• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why does HDB mark up prices of 3- to 5-room flats so high?

kryonlight

SkyPeak @ Bukit Batok

http://esales.hdb.gov.sg/hdbvsf/eampu03p.nsf/0/13MARBTOBB_page_1829/$file/about1.htm

Assuming internal floor area of 45 sqm for 2-room flat and selling at $117K, 1 sqm sells for $2600.

3-room flat internal floor area is 65 sqm, should be selling at $2600 * 65 = $169K. But they are selling at minimum of $209K, which is an additional profit of $40K.

4-room flat internal floor area is 90 sqm, should be selling at $2600 * 90 = $234K. But they are selling at minimum of $294K, which is an additional profit of $60K.

5-room flat internal floor area is 110 sqm, should be selling at $2600 * 110 = $286K. But they are selling at minimum of $411K, which is an additional profit of $125K.

This is crazy pricing.

Hah! When I bought a 4rm(10th flr) BTO in Sembawang 4yrs back was only SGD155k. With the price now I can't afford a 3rm flat. Wah SG govt really taking good care of sinkies:)

Only fools will pay this kinda money for this amount of space.

Pappies cannot price it low.
Doing that is treason as it would be akin to raiding the reserves.
Reserves is the private gambling fund of lee dynasty....

Pappies cannot price it low.
Doing that is treason as it would be akin to raiding the reserves.
Reserves is the private gambling fund of lee dynasty....

CPF stands for Continuous Punting Fund, one day we wake up & find ourselves in a "Cyprus" crises, our CPF is almost zero & they charge you 10% tax to withdraw, or they offer you 30 year bonds with coupons at 2.5% rate.

SkyPeak @ Bukit Batok

http://esales.hdb.gov.sg/hdbvsf/eampu03p.nsf/0/13MARBTOBB_page_1829/$file/about1.htm

Assuming internal floor area of 45 sqm for 2-room flat and selling at $117K, 1 sqm sells for $2600.

3-room flat internal floor area is 65 sqm, should be selling at $2600 * 65 = $169K. But they are selling at minimum of $209K, which is an additional profit of $40K.

4-room flat internal floor area is 90 sqm, should be selling at $2600 * 90 = $234K. But they are selling at minimum of $294K, which is an additional profit of $60K.

5-room flat internal floor area is 110 sqm, should be selling at $2600 * 110 = $286K. But they are selling at minimum of $411K, which is an additional profit of $125K.

This is crazy pricing.

This is like buying icecream. 2 scoops for $2, but 3 scoops for $3.2, 4 scoops for $4.8 and 5 scoops for $7. Nobody will run business like that.

But then, this is all about subsidies. Our government is acting like Robin Hood, robbing the rich and subsiding the poor. ;)

They can do that cos there are people who are too poor to migrate out of this country or can't afford condos. No choice have to suck thumb and buy expensive HDB flats.

Simple economics.

This is like buying icecream. 2 scoops for $2, but 3 scoops for $3.2, 4 scoops for $4.8 and 5 scoops for $7. Nobody will run business like that.

But then, this is all about subsidies. Our government is acting like Robin Hood, robbing the rich and subsiding the poor. ;)

Nobody that stays in HDB can be considered rich.
Pappies will never rob the rich to pay the poor.....they will rob the rich to pay themselves.
Also the word subsidy in sinkie context has a totally different meaning.

They can do that cos there are people who are too poor to migrate out of this country or can't afford condos. No choice have to suck thumb and buy expensive HDB flats.

Simple economics.

1. aiyoh!
2. if those dafter sheep cannot afford "affordable" accommodation.
3. there shall be one good solution coming its way.
4. high-speed train to mudland to live, eat, shit & die.
5. where it is affordable hoh.
6. daily travel back to sheepishland to work loh!
7. this is all in miw's pipeline:D

HDB is trying to play trick with your eye without revealing the size of the flat in the main newspaper and all major channels.

You did not see the actual mark up.

You must convert the price into per square foot. (psf)

Some is as high as $600 psf.

Before anyone buy; please convert the price to psf. Old 4 room in matured estate may be cheaper than a 5 room in a new town. And the old 4 room is much bigger as compare to the new 5 room.

HDB is trying to play trick with your eye without revealing the size of the flat in the main newspaper and all major channels.

how much time do you spend sitting on the air con ledge? wait till you see HDB flats with bay windows and planter areas and asking you to pay through your nose for it! :eek::eek::eek:

800px-Lee_Hsien-Loong_-_World_Economic_Forum_Annual_Meeting_2012.jpg

Bukit Batok 5 rm flat oni selling at $532k...sinkie...if u cnot afford...go kill urself...all moi rich ah tiong, ah neh, peenoy imports no problem buying...

A lot of HDB buyers are first time buyer of any property.

HDB is taking this as an advantage into smoke them into believing that they are buying a bigger flat when they choose 5 room.

I will buy 4 room on the lowest floor. (base my my calculus)

havent add in the cost of doors yet.

SkyPeak @ Bukit Batok

This is crazy pricing.

Dumbfuck opposition supporting retard. Small flats 2 rm flats are subsidized that's why it is cheaper. Who do U think subsidize the flat? The richer pple. This is why those who buys bigger flats pay progressively more. Also the parks, the sheltered walkways, the car parks, the hawker centres nearby all needs to come from someone, you think they can make the 2 rm flat occupants pay for it. Please use your brains before commenting

The pricing is just like iPad and iPhone.

16GB - $100k
32GB - $200k
64GB - $400k

Anyway stupid buyers will choose the most expensive......

SkyPeak @ Bukit Batok

This is crazy pricing.

That is very wise pricing when you see from another angle.

Master cockroach and toad LKY amassed 600++ billions USD into Singapore Sovereign Funds.
So he can strut about like a fucking tycoon and buy high high high and sell low low low.
Problem with that, the billions went away fast and no one knows what is left.

He must get even more billions and that kind of pricing is to separate sinkaporeans from their money so LKY can have more money.
Sinkaporeans must be brow beaten in thinking just making money to survive. No time to think other thoughts. Like why do they need
to have those cockroaches in white perpertually raping and screwing everyone of them?

Sinkies got what they voted for
No more.
No less.

We probably raise our arse high enough to be service in the anal.

That is very wise pricing when you see from another angle.

Master cockroach and toad LKY amassed 600++ billions USD into Singapore Sovereign Funds.
So he can strut about like a fucking tycoon and buy high high high and sell low low low.
Problem with that, the billions went away fast and no one knows what is left.

He must get even more billions and that kind of pricing is to separate sinkaporeans from their money so LKY can have more money.
Sinkaporeans must be brow beaten in thinking just making money to survive. No time to think other thoughts. Like why do they need
to have those cockroaches in white perpertually raping and screwing everyone of them?

Sinkies got what they voted for
No more.
No less.

I am a salesman.

When we provide a quoation, some things come into play like market price, customer loyalty, competition level, cost of sales blah blah. But when the conditions permit, we sell at the price we can get away with, the higher the profit margin, the happier man my boss is. Sometimes, there is no competitor, and the customer has to buy only from us, that's when I have to jack up the price, otherwise my boss will jack someting up my ass.