Wooden Asks SGs 'What Do You Think?'

[h=2]Goh Chok Tong asks: Do skilled immigrants create jobs or take away jobs from locals?[/h]Posted by temasektimes on June 24, 2012

Former Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong may be one of the proponents of Singapore’s pro-foreigner and ultra-liberal immigration policies, but till today, he is still unsure if ‘skilled’ immigrants help create jobs or take them away from native Singaporeans.

In a post on his Facebook last night, Emeritus Senior Minister (ESM) Goh shared an article he read on the Asian Wall Street Journal and asked:
“Do skilled immigrants create jobs or take away jobs from locals? Just read an article in AWSJ on this debate in the US. Prof Slaughter, the writer, said that “skilled immigrants have long supported US jobs and living standards. They bring human capital, financial capital, and connections to opportunities abroad.”

He added that it would be ‘good’ for economists to research the subject in depth though the floodgates have been opened to foreigners from all over the world way back in the early 2000s causing Singapore to be ‘swarmed’:

“Prof Slaughter cited studies to back up his point. This subject is a hot button issue in Singapore. It would be good if economists could research this subject in depth. It would help advance debate on this politically sensitive issue.”

Under Singapore’s ‘unique’ immigration policies, even construction workers, bus captains, hawkers, cleaners and prostitutes are considered ‘skilled immigrants’.

During his tenure as Prime Minister, ESM Goh promised ‘Swiss standard of living’ for Singaporeans by 2000. After ten years, Singapore has indeed attained the ‘Swiss cost of living’, but definitely not its quality of life.

BASTARD, TRAITOR, GREEDY, these are the 3 words for GCT.

Hope u die of cancer soon!

no big issues with those who do bring in jobs and contribute.....but even retarded clinton can see that very many do the opposite. They take away jobs that locals can do ....contribute little and fight/kill locals.
They are looking at FTs through rose tinted glasses.

chee bye lau goh li kong simi lan???? you trying to act blur or trying to fool small children??? have you been down to Shenton, Raffles Place or not?? the whole fucking place is flooded with those shit Indians, you mean to say they are here to create jobs?? how?? by fillling up every fucking department with their own colours, cliques, clans ???? do you know how many of our local PMETS with honours and masters are forced to retire at 40+ and end up driving taxis or become property agents???
go let dog fuck lah lau goh, both you and your snobbish looking peanut woman

With people like that...the country is doomed hong gan liao

uncle went to techpoint to meet friend. in the lift, i was the only sinkie...i feel damned shameful and inferior. they even squeezed me out and i hardly understood what they were talking in their own native dialet. sad or not?

the whole fucking place is flooded with those shit Indians, you mean to say they are here to create jobs?? how?? by fillling up every fucking department with their own colours, cliques, clans ?

More than true... the saying goes, once you have an indian (from India) in your department.... they will pull they brother sister cousin in-laws and even they cow into the department

Instead of asking that question ,he should instead ask these question,

"Don't you honourable citizens think that I am very lowly-paid"

With people like that...the country is doomed hong gan liao

The real culprits are the 60% who are themselves victims of half a century of brainwashing by the 154th. The remaining 40% just need to put in the extra effort to tilt 10% over to evict the Traitors and bring nationhood back to the country.

uncle went to techpoint to meet friend. in the lift, i was the only sinkie...i feel damned shameful and inferior. they even squeezed me out and i hardly understood what they were talking in their own native dialet. sad or not?

Donch need to feel shameful. Stand tall. Hold the fort. Shove back at them. If SGs continue to retreat, it will only embolden the Traitors and Foreigners to trod on SGs. It is all in the mind.

You didn't ask for subtitle or open caption? :D

If woody is so confident, why still hide data behind MOM? Today there was no transparent informations from MOM as to how many Singaporeans are jobless.