• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why SG is unable to produce real leaders...

printLogo.png

Team NZ win despite broken sail

By Paul Lewis in San Francisco
8:25 AM Monday Jul 22, 2013
AmericasCupSailing_Gree_220x147.jpg

Emirates Team New Zealand and Luna Rossa race again today. Photo / AP

It took two weeks but at last there was some real drama in the America's Cup racing even if the outcome was the same - New Zealand dominance.

New Zealand hearts were in mouths as a halyard broke early on the first upwind leg against Luna Rossa, letting the jib flap about in ungainly fashion. The crew struggled to control it, eventually giving it up and dumping $20,000 worth of sail in the drink.

It looked bad. The Emirates Team NZ crew have long warned against over-confidence, saying that these tough-to-sail 72-foot catamarans were only an accident or a breakage away from disaster - and the loss of the headsail could have precipitated that.

Aotearoa had shown its speed when catching up and passing the Italians after their good start - but the broken halyard looked to be a real opportunity for Luna Rossa.

It never happened. In 17-18 knots of breeze, the Kiwis made light of having no jib; one sail against the Italians' two on the longer 7-leg course.
At the bottom mark, before the halyard broke, the Kiwis were about 270m up on Luna Rossa but that looked a much slimmer margin as Team NZ slowed down with its flapping headsail. With Adam Beashel painfully hauling it down, hand over hand, the race for a moment looked poised for an upset.

Not a bit of it. The jib wasn't missed upwind - the Kiwis increased their lead to about 280m round the next mark in spite of the missing sail affecting their tacking. The real test was bearing away without a jib - a situation which can make the bows dig deeper in the water, a feature of both the Artemis and Oracle capsizes before this regatta.

Again, not a bit of it. Skipper Dean Barker managed the boat superbly, bearing away without any trouble and by the third mark, Luna Rossa were 42 seconds down, about 380m behind. From there, the Kiwis sailed smoothly, foiled well, held their foiling gybes and demonstrated better boat speed - even without the missing jib.

Luna Rossa did not help themselves with a couple of slow gybes and they somehow strayed over the course boundary, copping a 'go slow' penalty. By the end of the race, Emirates Team New Zealand had cleared out to win easing up, 2m 20s ahead of the Italians.

It wasn't all beer and skittles. The ETNZ chase boat ducked in to pick up the abandoned jib but got in the way of a closing Luna Rossa, making the Italian boat tack away. It looked likely to cause a protest or some form of redress even though it looked unlikely to affect the out come of the race.
And although some were positive about the Italians doing better than their five-minute defeat to ETNZ last time, the unspoken question was: if they can't beat Team NZ with a gear breakage, when can they beat them?

By Paul Lewis in San Francisco
- Herald on Sunday

Copyright ©2013, APN Holdings NZ Limited

Let’s face it, leaders and leadership material is developed when it is placed under challenging situations. For example, military commanders develop their skills from combat experience and leading men under combat situations. Military academies like West Point or Sandhurst can only teach one so much. The real learning is out in the field. The American and British armies are highly regarded because their senior leaders have seen some form of action sometime during their careers.

By contrast, the Singapore military favours book learning over actual combat experience. Yes, unlike the American and British armies we don’t go to war but we are also a nation that is obsessed with defense. We spend the largest percentage of our GDP in this region on defense. We do send people to UN Peace Keeping missions to give them a bit of exposure (technically peace keeping and war are two different things). You would imagine that we’d want our Generals to be a bit more seasoned rather than text-book soldiers. Unfortunately we don’t. When we had a general who acquired the closest thing to combat experience and was praised by the international community for his leadership, we demoted him and pushed him into retirement as fast we could. We promoted younger, less experienced but more book smart people over him.

There seems to be a cultural aversion to exposing bright people to challenges. Instead of testing out people under stress, the system seems to allow the chosen to avoid it and it gives them power over those who don’t have the luxury of avoiding hardship. Should it surprise anyone that Singapore fails to produce people with leadership qualities?

- http://desparatebeep.blogspot.sg/2013/07/can-singapore-produce-home-grown-leader.html

Let's face it, sinkieland only produces sinkies... dun you get it???

Singapore can't find real leaders because there aren't any.

It's very hard to produce leadership from a gene pool of peasant stock.

What Singapore needs to do is to improve the pedigree.

such a poor understanding of eugenics and the origins of man. go back to school before posting more crap on eugenics.

These experienced officers should stage a coup.

Wah lau, like that also can want. Promoted means permanent. Where got temporary promotion one? No wonder Sinkapore is the number 1 con job.

its a class war between the scholars and the farmers. obviously there's only space at the top for 1 - and its gonna be a scholar, not a farmer.

throw away the scholarship system, and let government sector pay private sector rates for talent.

Wah lau, like that also can want. Promoted means permanent. Where got temporary promotion one? No wonder Sinkapore is the number 1 con job.

How to stage coup when pappies appoint them in charge of training schools? Pappies not stupid okay...

Who says Singapore could not produce leader??? There are so many here in this forum!!! They want this guy to be sack that guy to be sack... This not behavior of a leader??:D

If you want Singaporean military leaders to experience defence, yes they have--East Timor, Afghanistan, UN Peacekeeping. But these are not given to the scholar generals. These are given to non-scholars promoted to general rank and then demoted when they return to Singapore and enever get the chance of being CDF, or army,navy or air force chief.

East Timor: Tan Huck Gim. Was made Major General. Returned to Singapore and reduced to BG. Never got the chance to be COA or CDF.

Gulf of Aden/Arabian Sea: Bernard Miranda. "Promoted" to Rear Admiral (1 star). Come back to Singapore, demoted to Colonel. Instead of being CNV, that when to the Ng Brothers. He was "forced" to retire.

We have one... BG promoted to leader with field experience of Sentosa cable car rescue mission.

Who says Singapore could not produce leader??? There are so many here in this forum!!! They want this guy to be sack that guy to be sack... This not behavior of a leader??:D

Hee Hee... Leader would not say direct like that.
He will task his subordinates to sack or do nasty things.
All forumers here are like brave warrior, fighting for fairness and fronting for unfortunate citizens.

This is what our SAF elite leader will do in a real battle field:
1) Ask their men to charge up hill without thinking through the consequences while he stand back holding a pistol ready to shoot those who defy his order
2) Ask their men to keep watch and look out for intrusion while he is sound asleep in his comfortable tent.
3) Ask their men to queue for meals while he is given priority to cut queue.
4) Ask their men to walk from point A to point B while he is driven along by a driver

Well tehnically the SAF/MINDEF claimed that these officers were promoted to outrank international allies (would you want a colonel to command a task group?). But returning to Singapore, they say no, sorry, revert back to old rank. My biggest point is that these people, Tan HG and B Miranda and others, were NOT chosen to be COA or CNV. Instead, the non-combat experience scholars like Fatso Ng Yat Chung get the post.

These are field promotion, no?

When the assignment is done, you revert back to your current rank.

Not demoted lah, because not 'Promoted' in the first place mah.

1) Ask their men to charge up hill without thinking through the consequences while he stand back holding a pistol ready to shoot those who defy his order
2) Ask their men to keep watch and look out for intrusion while he is sound asleep in his comfortable tent.
4) Ask their men to walk from point A to point B while he is driven along by a driver

Not all of them, I've had the opportunity to serve with a couple who will lead the charge, sleep in the field with the soldiers and will only eat when all of his men have taken their ration.

I'd gladly go for any confrontation with these few.

For the rest of the kee chew fucktard leader, the first round in my chamber will have their name written on it.

How you know?? So far everyone in complaining that they are paper general... They have not been tested at all... So whatever you say it what you think... It is not happening and I am quite sure we will not get an answer until we have a real war and I believe a lot of people here may not be able to live that long to witness 1!!!:rolleyes:

When there is a danger of actual armed confrontation they send non-scholars. What does that tell you ?
What are they doing ? Protecting their investments ?

@LEONGSAM
RE: Team NZ win despite broken sail
Well that Cap'n didn't come from peasant stock did he ?
Ask him to haul ass over here. We have an Island with a broken jib.

No need to be tested in real war or live long enough to witness it.
You'll already get to see all these happening in various exercises during peace time.

Not all of them, I've had the opportunity to serve with a couple who will lead the charge, sleep in the field with the soldiers and will only eat when all of his men have taken their ration.

I'd gladly go for any confrontation with these few.

For the rest of the kee chew fucktard leader, the first round in my chamber will have their name written on it.

You'll be lucky to have such a leader who can take care of his men during peace and war time.

These are 2 of the best ways to test whether a leader is good or not.
The first is when the food comes, and the second is when it is time to move or work.
Not only during army but also in corporate life.

These are field promotion, no?

When the assignment is done, you revert back to your current rank.

Not demoted lah, because not 'Promoted' in the first place mah.

My point is they were aftwerwards not considered for higher posts like COA or CNV

Why everything to you must be a coup? Have you not seen Egypt?