Why is the crew of a sampan earning the highest pay?

Singapore remains a sampan, but an upgraded one: PM Lee
Sumiko Tan, Associate Editor In Paris
The Straits Times
Saturday, Nov 02, 2013

SINGAPORE will be in trouble if it thinks it has arrived and can afford to relax, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong indicated on Wednesday.

The country is small, and while it is no longer as poor and defenceless as it used to be, it must continue to be on its toes and work hard to improve.

Speaking to the Singapore media at the end of his official visit to France, he said "my eyes popped out" when he read a commentary in The Straits Times likening Singapore today to a cruise ship.

Commentator Koh Buck Song had argued in Monday's Opinion pages that Singapore politicians' oft-used metaphor of the country as a sampan, easily tossed about by the waves of global competition, was no longer valid.

He said it risked promoting small-mindedness and cramping national self-confidence and ambition.

Instead, Mr Koh said, Singapore was more like a well-oiled cruise ship that caters to every need.

As it offers the smoothest of journeys, passengers can relax because they feel secure, he added.

Mr Lee, however, warned: "Once you think you are in a cruise ship and you are on a holiday and everything must go swimmingly well and will be attended to for you, I think you are in trouble.

"We are small, we are not as poor as we used to be, we are not defenceless, we are able to fend for ourselves and to make a living for ourselves, and we are better off than before, and I think that we need to keep on working hard, to continue improving."

As to what might be a more appropriate metaphor, he said with a laugh: "I think we have upgraded our sampan. It's sampan 2.0."

He made these remarks when asked about the meetings he had held with French business leaders since he arrived on Sunday.

Mr Lee said the businessmen had a strong regard for the Republic and saw it as very useful because they could do business in the region from Singapore.

"So it's not just Singapore, but Singapore in the context of the region," he pointed out.

The businessmen were keen to find out more about Singapore's long-term strategy for economic development, and asked about the tightening of foreign talent and workers in recent years as it might have an impact on their business plans.

Mr Lee reiterated that Singapore had to find a balance when it comes to foreigners.

He said the number of foreign workers is "still a little higher than what we would like", but that was dependent on the state of the economy. It is now strong, and hence, there is a need for construction.

He also reiterated the need for society to integrate such that foreigners adapt to Singapore norms, and Singaporeans are open to them "in order to help ourselves prosper".

Integration has to happen in activities on the ground, as well as public messaging, he said, adding that intemperate language on the Internet that hits out at foreigners in a dismissive way does a lot of harm to Singapore.

"This is going to be work in progress for some time to come but we have to persevere."

The crew of a sampan should not be earning more than the crew of a cruise ship. Pinky should explain.

It takes a lot more skill to make an ocean crossing in a sampan compared to a cruise ship. That is why it is necessary to pay big bucks for a top notch crew.

A top notch crew would not be crewing a sampan...and a sampan does not go out to open sea and stay near the coast,,so what the big deal?

It takes a lot more skill to make an ocean crossing in a sampan compared to a cruise ship. That is why it is necessary to pay big bucks for a top notch crew.

A top notch crew would not be crewing a sampan...and a sampan does not go out to open sea and stay near the coast,,so what the big deal?

You are typical of most Singaporeans in that you do not realise the sorts of challenges that the country faces.

For historical reasons, Singapore is nothing more than a sampan. It would be nice if the country was a cruise ship but we have to face the realities of life.

However, in a globalised world, the sampan cannot afford to stay near the coast. It has to go out to sea in order to compete with the big boys. If it doesn't, the country will fall far behind the rest of the world.

Given these limitations, it is imperative that the best possible crew be hired in order to maximise the chances of this tiny little vessel being able to face the hazards of the open sea.

It is also important that all Singaporeans work together to chart the course. A sampan is too small to survive a mutiny. Everyone must work as a team.

Singapore has survived against all odds. The last thing it needs now is dissent within the ranks. Please support your able government in order to take the country to greater heights.

... As to what might be a more appropriate metaphor, he said with a laugh: "I think we have upgraded our sampan. It's sampan 2.0 ...
so, sinkielan has morphed from a fishy village in2 a sampan ...

last time, vietcong got boat people ... now sinkielan got sampan people ...

upgraded 2 sampan 2.0? ... got oso cum wif moni back guarantee? ...

Than u might as well say the singkie gahmen is the bestest,,so bestest that from sampan we become an aircraft carrier,,because spore overcome all the challenges due to the brillance of old fart etc etc,,,say we remain a sampan for F???

also the country faces challenges but the PAP is failing to deliver and failing to prepare for the future....and work as a team? how has PAP treated those that were against it? how many got thrown off the boat due to pap's education policy? work as a team my ass..

You are typical of most Singaporeans in that you do not realise the sorts of challenges that the country faces.

For historical reasons, Singapore is nothing more than a sampan. It would be nice if the country was a cruise ship but we have to face the realities of life.

However, in a globalised world, the sampan cannot afford to stay near the coast. It has to go out to sea in order to compete with the big boys. If it doesn't, the country will fall far behind the rest of the world.

Given these limitations, it is imperative that the best possible crew be hired in order to maximise the chances of this tiny little vessel being able to face the hazards of the open sea.

It is also important that all Singaporeans work together to chart the course. A sampan is too small to survive a mutiny. Everyone must work as a team.

Singapore has survived against all odds. The last thing it needs now is dissent within the ranks. Please support your able government in order to take the country to greater heights.

Than u might as well say the singkie gahmen is the bestest,,so bestest that from sampan we become an aircraft carrier,,because spore overcome all the challenges due to the brillance of old fart etc etc,,,say we remain a sampan for F???

also the country faces challenges but the PAP is failing to deliver and failing to prepare for the future....and work as a team? how has PAP treated those that were against it? how many got thrown off the boat due to pap's education policy? work as a team my ass..

It is attitudes like yours that will cause the downfall of the country. You should be ashamed of yourself. If the earlier generations had adopted the same stance, Singapore would still be a fishing village.

It appears that all the effort my generation put in is going down the drain. :rolleyes:

Pinky's choices of metaphors are horrendous:

1. mee siam mai hum
2. chillis and onions
3. sampan
etc

He treats the electorate as stupid.

Pinky's choices of metaphors are horrendous:

1. mee siam mai hum
2. chillis and onions
3. sampan
etc

He treats the electorate as stupid.

In any electorate, 50% have below average intelligence.

Our SG sampan only cruise in a big longkang how come have to pay million?
Can't even go out Changi open seas or it will capsized!

Our SG sampan only cruise in a big longkang how come have to pay million?
Can't even go out Changi open seas or it will capsized!

That's not true. Singapore is up there with the best in the world. It has such a talented crew that they have often sailed further and faster than a cruise ship.

Take a look at how Singapore ranks

http://www.edb.gov.sg/content/edb/en/why-singapore/about-singapore/facts-and-rankings/rankings.html

http://travel.cnn.com/singapore/none/worlds-greatest-city-50-reasons-why-singapore-no-1-399897

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/International_rankings_of_Singapore

There is loads of info out there. You should be proud of your leaders. They have done an excellent job.

I agree. If after 50 years all we have is a sampan, then we might as well stay a fishing village. And this is my problem with the PM . He thinks too bloody small. Or to put it another way , he only has a very small vision for Singapore. Who the hell wants to to keep sailing in a sampan for eternity. And if all you can come up with is a sampan then why sail across open seas ? Build a bigger boat or tie yourself to the anchor and take a swim.

That's not true. Singapore is up there with the best in the world. It has such a talented crew that they have often sailed further and faster than a cruise ship.

Take a look at how Singapore ranks

http://www.edb.gov.sg/content/edb/en/why-singapore/about-singapore/facts-and-rankings/rankings.html

http://travel.cnn.com/singapore/none/worlds-greatest-city-50-reasons-why-singapore-no-1-399897

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/International_rankings_of_Singapore

There is loads of info out there. You should be proud of your leaders. They have done an excellent job.

I agree . They have done an excellent job........for themselves.

Look at the BS Boss Sam is sprouting about a top notch crew for a sampan,,might as well say a top notch crew for a bamboo raft better...the current pap leaders are clowns and assholes of the 1st degree the sooner boss sam sees it,,the smarter he will look,,,,,

I agree. If after 50 years all we have is a sampan, then we might as well stay a fishing village. And this is my problem with the PM . He thinks too bloody small. Or to put it another way , he only has a very small vision for Singapore. Who the hell wants to to keep sailing in a sampan for eternity. And if all you can come up with is a sampan then why sail across open seas ? Build a bigger boat or tie yourself to the anchor and take a swim.

the oppost should go and ask malaysian politicians why they can afford so much property with their small salary. maybe if they can find the solution to malaysia problem then they can complain about gov salary back home.

gondolier earn a lot of money too, they need a lot of skill to operate.

no i am just kidding.