• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Workers, employers urged to have sense of balance when dealing with retrenchments

2lanu

Channel NewsAsia - Monday, March 2HUA HIN, Thailand : Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong has urged workers and employers to have a sense of balance when dealing with retrenchment forecasts during these difficult economic times.

He added that despite the gloom, Singapore is not in a bad position.

Not bad for the country to be the 1st in encounter recession?

Mr Lee said this during his interview with Singapore media at the end of the ASEAN Summit in Hua Hin on Sunday.

There have been several reports recently of retrenchment forecasts in Singapore this year, with the latest being from DBS Bank which put the figure at 99,000.

This prompted some ministers to emphasise the need to be focused and not be overwhelmed by the numbers.

Mr lee said: "Everyday we see bad news, another 50 here, another 100 there, and such and such job cuts. After a while, even if you were not depressed, we become depressed.

Yeah good times prices go up, peasant worry. Bad times, jobs gone peasants also worry. The best is those white scum that collect million dollar paycheck irregardless of good or bad times. :rolleyes:

"There are things happening which are positive, there are things which will turn good in time, there are things in the pipeline; the IR (integrated resort) is coming along, two IRs are both coming along. Every time I drive past the Marina, I watch to see whether another level has come up or not and it has nearly reach the top now."

IR? He really think this is good? And can boost the economy? :confused:

Mr Lee stressed Singapore has the resources and has done the right things with this year’s Budget.

He said: "I know people say why didn’t you help the households more directly. But the right way to help people now is not to give them vouchers or coupons to spend, but to help them keep their jobs, and this is where the emphasis of the Budget was, and that is something which we have to explain to the people and help them to understand."

On investments by the Government Investment Corporation of Singapore, Mr Lee said they are long—term in nature. In bad years, there would be shrinkage, but overall they have performed well.

How do the people know, esp the account book is not shown?

He said: "If you jump up and down and you want to break even and make money every quarter, you will not be able to have a sensible policy. You will end up not protecting your value, you cannot discuss Citigroup as Citigroup.

"We have to look at the whole portfolio and overall what is the performance, some ups and some downs, some good years, some bad years and overall over 20 years, it has done well."

Mr Lee said how soon Singapore will recover from this downturn will depend on the world.

See, bad times have to depend on the world. Good times is their credits and they show be paid million dollars more....
What is important now is for the country to remain stable and emerge as a strong economy when the recovery comes. — CNA/ms

sg-as.jpg

U beri bad one! Suan me till like this! *deh*

annexa

On investments by the Government Investment Corporation of Singapore, Mr Lee said they are long—term in nature.

"The long run is a misleading guide to current affairs. In the long run we are all dead."
- John Maynard Keynes, A Tract on Monetary Reform (1923) Ch. 3

dupersuper

and why is it a matter of only one or the other??? (help find jobs OR direct help)

can’t do both with the billions we have???

singaporeans are really trained too well to accept whatever rubbish they say.

2lanu

"The long run is a misleading guide to current affairs. In the long run we are all dead."
- John Maynard Keynes, A Tract on Monetary Reform (1923) Ch. 3

It's an easy mean for those white scum to snake out of the situation. If have the chance, ask them how long is the long term? And what about the length of the mid and short term? Define by mean of years...

2lanu

and why is it a matter of only one or the other??? (help find jobs OR direct help)

can’t do both with the billions we have???

singaporeans are really trained too well to accept whatever rubbish they say.

It's not trained to accept, but there's no avenue for them to put the question to them! In fact I think those opposition voted in are not doing a good job to question them.

... Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong has urged workers and employers to have a sense of balance when dealing with retrenchment forecasts during these difficult economic times. ...
having a sense of balance wif salary n performance is mor important ...

... On investments by the Government Investment Corporation of Singapore, Mr Lee said they are long—term in nature. In bad years, there would be shrinkage, but overall they have performed well. ...
ya lor ...

tot can get quik profit ... but turned out 2 b a loss .. so, no choice lor, 2 save face, say invest 4 long term lor ...

my downstairs kopitiam ah peks oso tol me dat ...

... "We have to look at the whole portfolio and overall what is the performance, some ups and some downs, some good years, some bad years and overall over 20 years, it has done well."
20 yrs down ze rd ... where r u, huh? ...