• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why are ST newspaper so thick compared to other newspapers??

enterprise2

The WSJ, the NYT...all renown papers and all tailored to a reasonable size for easy reading. Every morning I bent to pick up the ST and my back complains!! So many pages but when u open, its nothing. Even now I just flip to the Sports Page and ignore all the others to save time. If I wanted the news, I will go on the internet. U don't believe ST is the heaviest of the lot, just take a SIA flt and when they distribute all the newspapers, u can see the difference!!

Roja of all.
None of specific value.
Plenty of ad.

Don't be shy. ST = Shit Times. :D

Somewhat disagree.

It gets thicker through the week to the thickest at Saturday. Monday is the skimpiest .. probably coz the reporters and news staff are all off for the weekend

I would rather ask why the content of the national newspaper reports tabloid-type news:
- sex and rape cases
- minor crimes
- feminist slant news like why women are better than men or why singapore women fall in love? This is not news
- purchased news from AP, NYT etc etc
- horror stories in regional countries like larger sinkholes in other countries, bigger floods in other countries, smaller homes in other countries, robberies in other countries, sigh..

Come on, this is a national paper for goodness sake.

Imagine, if ST converts to tabloid? Double your joy? :p

To be honest, many regional papers are skimpier -largely limited to national (or even provincial) news.

1. aiyoh!
2. of course, shittytimes is heavy mah.
3. full of shit, living up to its shitty name hoh:D

ST doesnt have to do very much to convert....3 lols.

Imagine, if ST converts to tabloid? Double your joy? :p

To be honest, many regional papers are skimpier -largely limited to national (or even provincial) news.

Fuckin crap shit of a paper.. Many ads from telcos, shopping malls, condo developers that make the Shit Times pages thick..

advertising dollars!!

because they can't get enough subscribers.

only 60% are dumb enough to pay for subscription.

i rather read economist or foreign affairs.

The Straits Times is getting irrelevant... the same goes for all print media.

People also have more reliable and less biased alternatives online.

And that is why SPH is quite desperate to get more people to subscribe to its newspapers.

http://www.sphsubscription.com.sg/eshop/

YayO05A.jpg

VVH5Jm2.jpg

A fish out of water, struggling and flopping for dear life. That's the SPH now.

Because it is full of wisdom and extremely useful information. No other print media comes close.

lianbeng says usually on Saturday thickest n heaviest due to plenty of job ads in classified section, lifestyle, entertainment lah!:D u r right! nowadays can read newspaper online liao.

Compare the font size of the Brothel's newspapers with that of the IHT & AWSJ will give you a clue. Quality newspapers like the latter two use the smallest possible, comfortable font size for their news and headlines and every sentence has substance. The ST is nothing but an outsourced newsletter of the PAP under the guise of being a 'national' newspaper.

The number of highly English-literate and professionals in recent years have not improved the circulation - that is market feedback of what they think of the "newspapers". In fact, circulation has been dropping about 2% annually, according to their annual reports. What is propping up the circulation is the strong campaign they have with the schools, who are forced to subscribe to the newspapers for class room lessons, taking the advertisers for a ride.

And we are not even talking about the newsletter's "journalists" yet.

... Every morning I bent to pick up the ST and my back complains!! So many pages but when u open, its nothing ...
wat dey cannot make up in quality, dey compensate u wif quantity ...

... 4 u 2 wipe ur s wif ...

hahaha, did that once before......was on weekend duty in camp and no toilet paper. CQ closed. had to use shitty times lor....hahaha....

learnt something though.....make sure you crush the paper first to make it rougher so that it does not slide off and mess up even more.......

hahaha, did that once before......was on weekend duty in camp and no toilet paper. CQ closed. had to use shitty times lor....hahaha....

learnt something though.....make sure you crush the paper first to make it rougher so that it does not slide off and mess up even more.......

Be careful. The ink on newspapers may cause cancer on your anus.