3% increase in vote share against WP in 2025 (compared to GE2020)

Overall Popular Vote

Screenshot_20250504_044308_Samsung Internet.jpg

Breakdown to SMCs & GRCs
20250504_044513.jpg

The landslide victory that the mass media talks about is because of PAP extremely high significant gains against all other political parties (except the WP).

Good job Workers' Party!

Looking forward to 2030 GE.

PAP might have won last night but the win comes from Gerrymandering, so not Gentlemen’s honor. PAP have nothing but shame to keep WP, PSP and SDP from earning. Shame on PAP.

I believe as long as WP continues to bring in good talent and not let the party admit Unelectables, it will continue to do better or equal PAP in overall popular vote share%.

Workers' Party had already beaten PAP in head to head overall vote share % in GE2020 and GE2025, though marginally.

Statistics don't lie. So it bodes well for the party and hopefully for Singapore in the future.

And it's good that there will be 4 new young faces out of 12 in the Workers' Party slate in Parliament. Hopefully, they will perform well.

problem is harpreet singh, alexis those when 5 years later maybe older and got other priority. still wanna come out contest meh?

last time wp also one glenda han contest a few times now go do own things liao

problem is harpreet singh, alexis those when 5 years later maybe older and got other priority. still wanna come out contest meh?

last time wp also one glenda han contest a few times now go do own things liao
Yep, it's hard to find good talent for political contests, especially for opposition parties Not many want to open up their life for public scrutiny.

The insignificant nobody me had constructively helped your topic, even if your topic was based on skewered statistics, far more than you would even realized when you are still in rage & filled with clouded judgements, far more than I had intended to, as I often don't reply to insane threads...

There is NO sense in gloating & basking over PYRRHIC so called VICTORIES. It is an act of COMPLACENCY & sore loser syndrome. Only victors are remembered. None remembers 2nd place winners.

Even Mr. Pritam Singh's place as Leader of the Opposition in Parliament is at stake for his bad & miscalculated judgements. He is happy with that? As well as those whom stood by him for his leadership on campaign trails & even supporters, but saw their hard worked efforts gone to waste?.....

Perhaps they may do better in the next elections, but so too the winning side....Under-estimating one's opponents only leads to monumental failures....

I think WP is the 2nd winner of GE2025 besides PAP. They kept all their seats unlike 2015 where they nearly lose Aljunied.

At the press conference this morning Pritam told the press he is not too concern whether Ah Wong will bestow him the title of Lead of the Opposition.

Winner set the terms, never the loser.

When Malaysia & Singapore lived under colonial rule, it was England that set the terms, & for sure they were no gentlemen, but only to protect their own rights for almost a century .

It takes much careful deliberations & peaceful actions thru many, many means, from our Founding & fathers that saw our Independence.

If anyone else wishes to rule our Nation & prove worthy of leading our Nation, they will have to go thru the same courageous process as they did.

No point to KBKP, or make excuses for failures....

Overall in terms of popular vote between WP and PAP, PAP did not make any significant gains against WP from GE2020, despite using their full arsenal of tricks and negative politics, for example:

1. Relying on a massive influx of new citizens for its vote share
2. Gerrymandering in election boundaries
3. Persecution of Pritam in Parliament and courts
4. RIsking a so called DPM in Punggol
5. Character assassination of Andre Low during GE20GE2025

Last but not least, WP own self pwned ownself - Leon/NIcole affair and Raeesah Khan scandal.

Overall, PAP only managed a 0.3% increase in vote share against WP in 2025 (compared to GE2020)

Overall Popular Vote

Screenshot_20250504_044308_Samsung Internet.jpg

Breakdown to SMCs & GRCs
20250504_044513.jpg

The landslide victory that the mass media talks about is because of PAP extremely high significant gains against all other political parties (except the WP).

Good job Workers' Party!

Looking forward to 2030 GE.
Good job ur head lah. Thank ur Pap grass root advisor when u apply bursary for ur kids u ingrate oppie! :mad:

If it's proportional representation, this is s tie between PAP and WP.
Unfortunately the system doesn't work this way.

But I dare say that if there's a swing of 5% of overall popular vote share in favour of WP, distributed more or less equally amongst all head to head PAP vs WP contested areas, the results could have been a lot different.

Tampines GRC and Jalan Kayu SMC would have fallen to WP. Others like Punggol GRC and East Coast GRC would go near the tipping point within the range of +1% -1%.

Unfortunately it didn't happen as both sides' overall head to head popular vote share didn't change much. Both sides have managed to defend it's popular vote turf at status quo.

At the same time, both sides have scored extremely well against mosquito opposition parties with the PAP being able to reap the most benefit as they have resources to contest all parliamentary seats.

As for WP vs mosquito parties in terms of popular vote, the Tampines GRC results speaks volumes.

images

If let's say there aren't any opposition except WP. PAP walk over all these uncontested wards on Nomination Day, Lawrence wouldn't dare to claim he has strong mandate as these uncontested wards will not be in popular vote statistics. It would look damn bad on PAP and him. Isn't it?

Nice. ::thumbsup:

My point is simply Lawrence Wong's strong mandate as he claimed didn’t come at the expense of popular vote of the Workers' Part from the statistics.

It was simply generated by PAP's overwhelming victories over Unelectables and their mosquito parties (in other wards that WP wasn't present) inadvertently or otherwise.

Tampines GRC is clear evidence that both sides make inroads almost equally against those nonsensical mosquito parties in terms of overall popular vote.

Whilst Lawrence might be happy with this GE result (probably thanking all these Unelectables in his heart), Lawrence's PAP and Pritam's WP are still neck to neck in terms of overall popular support.