• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

(wiki) George Yeo's shit is LEAKING! Haha! Gossip lah!

tun_dr_m

http://sg.yfittopostblog.com/2010/12/12/singapore-diplomats-named-in-new-wikileaks-files/

Controversial comments taken out of context: Foreign Minister Yeo
By Ewen Boey – December 12th, 2010
Email Facebook Twitter Print
Prepare for elections by year-end Foreign Minister George Yeo (Getty).

prepare-for-elections-by-year-end-foreign-minister-george-yeo-getty.jpg

Minister George Yeo labels recent comments made by top diplomats as “gossip” and “cocktail talk” (Getty file photo)

Foreign Minister George Yeo has defended past and current Foreign Affairs senior diplomats — Peter Ho, Bilahari Kausikan and Professor Tommy Koh — saying their highly controversial comments on Singapore’s Asian neighbours were taken out of context.

Mr Yeo slammed the release of the comments, which he described as “gossip” and “cocktail talk” that should have remained confidential.

While he did not deny the comments were made, he added that his ministry would not be checking the veracity of the remarks as they had taken place in an informal and confidential setting.

“I think it’s best that we respect the confidentiality of diplomatic communications,” he said on The Straits Times.

“People say things in a blunt and forthright way. I don’t think we should divorce (it), even if true what is said, from the context.”

ap_anwaribrahim.jpg

The reactions come after a fresh batch of diplomatic cables released by WikiLeaks contained explosive comments by the trio of high-ranking Singapore diplomats.

Among the comments made:

– Malaysia is a “confused and dangerous state” due to “incompetent politicians”

– M’sian opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim did “indeed commit the (sodomy) acts he was indicted for”

– Thailand’s political elite is dogged by corruption and its crown prince is “erratic” and “easily subject to influence”

– Japan and India were struggling to deal with China’s influence due to their “stupid” behaviour

The remarks were made during separate meetings in 2008 and 2009 with US officials.

ap_najibr.jpg

Mr Ho and Mr Kausikan were both permanent secretaries at the MFA at the time, and the latter still holds that position. Mr Koh is the ministry’s ambassador-at-large.
Is Malaysian opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim really guilty of sodomy? (AP photo)

One cable that deals with Malaysian opposition leader Mr Anwar’s sodomy case, dated November 2008, reveals that Singapore intelligence officials told their Australian counterparts that Mr Anwar was indeed guilty of sodomy, a claim he has steadfastly denied.

It read: ”The Australians said that Singapore’s intelligence services and Lee Kuan Yew have told ONA (Australia’s Office of National Assessments) in their exchanges that opposition leader Anwar ’did indeed commit the acts for which he is currently indicted’.”

The document said this assessment was made on the basis of “technical intelligence”, a term likely to describe intercepted communications.

The ONA is also recorded as saying that Mr Anwar’s political enemies “engineered the circumstances from which the sodomy charges arose” and that although it was a “set up job”, ”he probably knew that, but walked into it anyway’.”

However, on Sunday, Anwar questioned what was reported when he reacted via micro-blogging site Twitter and tweeted in Malay, “Source? Polis SB Msia. Bukti tak ada (Who is the source? Malaysian police special branch. There’s no proof of any such thing).”
Malaysian PM Najib Razak is labelled an "opportunist". (AP Photo)

Another cable at a meeting in September 2008 detailed Mr Kausikan telling US Deputy Secretary of Defence for East Asia, David Sedney, that there was a “distinct possibility of racial conflict” which could cause ethnic Chinese from Malaysia to “flee” and “overwhelm” Singapore.

“A lack of competent leadership is a real problem for Malaysia,” said Kausikan.

He added that ruling Malaysian Prime Minister Najib Razak needed to prevail politically in order to avoid prosecution in connection with the murder of Mongolian model Altantuya Shaariibuu.

“Najib has his neck on the line in connection with a high-profile murder case,” he said.

In a cable earlier the same year, Mr Ho reportedly described the Malaysian PM as ”an opportunist” who would ”not hesitate” to be critical of Singapore if it is “expedient for him to do so.”

Malaysia’s top politicians have yet to react to the comments but outspoken UMNO Youth Chief, Khairy Jamaluddin, blasted Singapore when he tweeted, “Seriously, where do the Singaporeans get off snitching on their neighbours as though the entire region is a basket case apart from them?”

He added: “Worst job in the world right now: Singapore diplomat.”
Thailand's political elite is dogged by "corruption at all levels". (AP file photo)

ap_thaiarmy.jpg

Thailand's political elite is dogged by "corruption at all levels". (AP file photo)

Damning assessments of other ASEAN nations’ politicians were also made in other WikiLeaks files.

In the same September 2008 meeting with Mr Sedney, Mr Kausikan condemned Thailand’s political elite, indicating that Thaksin Shinawatra is “corrupt” along with “everyone else, including the opposition”.

Mr Kausikan also criticised Mr Thaksin’s close relationship with the Thai crown prince, saying that he “made a mistake in pursuing a relationship with the crown prince by paying off the crown prince’s gambling debts”.

In a September 2009 memo, Mr Koh made damning comments about Japan and India, labelling Japan as “the big fat loser” with regards to improving ties between China and ASEAN, with another cable saying, “He was equally merciless towards India, describing his ‘stupid Indian friends’ as ‘half in, half out’ of ASEAN.”

Mr Koh is also recorded praising China’s ”investment and intelligent diplomacy in the region”.

He is reported to have said, “I don’t fear China. I don’t fear being assimilated by China” while he also hailed its decision to invest in Africa ”without lecturing them about human rights and democracy as the West does”.

Thank you for the incredible, amazing response to Yahoo!’s Fit-To-Post blog so far. We continue to welcome your views and comments but please don’t abuse this opportunity. Be nice. Be courteous. Be sensible. Respect the feelings of others and refrain from using any kind of offensive language. And in the spirit of great conversations, please don’t stray from the topic at hand.

Now for once from the North BOTH RULING & OPPOSITIONS will fuck PAP down south together! In unity! Malaysia Boleh!:D:D

PAP Boleh! Boleh Mati!

:D:D

Now for once from the North BOTH RULING & OPPOSITIONS will fuck PAP down south together! In unity! Malaysia Boleh!:D:D

PAP Boleh! Boleh Mati!

:D:D

What is worrisome is ...if the approach to strangle the little red dot continues ..like making it more difficult to get our sand and water...we the people at the user end are going to pay for their action, behaviour and folly...

So is Shamungum, a newbie can do a better job...or is he going to lead us to the deeper end of the pool...????

In layman term...we are going to be f...ck , right, left
and center..

The standard bullshit response when (ex) politicians and diplomats make controversial statements and try to justify them. "Sorry, my comments were taken out of context".

The most over-used excuse in the world. Quite pathetic.

This is old news right? Read it long ago I think.

I wonder why Sporean diplomats are criticising our neighbours AND sharing this with the americans:confused: I thought they are suppose to be "diplomats" & not gossip mongers:rolleyes:

Our neighbours probably have their own opinions of the Lee regime but we don't hear about this;)

johnny333 said:
I wonder why Sporean diplomats are criticising our neighbours AND sharing this with the americans:confused: I thought they are suppose to be "diplomats" & not gossip mongers:rolleyes:

Our neighbours probably have their own opinions of the Lee regime but we don't hear about this;)

We don't have diplomats any more. We have "diplomats" who can only play to the local gallery.