• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why Paul Tambayh's vote share in a SMC he contested previous dropped but Dr Chee's increased in a SMC he never contested before?

Indranee has zero ground work in Pasir Ris-Changi, it is a waste WP never sent a team there.

Those without covered walkways want covered walkways. Those with covered walkways want to ensure that they are properly maintained and the list goes on. Estate management expertise factor generally benefits PAP candidates because no other political party other than WP has experience in running a TC. Even for WP, it took them a while and many law suits before they got it right. Hence you see no dips in votes share for Hougang, Aljunied and Sengkang. The moment they slack, whether PAP or WP, it translates to instant vote loss in the next GE
So actually there are tonnes and tonnes of gansiokbin kind. A candidate who they trust can give them a better living environment is more important than the overall bad policies implemented by pap.
They think after arse fucked by pap they then can leeturn home to their comfortable walkways and shelter and paintings etc?
Hmm.. Strange people

So actually there are tonnes and tonnes of gansiokbin kind. A candidate who they trust can give them a better living environment is more important than the overall bad policies implemented by pap.
They think after arse fucked by pap they then can leeturn home to their comfortable walkways and shelter and paintings etc?
Hmm.. Strange people
There are. I even met some PAP voters who complained that their PAP MP never visited their blocks. They were so upset that they said they would vote oppie in GE.

Of course I didnt ask them why the fuck they need MP to visit them. Got money to take meh? But then again, no point arguing with them.

Indeed, many strange voters out there.

There are. I even met some PAP voters who complained that their PAP MP never visited their blocks. They were so upset that they said they would vote oppie in GE.

Of course I didnt ask them why the fuck they need MP to visit them. Got money to take meh? But then again, no point arguing with them.

Oh yes definitely.
I have seen countless of such comments.
I also cannot figure out the importance of mp visiting them meant so much to them. Probably they think visit more means more care shown.
Very simple minded people.
Naive.

Anyway from this we can also be Lee assured that gansiokbin is a naive simple stupid minded slut whore lah.

The Sinkie mindset is a very interesting one.

24/7 kao peh PAP, but deep down inside, they are too damn scared to choose alternative because they feel ‘safe’ with a known poison than an unknown substance like Oppo.

It’s like a stranger in a dark alley forcing u at gunpoint to choose to eat shit or an unknown pill. Eating shit may be gross, but u know u may survive. Taking an unknown pill (which could be cyanide) could be deadly.

Oh yes definitely.
I have seen countless of such comments.
I also cannot figure out the importance of mp visiting them meant so much to them. Probably they think visit more means more care shown.
Very simple minded people.
Naive.

Anyway from this we can also be Lee assured that gansiokbin is a naive simple stupid minded slut whore lah.
MP no need to visit, just need to respond to every message when your resident tag you if you think the resident ki siao.

Do you honestly think the voters five years ago are the same as today? Old farts die, new batch of first time voters, and demographic changes (Sinkies moving there from other towns, or newly minted Sinkie citizens stay there). :cool:

Chinese girls like Indian dicks in general but he look too much like a kopitian uncle, cannot get them wet

MP no need to visit, just need to respond to every message when your resident tag you if you think the resident ki siao.
Or is it those people always need to make polis Leeport and need their Mp to always be on standby to be their listening ears?

Bukit Panjang SMC shows that swing voters exist and good MPs get more votes​

Politics
Bukit Panjang SMC in this GE is basically a rematch of what happened in 2020. We have the same candidates, Liang Eng Hwa vs Paul Tambyah, same boundaries, and no new housing.

In 2020, LEH and PT are both new to the SMC and basically blank canvases. People vote based on what they know about the party and what they hear about the candidates. In the end, it was a 54/46 split in favour of PAP.

In 2025, PT is basically still the same guy that he was while LEH is also the same guy but with 5 years as MP to prove himself. I don't want to shill what he has done (you can google if you want to know) but he has been active on the ground and in parliament. He has shown himself to be a good MP in many people's eyes which might be why he got an 8% swing in votes.

If say hypothetically PAP fielded a new/unlikeable candidate (eg. Marshall Lim) against PT, there's a good chance the seat would go to SDP.

TLDR: The quality of PAP candidates matter too, good ones get rewarded with votes while new or rubbish candidates risk losing their seat.

The only explanation I can think of is voters like LEH more than PT in BP.

But for Sembawang, its the other way round, LOL.

People want to see boots on the ground. They want to know if you are serious.

If their MP never turned up, most likely oppositions also never bother to walk the ground. So it becomes evenly match.

Was expecting PT to get 48% and CSJ to get sub 40%. It turns out that the results swapped place.

PT result wasn't hard to explain. Incumbency effect plus PT walked the ground far too little.

CSJ very hard to explain. I got someone who consistently voted for PAP told me he would likely vote CSJ if he comes. Maybe sympathy votes or CSJ has that national branding?

Actually I still cannot understand the logic behind when people need to see which candidate the pap front and the candidate oppie fronting.

Is it becos if a pap candidate they find it good and credible means they think this fella will help them fight for their needs in parliament?

Or is it becos they think this good credible candidate can leecorate their town into better living enviroment?
Most residents want their MPs to look after their estate well to enhance the value of their HDB flats. They don't understand that we are actually voting for legislators in Parliament to make laws, raise issues and vote on bills. To them, the MP is like a highly paid estate manager - so if the MP is hardworking like LEH, they'll get the vote.

PT is involved in teaching, doing research, seeing patients - this limits his ground work. He spends a few hours every Tue with the residents - probably not enough.

Prof Paul Tambyah is a globally recognised infectious diseases authority. However, the residents of Bukit Panjang do not deserve such a figurehead of principled opposition in S'pore; they gave him a mere 38% of the vote. His defeat came not at the hands of a formidable candidate, but rather from the established political machinery that has consistently blocked accomplished individuals like Dr Tambyah from parliamentary office.

Most residents want their MPs to look after their estate well to enhance the value of their HDB flats. They don't understand that we are actually voting for legislators in Parliament to make laws, raise issues and vote on bills. To them, the MP is like a highly paid estate manager - so if the MP is hardworking like LEH, they'll get the vote.

PT is involved in teaching, doing research, seeing patients - this limits his ground work. He spends a few hours every Tue with the residents - probably not enough.
9 out of 10, if you ask them if they understand what a party whip is, they will look at you and give you that WTF look ? :thumbsdown: :o-o:

What is the point of your PAP MP speaking for you if they cannot vote against the wishes of the Party ? It's only chui gong lanpar song.

TCB was the only one who dared to abstain from voting. Even TCD didn't dare to vote against the Party whip.