• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why Employment Agencies need to hire FTrash recruitment consultants?

[h=2]Why Employment Agencies need to hire FT recruitment consultants?[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
March 23rd, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

michaelpage-300x108.png
Recent years, I have seen more and more recruitment consultants and/or head-hunters who are non-Singaporean. It can be a single man SOHO shop to an international global HR firm, more and more are flooding in. This makes me wonder why this has become an increasing trend in Singapore.
This month I was in town and I took a recruitment magazine called HeadHunt and did a simple tabulation as follows and it confirms my suspicion that we are having so many foreigners are being recruited as consultant/head-hunter.
I would like to bring a special attention to a statement made by foreigner recruiter named Ben from VoltAsia who wrote: “If you are an experienced C&B candidate and looking for your first role in Singapore, this could be your chance.” Isn’t this an open invitation to anyone whom has no experience in Asia to apply for this job?
As such, I would like to raise the following questions:

1. Is Singaporean giving such job a miss because we lack the skill-sets to handle recruitment activities and client management?
  2. What value does this foreigner hired as recruitment consultant/head-hunter brings?
  3. Is this due to the reason that hiring manager or human resource manager is only willing to deal with their own kind, i.e. race, nationality?
  4. Is this the reason why we are seeing more foreigners in Singapore because these foreigners are bringing in their network of friends overseas and giving Singaporean PMETs a miss deliberately?
  5. Can MOM provide a statistic of EAs with further breakdown on the number of Singaporean placement vis-à-vis Foreigner placement done by the agencies
  6. Can MOM provide a statistic on the percentage of foreigners (type of passes) and PRs working in EAs in Singapore vis-à-vis the number of Singaporean hired as recruitment consultants/head-hunter? Are all CEI Certified?
  7. Why are foreign recruitment agencies located overseas allowed to source for candidates for their client’s Singapore operation?
1Joanna Reld1
Jon Tay1
Clifford Wong1
Grant Torrens1
Vargin Yeke1
Kevin Immerman1
Ella Ngiam1
Will Russell1
Mark Spary1
Shalynn Ler1
Total HAYS73
2Malcolm Rozario1
Pinky Tan1
Richard Burfitt1
Total IPS21
3Hasan Khan1
Franck Johnson1
Andrew Davis1
Antoine Lamy1
Julien Raze1
Hayley Cole
Adam Faulkner1
Ken Lim1
Total Michael61
4Siti Ridwan1
Yanni Maat1
Charlene Ong1
Ben Batten1
Total Volt22
5Ajitha Ranasinghe1
Paul Zhong1
Serene Tan1
Total REED12
6Russell Harrison1
Geraldine Tay1
Jayson Ong1
Hayden Tan1
David Gan1
Total DRAKE14
7Cedric Tay1
Pamela Baltazar1
Ananya Sinha Roy1
Simon Triggs1
Total Vertical31
8Charanjiy Narang1
Bryan Ong1
Total Swiss11
9Julie Wong1
Helen Lau1
Kit Yee1
Sarah Kuan1
Ho Pang Ming1
Jasmine Zhang1
Nicole Lim1
Grace Lee1
Law Yi Fang1
Joanne Lee1
Total GMP010
10Alkie Liew1
Rain Kuek1
Total Recruit02
11Maricel1
Linda1
Chris Leong1
Rosabel1
Total Chris13
Grand Total (all agencies above)2430

<COLGROUP><COL width=64></COL><COL width=73></COL><COL width=178></COL><COL width=106></COL><COL width=28></COL><COL width=45></COL><COL width=90></COL></COLGROUP><TBODY>
[TD="width: 64"] S/N [/TD]
[TD="width: 73"] Name of Agencies [/TD]
[TD="width: 178"] Position Posted [/TD]
[TD="width: 106"] Names of Consultant [/TD]
[TD="width: 28"] FT [/TD]
[TD="width: 45"] Local* [/TD]
[TD="width: 90"] Remarks [/TD]

[TD="width: 73"]HAYS[/TD]
[TD="width: 178"]Quantity Surveyor[/TD]

[TD="width: 90"][/TD]

[TD="width: 73"][/TD]
[TD="width: 178"]Logistics Process Manager[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Senior Commercial Lawyer[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Asia Shared Services Change Manager[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Regional C&B Manager[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Project Manager[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Head of Compliance[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Internal Auditor[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]FX Operations Head[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Finance Change Manager[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"][/TD]

[TD="width: 90"] 70% foreigner [/TD]

[TD="width: 73"]IPS Search[/TD]
[TD="width: 178"]Marine Manager/ Casualty Underwriter/ Account Manager[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Regional Director/ Underwriting Assistant/ Financial Accountant[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Product Manager/ Investment Manager/ Private Clients Manager[/TD]

[TD="width: 90"] 67% foreigner [/TD]

[TD="width: 73"]Michael Page[/TD]
[TD="width: 178"]Regional Facilities Manager[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]VP HR, APAC[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Marketing Manager[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Recruitment Consultant[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Experienced Project Manager[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Sales Executive[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]General Manager[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Regional Finance Manager[/TD]

[TD="width: 90"] 86% foreigner [/TD]

[TD="width: 73"]VoltAsia[/TD]
[TD="width: 178"]Regulatory Compliance Executive[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Regional Supply Chain Finance Manager[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Regional Voice Engineer[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Director, C&B[/TD]

[TD="width: 90"]If you are an experienced C&B candidate and looking for your first role in Singapore, this could be your chance.[/TD]

[TD="width: 90"] 50% foreigner [/TD]

[TD="width: 73"]REED[/TD]
[TD="width: 178"]C&B Manager[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Senior Regional Compliance Manager[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Key Account Manager[/TD]

[TD="width: 90"] 33% foreigner [/TD]

[TD="width: 73"]DRAKE[/TD]
[TD="width: 178"]Senior Recruitment Consultant[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Financial Analyst[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Business Development Manager[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Senior Operations Manager[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Engineering Sales Manager[/TD]

[TD="width: 90"] 20% foreigner [/TD]

[TD="width: 73"]Vertical Talent[/TD]
[TD="width: 178"]Senior Procurement Specialist[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Tanker Operator[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Global Business Analyst[/TD]

[TD="width: 90"] 75% foreigner [/TD]

[TD="width: 73"]Swiss inx[/TD]
[TD="width: 178"]Investment Manager[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Department Head[/TD]

[TD="width: 90"] 50% foreigner [/TD]

[TD="width: 73"]GMP[/TD]
[TD="width: 178"]Junior Analyst[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Compliance Manager[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Credit Analyst[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Securities Operations Analyst[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Regional FA[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Claims Manager[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Senior Project Engineer[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]IT Infrastructure PM[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]HR Manager[/TD]

[TD="width: 90"] 0% foreigner [/TD]

[TD="width: 73"]Recruitplus[/TD]
[TD="width: 178"]Cloud Solution Architect[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]L&D Manager[/TD]

[TD="width: 90"] 0% foreigner [/TD]

[TD="width: 73"]Chris Consulting[/TD]
[TD="width: 178"]Strategic Business[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Wealth Advisor[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Private Trust Services[/TD]

[TD="width: 178"]Retail & Marketing Manager[/TD]

[TD="width: 90"] 25% foreigner [/TD]

[TD="width: 90"] 44% foreigner [/TD]

[TD="colspan: 4"]Source:- 07 Mar – 20 Mar 2013, HeadHunt Magazine[/TD]

[TD="colspan: 7"]*Note: On the column “Local”, I am not able to establish if they are Singaporean or PR.[/TD]

</TBODY>
The above is further proof that PMET jobs that Singaporean can perform are being taken up by foreigners because of the loose unchecked open policies implemented by our ruling government.
From this magazine alone, 24 PMET jobs are being given to foreigners for reason/s unknown to us except the EAs, employers and our government. All I know is that one does not need to be a rocket or nuclear scientist to qualify.
Please feel free to comment and/or sent this to relevant authorities for their comments.
For Singaporean
Editor’s note: We have sent this to one of the EAs, Michale Page International, for comments.

Why don't u email send direct to MOM Minister Tan Jin Chuan and cc to TAFEP (Tripartite Alliance for Fair Employment Practices).Occasionally we see the TAFEP advertisements in the SHIT TIMES but no use if the MOM do not enforce and take punitive actions against the errant Singapore Employers.

Plenty of these rubbish in the advertising, construction, architectural, shipping industry. I thought that each company has a quota for foreigners? But from my observation (I visit companies everyday for my work), more and more companies are having a staff strength which is more than 70% foreign thrashes.

bro, the quotas only for S-Pass and Work Permits which is in mainly the construction/marine sectors and the maids. The ones in the office are most probably on Employment Passes which do not need quota. That's why most PMETs are in and out of jobs coz there are just too many Employment Pass holders in SG now........

But brother, those people are doing the jobs of admin, clerks and jobs that ordinary folks in Singapore can do. How on earth can they get a EP?

oh...then something funny is going on....they must be by passing the system....the local employees in those companies need to speak up and whistle blow if there is something wrong. sinkies need to speak up for sinkies....

I see a trend. Low level administrative/executive roles use sinkie recruitment consultants while middle management, professional roles use FT recruitment consultants. If recruitment consultants are FTs, they are likely to have better reach in their respective home countries to the credible candidates for local positions.

I think there are two key issues. While foreign candidates may be better qualified or more experienced for the mid level and professional roles in Singapore, you really have to ask why the hiring company was unable to train up or promote internally to fill these positions in the first place.

The second issue is, given that a company can always procure better and more qualified candidates from abroad, where does that leave aspiring young candidates fresh out from school who wish to develop a career in their respective fields? Let us assume they are capable of handling the jobs. In this country they may never get a chance to even exercise the skills they picked up in their respective trades. What a huge waste of human capital. The government might as well stop schooling children after the O levels. Fucking neoliberal quacks.

I've met a couple of them and I have to say that there's nothing special about them. I can only guess that they hire FTs because the turnover rate in recruitment agencies are very high.

I doubt it is very satisfying work but as long as a position is filled by a consultant, both the agency and the consultant gets a cut. When the goal is to source for the best candidate to fill a vacant position for the client, naturally if the consultant can tap into capable candidates from another country, they have an edge over local recruitment consultants.

These are consultants who are recruiting locally for low to mid level positions. They are not the ones with overseas network. In fact I think they are not even on par with local consultants who know who is who in the industry.

Indeed. The overseas network is a natural advantage for foreign-born consultants looking to fill middle- to upper-tier roles.

This is what happens when you have a greedy and selfish garment !

aiyah! u all copy paste news and talk so much for what? vote pap out lah.
employment pass no quota? sure or not? no wonder all the PMET jobless or force to take lower pay.
vote pap out lah, root of all evil. solve all the problems.

Our lowest tier EP is their S-pass in their ctry. So coming to SGP benefit their losers to come here to later go back and claim worldly experiences.