• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

why sinkies so unhappy?

uncle went to hawker centre to eat lunch.nahbeh, the wanton lady so unhappy...kpkb!!!..everything so expensive.rentals went up.pub charges went up.why cannot charge more.kpkb until my queue also forgotten.then served me lousy charsiew anduncoooked mee...charged me $3!!!...damned unhappy hawker....long faces and damned unhappy..

okay then ordered ice kachang.auntie alsounhappy. i said how much. she screamed $1.50! i said why so expensive.she screamed at me.want or not.everything went up!!! everything so expensive. i said i wanted more ingredients. she stared at me and shouted $2!!! i said nevermind. no added ingredients. she anyhow do andgive me the ice kaching for $1.50!!!nahbeh!!!..

then i sat down to eat my wanton mee.old uncle cleaner came and spilled my shirt. angry uncle kpkb.never apologised. anyhow cleaned the table with a dirty cloth.i looked at him. he stared at me. you look what!...not happy! complain lor! his trousers tattered.his polo shirt dirty.his knees swollen. he pushed the cart with a hunch. his face like shit.so unhappy.so unwilling to work...i fed up liao. got up and leave...then one fat auntie pushed into me and i nearly fell down.she stared at me. you chikopek uncle!!!!...shit face fat auntie what to chikopek!...pui!!!

i then got stomach ache...rushed to the toilet. 10 cents uncle. i no change. i gave him 2 dollar note and rushed into the toilet.wanted to paisai!. he stopped me. no change. got 10 cents coin or not! i cannot tahan liao. i rushed in. nahbeh all the toilet doors locked!!! i called the angry uncle. he came and i told him i shit here! he quickly opened one cubicle and i rushed in!......waupian just in time!...nahbeh no toilet paper!!!!...shit all over!!!!...i used water luckily available.....then walked out!!!....the uncle kept cursing me no change no change!!! $2 also no change!!!...i came back later and gave him the 10 cents...he again kpkb!!!...no thank you.no sorry. nothing. his face so unhappy and so angry...this type how to survive...

sinkies are sinking to deep unhappiness...you got see these type of people or not!...i went home and slept! nahbeh!!!

Where is this place? I will avoid

it's common nowadays to meet up with all these people - so angry, so stressed and so toolan!!! and they really worked their assess just to keep alive and if you happen to meet up with one of them...you surely kena jialat jialat!!!!

singaporeans why so unhappy and so frustrated macham going to explode. no patience.no courtesy.no care and heck everything! the standard of food dropped like shit and the price gone sky high! just look around, they are found everywhere...and you walk past the void decks, you see all the uncles and aunties sitting there doing nothing but gossiping....so hot, everybody goes to the mall to sit and gossip...crowded, congested and mad!

If you are a farmer and you cram many animals into a small place, will the animals be happy or healthy?

What's true for animals is also true for human beings, Sinkies or non-Sinkies.

This little island is too damn crowded. The farmer lords of this land just want to maximize profits.

20080917-03.jpg

chickens-11.jpg

news_glennon.jpg

People in singapore are generally stressed up. I dont blame them as they got screwed left and right by their gahment, boss and spouses.

anyone of you happy ? i okay lah.sometimes happy and sometimes very toolan. but when i step out of my home, i see many angry people.angry parents.angry grandparents.angry hawkers.angry customers.angry cleaners.angry cashiers. i go supermarket,fairprice, i see more angrypeople. people press all the fruits until all rotten and spoilt. i see children in trolleys jumping up and down. i see multin nationals doing their own things.press here and press there. nobody smile or say hello. all angry.long queues.cashiers all angry.no good morning or good day.all stressed up.

i go foodcourts worst! dirty plates.cluttered utensils.dirty tissue papers.all crowded.no seats carrying your soup walking all over the place.crowded.congested.no seats. nahbeh.got food but no seat.you see tissue paper reservations.you see bags reservation.you see angry people everywhere.you see lonely angry uncles and aunties. you see unconcerned loud mouth young people.you see rudeness.you see uncouth behaviour. nahbeh, this place is ruined...

[h=1]French RevolutionLast updated 8 hours ago
[/h]<!-- /firstHeading --><!-- bodyContent --><!-- tagline -->From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
<!-- /tagline --><!-- subtitle -->
<!-- /subtitle --><!-- jumpto --> Jump to: navigation, search
<!-- /jumpto --><!-- bodycontent -->For later revolutions in France, see July Revolution and French Revolution of 1848.
For other uses, see French Revolution (disambiguation).

[TABLE="class: infobox vevent, width: 22"]
<tbody>[TR]
[TH="class: summary, bgcolor: #F8EABA, colspan: 2, align: center"]The French Revolution[/TH]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="colspan: 2, align: center"]
The storming of the Bastille, 14 July 1789[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TH="align: left"]Participants[/TH]
[TD="class: attendee"]French society[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TH="align: left"]Location[/TH]
[TD="class: location"]France, and Monaco[SUP][1][/SUP][SUP][2][/SUP][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TH="align: left"]Date[/TH]
[TD]1789–1799[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TH="align: left"][/TH]
[TD="class: description"]
[/TD]
[/TR]
</tbody>[/TABLE]
The French Revolution (French: Révolution française; 1789–1799), was a period of radical social and political upheaval in France that had a major impact on France and indeed all of Europe. The absolute monarchy that had ruled France for centuries collapsed in three years. French society underwent an epic transformation, as feudal, aristocratic and religious privileges evaporated under a sustained assault from radical left-wing political groups, masses on the streets, and peasants in the countryside.[SUP][3][/SUP] Old ideas about tradition and hierarchy – of monarchy, aristocracy, and religious authority – were abruptly overthrown by new Enlightenment principles of equality, citizenship and inalienable rights

Ms Sylvia Lim's speech in parliament about happiness in Singapore:

May I first thank the President for his Address and the government for making the promises contained in the Address.

The Workers’ Party welcomes and supports the statement that Singapore’s success is defined not just by material progress but by our values and ideals. The Workers’ Party is ready to work with the government towards a better life for all.

However, it is important to point out that over the last few years many Singaporeans have faced harsh realities that do not match the sentiments contained in the Address.

A country’s headline figures, such as GDP growth, mask the realities of life for certain groups. Thus, to have segmented updates, such as the recent joint report by the Ministry of Manpower and Department of Statistics (released Oct 11), is helpful. One disturbing fact from that report is that after accounting for inflation, wages of Singaporeans at the 20th percentile of income have stagnated over the last decade. In other words, the real incomes of the bottom 20% of working Singaporeans have not increased in 10 years.

On the ground, we see that there are Singaporeans who feel unfairly treated vis-à-vis the foreign workforce. Divorces leave many families homeless. The demand for rental flats has risen. Seniors worry about healthcare costs. There are chronically ill patients who have even sold their homes to pay medical bills. As Dr Lam Pin Min said earlier, there are Singaporeans believe that they are better off dead than sick.

These issues, and the fact that they have been around for years, may lead some Singaporeans to question whether the vision in the President’s Address, will be translated to reality.

The Address is titled: A Home We Share, A Future We Build Together. With a vast divide between the haves and have-nots, how do we nurture such a shared home and future together?

At the Opening of the 12th Parliament, I believe that the government is seriously pondering over how to alleviate the ill-effects of certain policies. But moving forward, how should the government assess whether it is going in the correct direction and making a positive impact on people’s lives?

The Bhutan royal wedding hogged headlines over the weekend. As many of us know, the kingdom of Bhutan has an unusual way of measuring the country’s development. It is called GNH or Gross National Happiness. This indicator is garnering international attention, even among developed countries.

In July this year, Bhutan initiated a resolution at the UN General Assembly titled “Happiness: towards a holistic approach to development”. There were a total of 66 co-sponsors of the resolution and the General Assembly adopted it without a vote.

The resolution’s preamble states that “the pursuit of happiness is a fundamental human goal”, and that “the gross domestic product indicator by nature was not designed to and does not adequately reflect the happiness and well-being of people in a country.”

Member states have been invited “to pursue the elaboration of additional measures that better capture the importance of the pursuit of happiness and well-being in development with a view to guiding their public policies.”

With such international interest, is it now time for Singapore’s government to conspicuously focus on happiness as a national goal? Should policies be articulated to show how they will ultimately achieve happiness for Singaporeans as a whole?

This may sound too warm and fuzzy for some, but in fact our government supported the resolution at the United Nations. Indeed, Singapore was one of the 66 countries that co-sponsored the draft resolution.

Since Singapore was a co-sponsor, may I ask the government to elaborate on what will be the practical effect of the resolution on Singapore? What indicators does it it intend to put in place to measure whether Singaporeans as a whole are achieving happiness and well-being? Might the government also tell us how its policies over the next 5 years will be guided by such indicators?

In fact, the concept of happiness at the national level is not new. The American Declaration of Independence states that among the unalienable rights of men are “…Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness”.

Back home, our children pledge every day to achieve “happiness, prosperity and progress for our nation”.

Since independence, Singapore has focused on achieving prosperity and progress. Has happiness been forgotten, despite the words in our pledge? Or maybe it has been assumed that once there is prosperity and progress, happiness would automatically follow.

But has it? Does prosperity and progress come sometimes at the expense of happiness? Prosperity and progress are certainly important, but they cannot be ends in themselves. Surely they should be the means to an end – the happiness of Singaporeans as a whole.

What difference can this make? Let me give an example of an issue that might need to be dealt with very differently by the government if it pursues happiness, rather than maximum GDP growth, as the overarching goal: Singapore’s low fertility rate.

Singapore’s total fertility rate (TFR) should concern us greatly if we are worried about preserving our culture and identity for future generations. I note that surprisingly little emphasis was placed on this in the PMO’s Addenda.

In recent years, home prices have risen sharply. For couples who want children, one of the factors they consider in deciding when to have children and how many to have, is the affordability of housing.

A young couple who wants children but who is stretched by high housing payments over a long repayment period may delay having them, and may even have fewer children than they would ideally like to have.

In Hong Kong, a study by the Chinese University of Hong Kong suggests that housing price inflation could account for up to 65% of their decrease in fertility over the past forty years. (J Yi and J Zhang (2009). The Effect of House Price on Fertility: Evidence from Hongkong. Economic Inquiry, Volume 48, Issue 3.)

In Singapore, analyses by local economists show a similar link. Assoc Prof Tilak Abeysinghe, Deputy Director of the Singapore Centre for Applied and Policy Economics, NUS, has been studying the issue of housing affordability for some time. He notes in an article in the Straits Times on September 1st this year, that in Singapore, the data showed that between 1977 to 2010, there were generally “fewer children when house prices head(ed) north”.

He notes that the total fertility rate of Singapore has a close link with how affordable housing had been two years earlier. When housing was more affordable, the fertility rate in Singapore actually rose two years later. He concludes the article by saying: “Although the fertility rate is stubbornly less responsive to many factors, it is possible that sustaining housing affordability may help at least in arresting the decline in the fertility rate.”

Improving the TFR is a critical issue if Singaporeans are to remain the core of our society.

If economic growth is overwhelmingly the government’s goal, then achieving higher housing prices at the expense of fertility may not be considered a problem.

But if the happiness and the sustainability of Singapore society is the overarching goal, then there is a need to unravel the exact relationship between high property prices and fertility, and what responses might arrest or even reverse the decline in fertility rates. We will have to look beyond immediate procreation incentives to the bigger picture.

My point is: Since the government has co-sponsored the resolution to stress the importance of happiness and well-being in guiding policies, what tangible changes can we expect in the government’s general approach? Will government policies from now on be framed to focus on whether they lead to happiness and contentment for Singaporeans as a whole? Will we be coming up with our own national index of happiness and well-being?

Our founding elected leaders believe that happiness is important to be included in our national pledge. Let us continue to put these beliefs to action. We have been achieving progress and prosperity; let’s give happiness the rightful place in our pledge for this Parliament – “so as to achieve HAPPINESS, prosperity and progress for our nation”.

Here they list why
1. Wage is the biggest problem. Many SGporean or about 20% still earn less than $1000 basic salary.
2. Public transport MRT breakdown,pack like sardin, bus driver by PRC cause so many problem.
3. No mostly hawker manage by PRC really damn fuck do they legal have permit working in the stall?MON should do checking every month at least once randomly in every stall.
4. Housing is also major problem after ROM need to wait average 3 year to get HDB. Where do the couple having sex? Then gov talk cock asking SG to have more baby. But no house.
5. Jobs in service sector taking out by FT. Singaporean not talking about construction/shipyard.
6. Spending $13billion/year in defence for what??? . Cut by 50% and use the money for better use eg. Subsidy poor for old folk home eg. $200~$300/month, subsidy for education 50% for Singaporean.
7. Go every where FT is more than Singaporean. Singaporean does know is Singapore or United Nation.

I also don't understand Sporeans:confused::confused::confused:

If they are unhappy, why not punish those responsible for their unhappiness:confused: Sporeans know who these people are;)

nahbeh went to steak house to eat. told the waiter no coffee or tea.replaced with soft drink.waiter said cannot. you want pay $1.20!!!

no coffee and no tea, still have to pay $1.20 for a glass of soft drink. waiter said rules like this one.cannot change. want or not!!!

long ago,the manager would have said okay.but now cannot!!!....people are getting angry, unhappy and unwilling...and even uncompromising too...you want water ? pay 50 cents!!!....

times have changed. our happiness index drops like hell. you agree?

nahbeh went to steak house to eat. told the waiter no coffee or tea.replaced with soft drink.waiter said cannot. you want pay $1.20!!!

no coffee and no tea, still have to pay $1.20 for a glass of soft drink. waiter said rules like this one.cannot change. want or not!!!

long ago,the manager would have said okay.but now cannot!!!....people are getting angry, unhappy and unwilling...and even uncompromising too...you want water ? pay 50 cents!!!....

times have changed. our happiness index drops like hell. you agree?

Of course plain water also need to pay.
If not who pay for rental,electricity,wage............
If want cheap and free DIY in home. 50 cent water u can drink for a month.
Soft drink buy in supermarket less than 60 cent each can.

Of course plain water also need to pay.
If not who pay for rental,electricity,wage............
If want cheap and free DIY in home. 50 cent water u can drink for a month.
Soft drink buy in supermarket less than 60 cent each can.

yah lor stay at home and diy everything. business outside can close shop lah. many europeans at at home.dine in so to speak.to eat out is rare and damned expensive. if singapore becomes like this, good luck to all the old uncles and aunties. only young and those wealthy ones can dine out. even going to food court and hawkers centre can be expensive soon....

nahbeh, give the patrons and customers something lah....business will boom! sakae suchi green tea is FREE! you can drink until you are drunk!....you don;'t use the servet, no charge!...such business sense makes sense lah!...why must charge for everything and makes the customers angry and piqued even before he sits down to take his meal. must make the customers happy and cut him painlessly in other ways. charging for a cup of water is damned ridiculous...go ask udders!!!

anyone of you happy ? i okay lah.sometimes happy and sometimes very toolan. but when i step out of my home, i see many angry people.angry parents.angry grandparents.angry hawkers.angry customers.angry cleaners.angry cashiers. i go supermarket,fairprice, i see more angrypeople. people press all the fruits until all rotten and spoilt. i see children in trolleys jumping up and down. i see multin nationals doing their own things.press here and press there. nobody smile or say hello. all angry.long queues.cashiers all angry.no good morning or good day.all stressed up.

i go foodcourts worst! dirty plates.cluttered utensils.dirty tissue papers.all crowded.no seats carrying your soup walking all over the place.crowded.congested.no seats. nahbeh.got food but no seat.you see tissue paper reservations.you see bags reservation.you see angry people everywhere.you see lonely angry uncles and aunties. you see unconcerned loud mouth young people.you see rudeness.you see uncouth behaviour. nahbeh, this place is ruined...

I guess you are retired. No need to work or don't want to work. Of cos, you are happy lah! You have accepted yourself. That's good.

Sakae sushi charge for the drink only refill free la.
Many restaurant refill plain water also free.

I guess you are retired. No need to work or don't want to work. Of cos, you are happy lah! You have accepted yourself. That's good.

uncle still working actively and contributing to the society. not too old to retire yet. like you said: i have accepted myself and my present situation and the present environment. what i wrote here is just my observations. unhappiness everywhere.unlike those good old days when we were happier, more relaxed and less stress: and more united, more peaceful and more mutually care and concern for each other. today you die your business. die faster and earlier better.we have lost our souls. loss.loss.loss......you see blank faces almost everywhere.you see black hearts. you see violence. you smell evil.you feel intimidation. you are fearful.your are intimidated.you are trapped. your mouths are sealed. you dare not even fart! like that lah...