• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why does the PAP gahmen lick Bueinesses and vice versa?

DuYunQi

I read the news that SMEs complain that not enough foreigners to hire and say some have to shut down operations or move out of sg.

Then I saw on TV report on ONE kopi tiam say that because of no more foreign worker for them, they need to ask customers to self-serve when ordering drinks.. and that business drop by whatever %.

And lastly.. NTUC suggests that companies give fathers a 2 week paternity leave.. but businesses asks for gahmen to subsidize their expenses..

Seriously.. I have never seen a government react and listen SOOO much to businesses, rather than to the voters who put them in office in the first place!

Yes, Sg needs businesses to come to invest.. but surely it is the BUEINESSES that has to follow SG's laws... correct?!!
The SG government drafts up laws and policies.. supposedly for the sake of the country and it's people. Why so much emphasis on BUSINESSES?

We have gone wrong somewhere in addressing concerns of the "people", where the people are not represented by the voters, ie the citizens of Singapore.. but by business entities and owners.

If you let businesses lead the way, then the people will suffer, for business only exist for ONE purpose.. PROFITS!
Businesses don't care about welfare or the environment.. look at the state of the Planet we live in now... many species of animals, plants and fish have gone extinct.. and are continuing to be on the endangered list because businesses continue what they do best.. toil the mother Earth and gain profits from the sales of the goods they get.

PAP should no behave like they are "kowtowing" to the businesses, rather they should make it clear that businesses should follow the laws and help to comply with the policies set in place by the government..

The over-reliance on each other doesn't look to be a good parthership for Sg citizens now.. or for future generations.

Stop the mutual balls licking and sit up to listen to the real PEOPLE.

I sound batman1's call to arms.. Fark the PAP! Fark the daft 60%!! Fark the Singaproe employers who hire cheap foreign labour over SG itizens!!

Cruxx

Seems like the fabled self-reliance of Singaporeans is nothing more than a myth. :rolleyes:

DuYunQi

Seems like the fabled self-reliance of Singaporeans is nothing more than a myth. :rolleyes:

I thought all along Sporeans looked to the gahmen for answers to almost everything.. but now.. even the pappies have run dry of them.. otherwise they won't be coming out with "national conservation" to ask sporeans what they want.. or whatever.

It's like those "think of a slogan" contest by eg pepsi, coke.. or any other brand of anything.. they wan ideas.. and their own people aren't giving it to them.. so they ask from outside their organization.. wif prizes in store for the winner.

Guess what price Sporeans have for giving good ideas to pappies? I shudder to think...

a dyi campaign is definitely in the works to get sinkies to be more self-reliant, self-aware, and self-serving. there'll be less maids, mei mei and mama-san to jerk sinkie guys off from now on. :rolleyes:

dredd

I thought all along Sporeans looked to the gahmen for answers to almost everything.. but now.. even the pappies have run dry of them.. otherwise they won't be coming out with "national conservation" to ask sporeans what they want.. or whatever.

The gahment has not run dry of ideas. They want to appear as if they are "talking" with the electorate. In reality, they are already set in what they want to do - with or without your consent.

batman1

Corruption,collusion and nepotism is deeply ingrained and embedded in Singapore Incorporated (Singapore is not a country) managed by the corrupt and authoritarian PAP.The picture is very clear and obvious unless u are blind and dumb or have resigned to your fate to be downtrodden and tortured by the corrupt PAP.For the 30 years,the evil structure of govt/employers/FAKE NTUC is to suppress and oppress the rights and interests of the singapore workers.
DO NOT FORGET collusion between the govt and big businesses do not the really benefit the ordinary people e.g.How much money the govt received as revenue from the 2 casinos ? How many singaporeans (Not PRs) were actually employed in the 2 casinos ?
How many PRs and Foreigners were employed in the 2 casinos ?

DuYunQi

How many singaporeans (Not PRs) were actually employed in the 2 casinos ?
How many PRs and Foreigners were employed in the 2 casinos ?

Funny u should mention this. I personally went down to both IR walk-in interviews.. it was supposed to be for "SG locals and PRs"
but guess what, once they see my actual age, they had this to say, "we are looking for candidates who haf experience in the hotel industry."

I was so pissed.. but I smiled and asked them "I'm curious, do you mean you will want to pay more for ppl to jump ship? Or you want them to start at a junior or entry level and pay?" I gave them the dumb look and the interviewer was stumped for an answer.. she mumbled something like, "we will see each candidate and discus from there..."

I then asked her, does having cust svc experience and being complimented by customers before be a good indication of being a successful candidate. She looked me in the eye and said, "of course."

I then pointed to her, on my resume, the fact that I received compliments from customers (with proof from the company I worked at) and then asked her again, "i know I don't have hotel experience, but will excellent customer service be a good thing for an entry level position?"

Again she was stumped, as I caught her red-handed for not even reading what I had to offer.
She knitted her eyebrows and repeated, "Wer're really looking for people with hotel experience."

I again smiled and thanked her for her time, raising my voice to say, "Thank you so much for your time, and I understand you are looking for peopel with HOTEL experience for an entry position."

I left and later heard a commotion from the rest of the people there who were waiting to be interviewed.. I even heard one saying, "har? nid hotel experience ah? why din say in first place?! Waste my time to come here!!"

My relative, who likes to play jackpot, went to both IRs and said that the majority of the ppl in there were speaking in weird acented english.. not your typical Singlish or proper English. I told her to not be surprised, as both IRs learn to cut costs by hiring FTs as well. Remember the saying, "when in rome, do as the romans do."

Fark the PAP!!

DuYunQi

t68 asked me y i so hot about kopi tiam ppl complain cant hire foreigner and got drop in customers.. blah blah.

Think of it... most kopi tiams that sell GOOD FOOD (tasty and/or reasonable price) have long queues. Most got ppl serve you drinks, but some are self-service too. If a kopi tiam has dwindling customers, it's either food bad, price high, or both.. and maybe even location not good, or no aircon or good ventilation. Nobody serving you drinks is the least thing to stop customers from going to any kopi tiam.

Look at macs, is the food good? Not really (to me anyways). Is it cheap? I seriously don't think so. But got aircon, and some find it trendy.. they got complain drop in customers after foreigner numbers got restricted by govt?

And restaurants, they serve you for almost everything. Restrict foreigner in process, why no restaurants complain or shown on tv or news?

And why show only ONE kopi tiam??!!!

A show again!! That's how I see it. nothing but a show.

the worst thing that the MOM minister can say, (to me anyways) is that they noticed S-passes numbers went up, and "think" companies might be hiring junior or entry level foreigners. what he mean "think".. he don't know? S-passes go thru MOM.. you mean companies don't put down what role, title or positions the S-pass holder is taking up in the organization?

And he said, "we will closely monitor this ..".. what the shyt man. Take how long?
All manpower data and figures should be at his finger-tips.. but he can act like he not so sure. Then why is he there? Why put him in charge and waste our tax monies?!!!

And to those employers (be it SG locals or not) who say that if cannot increase hiring foreigner numbers, might haf to relocate.. i say this.. RELOCATE! GO! If you are a sg local, and start biz here but dun wan to hire locals.. just get the hell out of SG and set up biz elsewhere!

to those not sg locals, if you dun want to hire sg locals when u set up biz here.. why the fark do you want to come here in the first place? Use our resources and dun wan to give back to sg.. better get the hell out!

Businesses should understand this, if you gg to any country to do business, you have to follow the country's laws and even policies.. in order not to incur wrath of ppl and govt.

But I guess Sg is an exception.. cos I feel that PAP has sold out all Singaporeans already by allowing so many foreigners to come in.. and letting businesses have a field day picking and setting the rules. Now.. try to wean an "addict" off their "addiction".. it won't be easy. Not everyone likes cold turkey and not everyone can succeed from it.

Bye bye SG. We got sold out!!! That's the bottom-line!

wMulew

Loser opposition supporters complain about ft. When service drop our cost go up due to lack of ft complain again. Fucking retards should stop complaining and just look at a mirror

Tension68

Loser opposition supporters complain about ft. When service drop our cost go up due to lack of ft complain again. Fucking retards should stop complaining and just look at a mirror

How do you noe that ONLY opposition supporters complain about ft?
You check this forum posting and the posters' IP addresses and trace them and then compare to some data you haf?
And what about those in newspaper forums who complain about FT?
You did a background check on them too?
Kopi chat leh? You also go do check ah? You from which dept of ISD ah?

Microsoft

How do you noe that ONLY opposition supporters complain about ft?

Chiu r rite...recently moi met a RC member...bery surprise she oso cumplain bout all the new FT tat move in dis few yrs...in fact...she's quite unhappy...not jus unhappy...

Q: Why does the PAP gahmen lick Bueinesses and vice versa?

A: The PAP runs a government of kleptocrats and plutocrats, and hence it is extremely right-wing and pro-business. A textbook case of a corporate fascist state.

In fact, the PAP govt itself, including all its rank and file members ranging from the top ministers to the lowest sycophants, have tons of business interests invested in this regime. The govt itself is a business which relentlessly seeks profit maximization above all things. Everything has been meticulously calibrated (CPF, COE, land sales, education, healthcare, suppression of any real labour movement etc) towards this ultimate objective.

Most Singaporeans (60%) wouldn't have it any other way.
A nation of sheep deserves a government of wolves.

DuYunQi

Q: Why does the PAP gahmen lick Bueinesses and vice versa?

A: The PAP runs a government of kleptocrats and plutocrats, and hence it is extremely right-wing and pro-business. A textbook case of a corporate fascist state.

In fact, the PAP govt itself, including all its rank and file members ranging from the top ministers to the lowest sycophants, have tons of business interests invested in this regime. The govt itself is a business which relentlessly seeks profit maximization above all things. Everything has been meticulously calibrated (CPF, COE, land sales, education, healthcare, suppression of any real labour movement etc) towards this ultimate objective.

Most Singaporeans (60%) wouldn't have it any other way.
A nation of sheep deserves a government of wolves.

Well said, well pointed out.. and woes to the rest of Sg locals who are not sheep and who are bearing the brunt of the ridiculous policies and even criticisms from the govt.

No real labour movement means no group to really fight for the rights of employees. Unions here are a frigging freak-show of wannabe clowns and low-class actors. Sigh.. if what the say about the mayan calendar is correct.. then the end is a welcomed relief to this enduring misery.

Tension68

No real labour movement means no group to really fight for the rights of employees. Unions here are a frigging freak-show of wannabe clowns and low-class actors. Sigh.. if what the say about the mayan calendar is correct.. then the end is a welcomed relief to this enduring misery.

It's the kia si mentality la. U wan to be activist ah? pappies will send ppl to find out the ldr and put that person in detention somewhere..
That is y ppl dun wan to do anything.. all no balls (me included.. cos I still nid to earn n feed my parents...)
Who wans to be put away for duno how long. wif no means of appeal or even fair trial?
dats y dun compare wif HK and even Msia or Indonesia.. they dare to protest and strike.. we.. jus keep silent nia...

TakKiewPeng

You scratch my back, I scratch yours...

Will you? Really? Send photo, pm me. Can arrange.

:*:

1349552333679027_animate.gif

DuYunQi

dats y dun compare wif HK and even Msia or Indonesia.. they dare to protest and strike.. we.. jus keep silent nia...

Actually, I feel that the sentiments here has not risen to make enought ppl want to go to the streest and really voice out their frustrations. One factor is cos the gahmen is really doing alot of "underground" work to try to still "brainwash" these ppl.

The CDCs try to give out "help"and so some of those displaced might at first think that they are at least, being looked after. But after some time, even they will be disillusioned and frustrated cos they can't snag that job.

Think of it.. CDCs are part of the gahmen's efforts. So if govt officies, ministries and stat boards have placements, CDCs should be the first to know, and in effect, notify those that they have on hand, who are qualified, to go for placements.. right?

NO!! I went to CDC, I was referred to job/recruitment agencies that are third parties for even stat board and ministries temp jobs. So what in fact are the CDCs for?

Who owns the agencies? Linked? I don't know. And frankly, I'm getting a bit numb.. because when they tell me to go for workshops, the message at these workshops are:-

1) be open-minded
2) take whatever job you can, wait for a better one while working
3) lower your expectations or work for free to get experience

Now.. the above "SEEMS" to make sense. Until you takl to a new U grad, who tells you that these are the same advice that was given to them!

If those that went to e2i and CDC are PME or even Ts, I'm sure they have some work.. or maybe ALOT of work experience.. so why can't they get work that they have experience in?

The big word.. FOREIGNERS comes to mind. We're being displaced.. and I feel that the only way to have a change is to start something.

Think of it, the qing dynasty came to an end when it let the foreigners take over China. Until the people could see no future in what the empire was doing, as land was "rented" out to the foreigners.. Shanghai was cut into many different sectors, governed and run by different countries that "entered" China.

Do we want to see Singapore become carved out and run by the different ppl that we are letting in before we do something about it? Sacrifices must be made.. and I think the Unhappy meter is really rising.. but not fast enough, as the pappies are really working hard to try to smother the sparks.

The question is, how long will it take for the masses to realize that their homes, lives, future, as well as their future generation are at stake if they don't do something.. and fast.