• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

why does a small nation need to spend so much in defence?

guavatree

chee and his followers shall defend us. he can whine to president obama once more.:p

old fart faggot fake monk PAP dog Bob Sim Kheng Hwee,

temple thief, swindler, fraudster, cheat, con-artist, liar, hypocrite, deceiver, all rolled into one!

fucking bapok you only suck lanjiaos what you noe about defense???

LOL

whoami

coz if we dont spend on defense.. the north will swop down on us...

Whats your reason for stating that? Cos Spore well off than Msia?

In an economic severe downturn, who would suffer most? Msia or spore? U would be stupid/ignorant if u think its the former.

You forget 3 things:

1. If Malaysia becomes a contaminated wasteland, then where the heck will our raw material imports come from? Where will our water come from, if Malaysia becomes a wasteland? Have you ever considered that?

U are still not getting it. This defence posture is called Deterence. It works. Just the possibility that we can turn malaysia into a wasteland deters them from attacking us. Whether we will or not, they will never know. Raw Materials imports? Water? What are u talkign about? If they invade us, we will not have access to these either. So, the point is moot.

This is stuff Singapore depends on for survival. If you turn that country into a wasteland, it'd be an empty victory because the stuff would be unusable, and the majority of the local population would be dead. Then its rendered useless.

If you drop a chemical warhead into Penang, how does it affect us? It will kill hundreds of thousands, but the rest of that country is untouched. Its afight to death, wake up. If they invade us, we waste them simple as that. What empty victory are u talking about? Would u rather have suffered a complete and utter defeat that having your so called empty victory?

2. As if you can kill a political idea by inciting mass genocide. If you look at WWII, and see how Nazis killed 6m, in the end while they did kill so many Jews, after the Nazis were defeated, even with smaller numbers, Jews became more politically powerful in the US, and around the world. They are present in the different major influential areas of social life, from arts to business to politics.

If they successfully invade Singapore, what do you think will happen? They will do genocide on us. They will line up all the Christians and shoot them. Next will be chinese. U are incredibly naive. Are u a schoolboy by any chance?

3. Besides, as you said, it'd increase the defence budget. And a US$5b increase in the defence budget would mean that less money will be set aside for ordinary people and for the local economy- to grow. What exactly is the point of building and storing this stuff when you can't buy enough food to feed the ordinary citizens? You can't expect people to start eating dirty nuclear missiles don't you?

That's not what I said. Learn to read. Its a one time cost to acquire these weapons. They can be paid for by selling some of the expensive planes and frigates we have. I estimate, this will not cost more than $1 billion. Thereafter, maintaining this system should not cost more than $100 million a year. Compare that to a $5 billion annual defence budget now.

Even if they lead from the front, who wants to follow? Remember that Sporeans are queuing to leave.

The PAP MPs have millions in property to protect, life long jobs with bonuses, perks that we "lesser mortals" can only dream of. Why should Sporeans stay to defend a place they have little say in? :confused:

I suspect many will follow the example set by the "founder' of Spore & collaborate with the invaders :biggrin:

Yep, time to brush up on Bahasa Malayu

NS is just a SMOKESCREEN to transfer huge chunks of tax payer money funds from the govt's left pocket to the right pocket. Who are the CEOs of those companies that provide maintenance of equipment and facilities in the SAF?

Yes, u are right, the CEOs are govt. and PAP lackeys, Retired BGs, and other hangers on that the PAP has to take care of.

Most of these companies in Singapore or outsourced ones are directly or indirectly linked to some GIC/GLCs anyway. They can name or charge any price in the quotations for services rendered. Who is there to say there are NO kickbacks from any purchases from overseas arm dealers?

There is kickbacks for sure. The arms business is one of the dirtiest and most corrupt. For sure they are getting something back. And the govt. increases its bureaucracy for the arms buying to get jobs for their lackeys. Good example is DSTA. Why do you even need this org.? U telling me that the Air Force dun know how to evaluate the plane they want?.

NS men pay are so below market rates despite the hefty defence budget. All those extra billions of $$$ is going into somebody's pocket. The question is WHOSE POCKET?

Those billions of $$ could so simply disappear into a bottomless abyss called NS and what better way then to play on the fears of S'poreans in the name of DEFENCE against an enemy from the NORTH that no one would pose any queries on those billion $$$ expenditure!

There is definitely no justification for these kinds of budget. They are paid million dollar salaries to come up with cost effective ways to defend the country. Throwing money at defence on an unlimited budget can be done by the dumbest of govt.

Zeitgeist

chee and his followers shall defend us. he can whine to president obama once more.:p

Bapok! stop talking nonsense lah! Home team's Security Command already have in place plans to lock you up to protect President Obama's family jewels during his visit to Singapore to give the MIW fuckers a piece of his mind! :mad::mad::mad:

US Secret Service too are equiping their agents with big arse shafting guns and Anti-Bapok ammo:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

If cut to ZERO to military spending every living Singapore citizen will get at least $5K/person. That enough to feed everyone with 3 hot meal/day.

singapore's kiaseeiasm and kiasuism are sometime overdone and overbearing. it resulted instead "NS IS KILLING US" - a notorious quote from madsman.:biggrin:

our armies are mostly deployed to help other countries in crisis than our own.

guavatree

singapore's kiaseeiasm and kiasuism are sometime overdone and overbearingtha.

old fart faggot fake monk PAP dog Bob Sim Kheng Hwee,

temple thief, swindler, fraudster, cheat, con-artist, liar, hypocrite, deceiver, all rolled into one!

you stolel, cheat, con, swindle, deceive all these not kiasi and kiasu!

you telling us you lau HEELO!