• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Will Sporns Be Daft Again in the next GE?

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>Coffeeshop Chit Chat - LCB called Sinkees DAFT!!!</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>Fkapore <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>2:37 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 4) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>27773.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Minister Mentor calls Singaporeans DAFT for faulting Government’s housing policies

January 28, 2010 by admin
Filed under: Current Affairs
lky.jpg

Written by Ng E-Jay
28 January 2010

I have never in my life seen a politician call voters STUPID for not accepting his party’s policies, and then ask them not to cast protest votes against his party, all in the same breath.
Yet this was precisely what Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew did at a conference on Wednesday commemorating the Housing Board’s (HDB) 50th anniversary.
According to a Straits Times report “Don’t cast protest vote” (28 Jan 2010), MM Lee said Singaporeans ought to understand that the Government sells them HDB flats at a subsidised price, below market rate, so that they can own an asset that will appreciate in value over the years.
He also said voters must be “daft” if they found fault with the Government’s housing policies, and cautioned Singaporeans not to cast a protest vote against the ruling party over this.

Mr Lee’s remarks were in response to a question by dialogue moderator Tommy Koh, who pulled out a Straits Times report which said that at least three opposition parties are keen to contest Tampines GRC that Mr Mah Bow Tan (National Development Minister) helms, as they want to raise the affordability of public housing as an election issue.
True to his form, Mr Lee sought once again to strike fear in voters’ hearts by saying that their flats would no longer be of any value should Mr Mah lose to the opposition.
A politician who operates in a system of free and fair elections, and who understands that he will retain power only if voters cast their approval at the ballot box will never, in desperation, call the electorate daft if they did not agree with him or his party, nor use illogical statements to instill fear in the minds of voters.
Only a politician who knows the system is rigged, or carefully engineered (in Mr Lee’s own words) to guarantee electoral success for the incumbent, and who regards the electorate not as his masters but as his servants, will do what Mr Lee did.
Even if our housing policies are sound (and they are most assuredly not), no leader from a Government that dares to call itself democratic before an international audience should cast such aspersions at its own constituents who disagree with its policies, as that goes against every grain of the social compact between an elected Government and its people.
Why should Mr Lee be so worried about people casting protest votes against the PAP, if our housing policies truly benefit the people and have kept home prices affordable to most Singaporeans?
The answer is that the Government has allowed asset appreciation to spiral out of control, such that young couples and Singaporeans starting their first home find themselves increasingly priced out of the market.
How can Singaporeans have a decent retirement if they use up all their CPF purchasing an expensive home?
How can our citizens have a decent quality of life if all their savings are tied up in property?
hdb.jpg

The truth of the matter is that the Government has provided only a market subsidy in which first time home buyers are given a discount to the prevailing market rate, and not a cost subsidy in which first time home buyers can purchase flats at a price pegged to their cost of construction.
When the general prices of property, including private property, rises sharply, that increases the total cost passed on to first time home buyers, and the market subsidy becomes of little assistance.
The HDB has also done a very poor job of forecasting demand, and has not built enough flats to meet new demand. This has caused HDB flat prices to increase even in recessionary times. Ever increasing cash-over-valuation amounts are a symptom of this malaise.
The PAP’s argument that its asset appreciation policy allows Singaporeans to unlock the value of their homes is also flawed.
Early home buyers from the 1970s and 1980s will certainly benefit from this scheme, as the PAP at that time provided truly affordable housing.
But just as the fast economic growth of the early years of independence cannot possibly be repeated again, so there is also a very real limit to the PAP’s asset appreciation scheme that seeks to allow home prices to evolve according to economic growth.
Once home prices have been allowed to rapidly adjust upwards, or “unlocked” (borrowing PAP’s terminology), their full value has been built in, and simple mathematics dictates that further appreciation can only take place at a very slow rate.
This conclusion is supported by the fact that Singapore’s economy can only grow at a very tempered rate from now on, as Singapore has reached developed nation status and has had all the “emerging market growth potential” milked out of the economy in the past two decades.
Therefore, the asset appreciation policy will no longer give future generations of Singaporeans financial security, but will instead saddle them with a lifetime of debt.
When the pocketbooks of Singaporeans have been hurt, they will rise to vote against the PAP, daft or not daft.
If the PAP’s policies don’t change, one day they may wake up to find ballot boxes stuffed full of votes from citizens indicating that they would no longer tolerate having their dignity and quality of life trampled on so brazenly.
</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Indeed, Sporns should cool down and vote wisely. And the wise question to ask is - Are u seeing your life getting better or worse under the wicked and corrupt rule of the PAPee Traitors? Do u still see a future for yourselves and your families under their wicked scheme to leeplace you with FTrash to perpetuate one Familee's rule? If the answer is NO to both questions, you must be really daft and dumb if you still insist on voting for them.

makapaaa;391282[B said:
True to his form, Mr Lee sought once again to strike fear in voters’ hearts by saying that their flats would no longer be of any value should Mr Mah lose to the opposition.[/B]

This statement must be a boon for flat hunters. They would rather vote out shorty Mah & have the flat prices to fall than to live with parents or rent out.

Some important questions to ask before voting.

1. What are the prospect of finding a decent good paying job for you or your children when half of the population are foreigners and are competing with you and and your children?

2. Do you think you or your children could afford the sky high rocketing prices with you or your children current paycheck?

3. After you have sold your flats and 'make' a profit where are you going to stay?

4. Do you really make a profit in buying and selling HDB flat or HDB made more profit from your transactions?

5. If no why you get into so much trouble doing all this?

6. Finally do you think you or you children can easily secure good paying jobs after getting laid off? Why you need a good paying job? To finance the sky rocketing HDB prices loh!

I have never in my life seen a politician call voters STUPID for not accepting his party’s policies, and then ask them not to cast protest votes against his party, all in the same breath.
Yet this was precisely what Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew did at a conference on Wednesday commemorating the Housing Board’s (HDB) 50th anniversary.
According to a Straits Times report “Don’t cast protest vote” (28 Jan 2010), MM Lee said Singaporeans ought to understand that the Government sells them HDB flats at a subsidised price, below market rate, so that they can own an asset that will appreciate in value over the years.
That is because your MM has no respect for sinkie. Well i do understand how he feels, i dun respect balless people either.

How to respect someone when he is ask to bend down, he will bend cowardly. i don't. seriously don't.

That is because your MM has no respect for sinkie. Well i do understand how he feels, i dun respect balless people either.

How to respect someone when he is ask to bend down, he will bend cowardly. i don't. seriously don't.

CB kia tonychat,

Thai ppl are the most moronic in this region becos they worship their king.. also 90% of the entire nation have a family member working in sex-related industry.. LOL..:D

This statement must be a boon for flat hunters. They would rather vote out shorty Mah & have the flat prices to fall than to live with parents or rent out.

Farmer lee [hes got a veg @ home] is worried about his son's govt. so has to strike fear, thinking leeaporeans are all born this morning.

True to his form, Mr Lee sought once again to strike fear in voters’ hearts by saying that their flats would no longer be of any value should Mr Mah lose to the opposition.

By that statement, is MM trying to say value of HDB will forever be rising ?

IMO, it is a matter of time when someone will be left holding the baby when the price plateau or crashed. It is like a pyramid scheme where last one out is a kookoo. It is better to hold a baby at $500k than a baby when it is at $1M before it crash.

Question is, is the spiralling prices sustainable while many citizens are crying out loud and clear now? Yet PAPa is telling us otherwise to secure his own dynasty.

property buying 101 :
"SELL HIGH, BUY HIGH & VICE VERSA"

Property prices are way too high currently. About time we need an excuse to depress the prices. And Shorty mah can be the scarificial lamb.

I am voting for opposition...

1. I do not feel secure in Singapore. If I lose my job, ( either myself or because of FTs). I really do not know who to turm to. Surely not PAP MPs as they will refer you to Goverment job agency to work in a factory for $900 a month and if you do not take it up. It only prove that FTs are more hard working and willing to try then Singaporean.

2. I totally do not agree with the GRC system to let the weak MPs walk in freely ( using minority race as an excuse ). They can force the MPs down your thoat but will the MPs gain respect?

3. The old guards of PAP has done well and LKY is only one of them but he has get all the limelight and claim credit for his own and transfer the credit to his family. LKY is behaving like an emperor. Do you think the PAP MPs dare to question him? Appoint himself as MM and SM for GCT because he has obedienly keep the seat warm while LHL is getting ready.

4. Lastly, I think our opposition deserve the support as they are put in a very disavantage position right from the start.

What I can do... I will convince my wife to vote for opposition and 1 of my friends who is neutral to PAP or opposition to vote for opposition. Just imagine if 33% of us manage to get another 2 vote.

THe real situation is LKY must die else very little can be change. He can always change the rule of election to his advantage anytime anywhere as those who oppose him or his son will not be in the parliment in the 1st place.

Is he blaming Singaporean for the negative sentiment caused by PAP. Wow!!! this kind of Tai-Chi is never heard of. Anyway it doesn't come as surprises to me because he is so anti-Singaporea. This reason is enough to vote PAP OUT among all other issues!!!!!

I am voting for opposition...

1. I do not feel secure in Singapore. If I lose my job, ( either myself or because of FTs). I really do not know who to turm to. Surely not PAP MPs as they will refer you to Goverment job agency to work in a factory for $900 a month and if you do not take it up. It only prove that FTs are more hard working and willing to try then Singaporean.

very well said, i completely agree esp the part where after u reject the $900/mth job, they say u r choosy/lazy ...

i'd rather be daft & ugly than vote PAP ...

very well said, i completely agree esp the part where after u reject the $900/mth job, they say u r choosy/lazy ...

Wonder when they going to bring out the stick to cane the wayward children.

CB kia tonychat,

Thai ppl are the most moronic in this region becos they worship their king.. also 90% of the entire nation have a family member working in sex-related industry.. LOL..:D

For Tonychat's family 100% of them working in sex-related industry. :p

Indeed, Sporns should cool down and vote wisely. And the wise question to ask is - Are u seeing your life getting better or worse under the wicked and corrupt rule of the PAPee Traitors? Do u still see a future for yourselves and your families under their wicked scheme to leeplace you with FTrash to perpetuate one Familee's rule? If the answer is NO to both questions, you must be really daft and dumb if you still insist on voting for them.

To solve the problems of high costs of living in Singapore -VOTE OUT THE MIW !!!! GIVE OTHER PEOPLE A CHANCE ,THE MIW ALREADY PROFITED MILLIONS FROM THE TAXPAYERS' MONEY FOR DOING A LOUSY joB !!

THE ELECTION CAMPAIGN HAS STARTED.REMEMBER ALL SINGAPOREANS,THIS IS THE ONLY TIME THE MIW WILL LISTEN TO U (BEG U)IN ORDER TO EARN YOUR PRECIOUS VOTES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

$900 a month.... transport and lunch probably takes up $400,
might as well stay home do fuck off

Singapore invited foreigners with so much cash, they buyout the local competitors . Forever the push of COV is skywards .
OK you can say there is a reshuffle and it's happening worldwide .
They did not endure our pace and perpetual obstacles here .

To solve the problems of high costs of living in Singapore -VOTE OUT THE MIW !!!! GIVE OTHER PEOPLE A CHANCE ,THE MIW ALREADY PROFITED MILLIONS FROM THE TAXPAYERS' MONEY FOR DOING A LOUSY joB !!

Then again there is a flipside unlike a coin.

Those that just bought at high stand to lose time and valuation at shorter term. MML is trying to put fear into the recent buyers who bought high who have yet to realized their profits .

Depending on which stage of a buyer are you ?

The answer to the question is unfortunately, probably, "yes".