• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

why my mum kao peh kao bu on the PAP but still support the PAP!!!

cheowyonglee

One reason why most oldies still support the PAP is because of Lee Kuan Yew.
I remember my grandfather told us the youngest this, the British founded Singapore and Lee Kuan Yew mordernise Singapore.

I have great respect for Mr Lee Kuan Yew for making Singapore what it is today.(take note, that is the past.I don't agree with most of their policy now! ;( )
Like my mum and my grandfather.But that doesnt mean we support most of their policy.

Example my mum, she keep nagging the rising price of HDB flat, the cost of living keep rising, how the casino had caused alot of broken families so on....!!!
But in the end when i asked her to vote for the worker's party in our GRC, she nagged at me.... " If not for Mr Lee Kuan Yew, we will not be staying in HDB flat."

A very typical oldies thinking.I can't change her mind.She's already going to vote for the PAP in my GRC.Funny is, she still nagged at why Workers Party want to risk getting a GRC and might lost Houngang.She still love to have 1 or 2 opposition party in the parliament so as to keep check on what the government is doing.But she still want to support PAP.

Arggg.... i wonder how many oldies like her think like this.One hand support the PAP, the other hand don't want the opposition to loose!!!

Anyone also have these kind of friends or relatives???

cheowyonglee

not to mention also, my mum said if we don't vote for the PAP, we will have a hard time getting a flat, and getting into the cilvil service job.I don't know how true is that?I think just these 2 point already make alot of votes going into the PAP side even if most of them don't like the PAP ruling.What you guys think???

cooleo

Sadly your mum is the typical elderly voter who will vote PAPpy dogs by default. They have forgotten that PAPpy dogs have been abusing the trust accumulated from the earlier years.

vamjok

same as my mum. i think as long the old fart is alive, the older uneducated one will vote for pap due to him

My parents used to be like that.........but changed their mindset about 2 elections ago.
This time round they are flying back from Aussieland (where they are staying with my bro) next week just to cast their votes.

THIS TIME SURE WATERSHED!!!!!!

patrickv

my folks staying in the hot battlegrd aljunied.

last GE my mum already voted for WP. dad i dunno cos never ask him.

yester i went bk home for dinner, ask my dad casually : pa, vote for oppo ok?.

my dad look at me as if why am i asking this stupid question.:confused: he say 'of cos lah, wp coming u know'. then he ask me how to pronounce chen sm's name in chinese. later he show me his hnadphone which he used to snap a picture of wp's election poster on the lamppost. lol.

its time to kick pap ass. the time is now.

chewed

not to mention also, my mum said if we don't vote for the PAP, we will have a hard time getting a flat, and getting into the cilvil service job.I don't know how true is that?I think just these 2 point already make alot of votes going into the PAP side even if most of them don't like the PAP ruling.What you guys think???

you seriously believe that? Last election in 2006, the PAP only got 66% of the votes. Does it mean that 33% of those who didn't vote PAP lost their civil service jobs, couldn't get HDB flats..??

Wake up!

peterpan777

One reason why most oldies still support the PAP is because of Lee Kuan Yew.
I remember my grandfather told us the youngest this, the British founded Singapore and Lee Kuan Yew mordernise Singapore.

I have great respect for Mr Lee Kuan Yew for making Singapore what it is today.(take note, that is the past.I don't agree with most of their policy now! ;( )
Like my mum and my grandfather.But that doesnt mean we support most of their policy.

Example my mum, she keep nagging the rising price of HDB flat, the cost of living keep rising, how the casino had caused alot of broken families so on....!!!
But in the end when i asked her to vote for the worker's party in our GRC, she nagged at me.... " If not for Mr Lee Kuan Yew, we will not be staying in HDB flat."

A very typical oldies thinking.I can't change her mind.She's already going to vote for the PAP in my GRC.Funny is, she still nagged at why Workers Party want to risk getting a GRC and might lost Houngang.She still love to have 1 or 2 opposition party in the parliament so as to keep check on what the government is doing.But she still want to support PAP.

Arggg.... i wonder how many oldies like her think like this.One hand support the PAP, the other hand don't want the opposition to loose!!!

Anyone also have these kind of friends or relatives???

My suggestion is ask them about your future. Are they going to decide for your future and let you decide for your future.

Tell your mom the voting system has just been changed. CROSS OUT [X] the Workers' party box at the poll. This means it is a "no" vote to WP.

Sperminator

From my opinion, the older generation, typically the baby boomers (approximately 55 years old till oldest in SGP), are supportive of PAP, as they were the benefactors of Lee Kwan Yew's Policies.

During that period of time, from 1965 till 1990s, these period were the GOLDEN AGE OF SINGAPORE.

Singapore is very relevant then, as the surrounding nations where not as competitive, in terms of Government, productivity, and quality...

In fact, Singapore have a very good future, as it's a very good regional port to supply to the SOUTH-EAST ASIA REGION.

Regional Trading have made many businessmen / women during that period 1965 - 1990s Rich and Successful...

Sorry to say, the Golden Age of Singapore is no longer as good...

We have Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand, Vietnam, and mostly China, developing faster and faster...

Just being a manufacturing base doesn't seem right, however, have to be in the TOP-END, Manufacturing Sector, or Technology Sector... going to R&D is the right way to go...

Zooming forward to now... this is an entirely different plane of competition.

The world is flat indeed... with the inclusion of Internet into today's world, the world is competed in a flat terrain...

In today's economic competition, it's more about BRAIN POWER...

In today's term, Quality is in demand that Quantity...

Service is in demand that tyranny...

Time have changed, in order to remain relevant, we need to support our Opposition Party... let them provide the alternative Policies.

Let them represent the voices of Singaporeans, as Singapore do not only belong to the Government, Singapore belongs to Singaporeans Citizens...

Vote for Opposition, Vote for Change, if you can, share with your parents gently on why you are supportive of the opposition... and tell them that it is important that they support the opposition, because YOU will be affected the most, and our parent's generation have already benefited from the older policies... time have changed, time to vote for change.

cheowyonglee

Tell your mom the voting system has just been changed. CROSS OUT [X] the Workers' party box at the poll. This means it is a "no" vote to WP.

hahaha....!!! Very good way sia...

israel-125year-old-man-laughing.jpg

Sperminator

Can you restrain your mother on POlling Day? And not let her get to the polling station?

If we do that, what different are we with the PAP?

We have to convince our parents why voting the Opposition is important... instead of by force, by truth, and by facts, is better...

Be gentle... alot of young Singaporeans are new to politics, and it can get emotional... we have to handle this issue carefully if you were to sway votes for Opposition.

Go for Opposition, Go for Change.

cheowyonglee

my folks staying in the hot battlegrd aljunied.

last GE my mum already voted for WP. dad i dunno cos never ask him.

yester i went bk home for dinner, ask my dad casually : pa, vote for oppo ok?.

my dad look at me as if why am i asking this stupid question.:confused: he say 'of cos lah, wp coming u know'. then he ask me how to pronounce chen sm's name in chinese. later he show me his hnadphone which he used to snap a picture of wp's election poster on the lamppost. lol.

its time to kick pap ass. the time is now.

iStock_000003827645XSmall1.jpg

you-re-really-good-thumbs-up--thumb17795635.jpg

thumbs+up.jpg

cheowyonglee

Can you restrain your mother on POlling Day? And not let her get to the polling station?

the most i can is to ask her to think again.if worker's party loose GRC and Houngang, Chiam also loose GRC and Potong Pasir, there will be no Opposition left in Singapore.In other words, PAP will "take good good care" of us for the next 5 years. :(

patrickv

can u say 'ah ma, pls leh. i your son. u dun trust me meh'.

my mum usually quite soft-hearted if like that.