Why are ST newspaper so thick compared to other newspapers??

Other newspaper's editors and reporters skin thinner?

Will only buy saturday's paper. Cheaper to use than wood dust for my beloved hamster.

The WSJ, the NYT...all renown papers and all tailored to a reasonable size for easy reading. Every morning I bent to pick up the ST and my back complains!! So many pages but when u open, its nothing. Even now I just flip to the Sports Page and ignore all the others to save time. If I wanted the news, I will go on the internet. U don't believe ST is the heaviest of the lot, just take a SIA flt and when they distribute all the newspapers, u can see the difference!!

Why are you still subscripting ST?
Most of us, if not all, shifted to global web link.

wat dey cannot make up in quality, dey compensate u wif quantity ...

... 4 u 2 wipe ur s wif ...

No wonder so many skilled "kalong-gunis" from China are here. More weight means more money for them. Their familiar cry of "Kanto Kothi" (Kalong Guni)

These unscrupulous men and women from PRC pay you a pittance and sells for a profit after telling you all their sorry tales from Communist China.

These paper (ST) is so unpopular that it is loosing readership by the day.

People hate columns by the Chua sisters and other pro-PAP eunuchs disguised as editors and below right to reporters.

So many advertisement on homes for sale, rent, cars for sale, rental and on advertisement from COURTS and many more like NTUC Fairprice.

Wonder why NTUC can spend so many hundreds of thousands on such adverts when they can best use the money to lower down their prices for the people of Singapore They are represented by NTUC anyway..............

First and foremost if our people loved NTUC, they would not bother to see the adverts in the first place for they believe in NTUC as a place where you can buy cheaper then Sing Shong.

The people at SPG Braddell should give away the ST daily for free like some other newspapers and collect income on their daily advert fees.

The internet is much better then the ST. Slowly the ST will die a natural death. As long as the ST pays homage or is beholden to the PAP, their end is near

I for one has not read the ST for the past 27 months. Thanks to good web-sites, otherwise no one would know about the trouble our beloved and "brave" Shamemugam is facing in AMERICA.

PS: 27 months ago, I used to sell up to 40 kgs of ST to China "Kanto Kothis" for only 2.30 cents.

The Straits Times is getting irrelevant... the same goes for all print media.

People also have more reliable and less biased alternatives online.

And that is why SPH is quite desperate to get more people to subscribe to its newspapers.

http://www.sphsubscription.com.sg/eshop/

YayO05A.jpg

VVH5Jm2.jpg

A fish out of water, struggling and flopping for dear life. That's the SPH now.

Sadly, it was the best newspaper in Singapore till the PAP shackled it completely".

Those days in the 50s when I loved reading it.

It was then run by an ang-mor who fled Singapore out of fear for an impotent ex-ruler.

Remove the Classified ads on housing, recruitments, fullpage ad inserts, and you are down to 1/3. Cut out the ads and all the news can be condensed to probably one and half sheets. I have stopped buying ST decades ago.
The ST operates mainly on ad revenue. If they lose readership, they will not attract ad revenue. What with SBF and TR stirring shit, PAP is also scared if nobody buys to read, becos then their propaganda will not have an outlet, and they will become ineffectual.

lianbeng says: paper is made from wood pulp so how many trees must they chop to make newspapers? :rolleyes: no wonder global warming so serious!

Better for the karang guni man.

Why are you still subscripting ST?
Most of us, if not all, shifted to global web link.

Have to buy because rest of family still reads it. Out of habit I suppose. If one day no newspaper, it kind of knock something out of your routine schedule.

Ok lah...
We also need a few SBF guys to read ST regularly, and then report back here.
Otherwise, who is going to make us our day everyday.

Thank you.

But truly and most sadly, from my perspective (after talks with other older people) the ST can close its shop if it chooses to go on the wrong path as it is now treading or change drastically immediately and not till after 2016.

Singapopreans are loosing confidence in your tabloid. They hate the comments of the CHUA sisters and other "journalists"....

ST is dying and will soon die.....................

Because it is full of wisdom and extremely useful information. No other print media comes close.

Adding to this, it is our daily bread. All tax-payers should contribute for the continued operation of it, to keep it afloat, as it is the best thing since sliced bread.

Ok lah...
We also need a few SBF guys to read ST regularly, and then report back here.
Otherwise, who is going to make us our day everyday.

Thank you.

You guys should thank me for posting all the ST news here, ingrates. :mad:

The WSJ, the NYT...all renown papers and all tailored to a reasonable size for easy reading. Every morning I bent to pick up the ST and my back complains!! So many pages but when u open, its nothing. Even now I just flip to the Sports Page and ignore all the others to save time. If I wanted the news, I will go on the internet. U don't believe ST is the heaviest of the lot, just take a SIA flt and when they distribute all the newspapers, u can see the difference!!

Becos they have a lot of jiak liao bee Leeporters lor !

Consumer really tupid spend money to read ad. Paper should pay people to read ad.

the newspaper is thick because it is full of advertisements and purchased foriegn news articles. it is more like a magazine than a proper newspaper. ad space in the newspaper is sold as a package together with sph's magazines. u wana advertise in her world or any of the major magazine's here, u will have to cough upa bit more to cross advertise in shitttimes if u want to enjoy special rates in future.

who still subscribe to crap from sph? their news is always 24hrs slower and everything u can find online for free