Why do these two medical doctors tell sob stories?

lesMISERABLES

Last year we read in the Sunday Times that Pinky's sister, who is a medical doctor, used to wash her father's underwear during the early days of Singapore's independence. She claimed it showed that FamiLEE led a frugal existence.

Recently we heard from Dr Koh himself that when he was a child, his family only had ikan kuning and bones for meals.

Why do these medical docs tell sob stories? What are their motives?

lianbeng used to have only porridge water with light soya sauce (jiu-cheng) for 2 meals only when very young boy. :D

Trouble is, these clowns do not know that 80% of us can also tell the same hard-luck stories, such was life in those days. Such stories cut no ice because one can also presume that a signicicant percentage of the voters went through the same route and was no big deal.

Last year we read in the Sunday Times that Pinky's sister, who is a medical doctor, used to wash her father's underwear during the early days of Singapore's independence. She claimed it showed that FamiLEE led a frugal existence.

Recently we heard from Dr Koh himself that when he was a child, his family only had ikan kuning and bones for meals.

LKY's daughter should say LKY didn't even wear underwear to save money..................and basically the whole family went naked in the house..........

as for Dr koh..........he should have said he had to catch cockroaches, lizards and ants to feed whole family.................

i don't think there is any motive by telling such stories. they are facts and they do tell a story of humble beginnings and frugality.

lianbeng asked kopi uncle: how u know true story? lianbeng last time almost died u believe?:rolleyes:

... Why do these medical docs tell sob stories? What are their motives?
dey wanna boast how smart n successful dey r ... 2 haf made it from a poor background ... dey wanna show dat dey r 1 crass above u ...

but, hor, u can c from ze way dose ppl behave dat dey really cannot empathise wif poor peasants ...

dun listen 2 tings dat dey haf prepared b4hand n purposely want u 2 hear ... c how dey tok wen dey say tings wifout 4tots ... juz like dat fella said evry1 has a car ... it reveals his inner mind ...

as for Dr koh..........he should have said he had to catch cockroaches, lizards and ants to feed whole family.................
Or say his mother and father had to prostitute themselves and he was forced to watch the activities as an impressionable teenager ... wait, then all the braddell brothel employees' children will also have same story ...