• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why are most people broke?

https://www.quora.com/Why-are-most-people-broke#ans71584648

Because of their poor decision making.

Most people are poor because they’ve made poor life and financial decisions.

Forget about those dumb statistics about the 1% of the population being in control of most wealth in the world and all that garbage. In my opinion, all that nonsense is just what poor people like to hear because it makes them feel like their poorness isn’t their fault, but in most cases, it is (there are exceptions, though, like if you live in a communist country where opportunities themselves are extremely limited, for example).

It is always easier to put the blame on the economic system, life circumstances, companies, the government, politics, etc.

The truth is, it only takes 2 things to stop being broke: A good decision making process and a lot of effort. That’s all.

I live in a latin country where most part of the population qualifies as “poor”, and it only takes a tiny peak at these poor people lives, and the way they make decisions, to realize that they’re condemned to being poor for the rest of their lives. Why? Allow me to elaborate:

In my country, education has been public, mandatory, and completely FREE since many decades ago. And that includes college education (good quality college education, by the way). If you’re poor, they help you with “becas” (a form of subsidy), if you don’t have money for transportation, they give you student tickets (another form of subsidy). Some primary and middle schools give you food. If you’re in college already and you need money you can opt for an “ayudantia” (they give you money in exchange for helping your university with stuff) or college becas (they give you money just because you said you’re poor). My mom actually finished college and even rented her gap and gown, and bought her graduation ring with the money of her beca, back in the 80’s.

Now, what’s my point? When you analyze how life in the poor areas of my country is, and how poor people’s culture is, you will notice that there are many constants: Most people complete primary education but fail to complete high school or college. Most women get pregnant before turning 18 causing them to dropout from school/college. By their late 20’s these same women have multiple children (in many cases from multiple men). Men themselves dropout from school/college to start working in low income jobs. They completely lack financial education (nor they have interest in learning about it), they tend to be emotionally driven, which usually ends up in more poor decisions and, believe it or not, they seem to be satisfied with their way of life: Work from Monday to Friday, drink beer, party and have sex on weekends. Sounds tempting, right? Yeah, but that’s why they’re poor.

And then there’s another kind of people, like my mom, who finished school, finished college, didn’t get pregnant in her teen years, got a job, worked hard, bought a car, then bought a house, then got married, and had me and my sister. And more importantly, never ended up being broke.

Believe me, I’ve seen this happen countless times. There are soooo many examples out there, you just need to pay attention to the people around you and their life decisions and where they ended up, and you’ll realize what I’m telling it’s true for most cases.

Oh! And before I forget, in case someone is thinking that not all countries have free college education, well, allow me to share with you another experience, this time in the United States:

This year I went to visit a friend who lives in New Jersey (I wanted to visit New York). My friend is also latin, and he’s legally a refugee, however, as of now, he’s on a legal limbo. Technically he’s not an illegal immigrant but he doesn’t have a social security number either, which basically limits his job opportunities by A LOT. Moreover, he doesn’t speak English (at all), and since he’s a refugee, he doesn’t have anything that says he ever went to a school (though he did some college). He also has a wife (who doesn’t speak English either) and a 5 years old child with him. He’s got no family in USA, no friends, and he went to live to US with just a couple thousand dollars that he had managed to save.

Now, what’s my point? When I went to New York I came across a lot of homeless people on the streets with cardboard sheets asking for money, and I couldn’t help but think, how is even possible that even though most of these people were born in America, speak English and probably have a SS number that they can use to find a job, while my friend who is an immigrant with a wife and a child, very little money and doesn’t even speak a word of English managed to get a job, pay a rent, pay bills, buy food, buy clothes, buy toys for his child, even pay taxes, and overall has a pretty decent and regular life? There’s a straight and simple answer to that: My friend made better choices, and he put a lot of effort to them and, instead of sitting on a sidewalk asking for money with a cardboard sheet, he focused on getting a job and being good at it.

Another story: My grandparents came to my country trying to escape all the misery that civil war and WWII left on Spain. They came to the country I was born in with nothing but hope and dreams. A cardboard suitcase with their clothes, very little money, and my father and aunt taken by their hands while they were still children. They worked hard, saved money, and eventually got a decent living. And so it’s the case of many other immigrants who came to my country from Europe escaping war. Most of them did well in the end. I must say. And it was all because of their decision making, and their effort.

Boy, I could go on, and on, and on. But I doubt someone is still reading at this point.

my uncle say KNN KNN that is his specialty to catch a broke sinkie behaviour but he not specialised to catch broke ang moh .

Income - Savings = Expenditure.

I've been preaching this for years.

my uncle say for self inflicted sinkie poor fark is not even due to poor decision making that make them in this state. he say it is due to chao kuan so he say he summaried it as tam chia ter nao as the root cause.

Without poor people working and paying to make rich people rich there would be no rich people.

the same for Corporate :

i = s - e

NEW YORK (AFP) - Toys 'R' US plans to sell or close all of its US stores, potentially hitting 33,000 jobs, US media reported on Wednesday (March 14). The debt-plagued retailer, which filed for bankruptcy protection in September, told employees that the retailer planned to file liquidation papers ahead of a Thursday court hearing, The Wall Street Journal and The Washington Post reported. "We're putting a for sale sign on everything," CEO David Brandon said on a conference call with staff, according to the Journal.

most types of "incum" will not build wealth, and savings from such incum translate to modest but puny "reserves" that do not necessarily lead to financial independence. my recommended formula is:

return on investment + equity appreciation + interest - expense (less than interest earned) = wealth.

Without poor people working and paying to make rich people rich there would be no rich people.
my uncle say this is why he came out a wisest theory ever made in human mankind - never let a person richer than you to make money from you.

I am always broke always sign off my expenditures to my Thai boss, who ask him to employ a sinkie FT right? Serves him right.

One reason - stupid.

Guy finds out that $450 ring he bought online is fake, seller goes MIA

Farah Daley
Posted on 14 March 2018 | 14,323 views | 75 comments | 35 reading now
Submitted by Stomper Marcus

This story was submitted via Facebook. Click here to join our Facebook page.

Stomper Marcus was disappointed when he found out the Bvlgari ring he had bought from a seller on online marketplace Carousell was a fake.

However, things got worse when the seller became uncontactable after Marcus told him he wanted a refund.

Marcus had expressed his interest in the ring on Saturday (Mar 10) and proceeded to negotiate with the seller on the price that had originally been listed as $750.

They eventually settled on a mutually agreed price of $500 and made arrangements to meet at Admiralty MRT Station on Mar 12 to make the transaction.

Marcus told Stomp that they further negotiated to $450 when they met and that he gave the seller the full amount in cash.

He added that he also took a photo of the seller's NRIC.

After getting the ring, Marcus wanted to verify its authenticity and decided to have it checked at a pawn shop in Admiralty.

"They told me that it was not authentic and that it was likely handmade," he told Stomp.

He said he then visited a few more shops but none of them could prove the ring's authenticity.

Eventually, he took the ring to the Bvlgari store at the Takashimaya Department Store at Ngee Ann City where he was told that it was indeed a fake.

He took a photo of the fake ring next to a real one.

29104375_1063417400463180_613636344245125120_o.jpg

The fake ring (left) and an authentic Bvlgari ring (right).

Prior to his checks, Marcus had asked the seller if he could get a refund if he found the ring to be fake, and the seller agreed via text.

However, when Marcus confirmed that the ring was not real and asked to meet again to get his $450 back, there was no reply.

"My messages only had one grey tick next to them indicating that he probably blocked me," said Marcus.

Marcus has since made a police report.

Totally agree with the article especially the part on being emotionally driven.

Usually those poor uneducated fucks are emotionally driven, I dunno why. Maybe they dunno how to behave themselves or they have a huge dose of inferiority complex.

But I know of low educated people who are rich, they are not emotionally driven but motivationally driven.

In the old days, you start work at earlier age, don't spend on mobile phones, internet access and cable TV, by 30 enough saved to start own business or continue working and saving.
Currently, star work at mid 20's after studies, by 40 still paying study loan where relevant.

naive and simplistic point of view ,
mostly enunciate and defend strongly by those
who are lucky [or destined] to be financially successful,
due education and, or hard work.
they look down on the less fortunates as their social and intellectual inferiors.
blaming their destitute as the result of laziness.
but people don't blame Wee Ee Cheong , Richard Li , Lee Hsien Yang , and
host of others , for being rich and successful because of their family background.
simply put : we live in an unequal society
it won't hurt if all these fuckards could just take a moment to reflect on
the fact that if everyone is as well educated and hardworking as them ,
would they be successful today ? would everyone be like them ?

dey r broke bcoz dey got no lightning gang 2 protect dem ... under ze massif talented lightning gang, juz 1 rook @ their see pee eff statemen is enuff 2 gif dem n orgasmic ooh-feelin-so -rich satisfaction ...

naive and simplistic point of view ,
mostly enunciate and defend strongly by those
who are lucky [or destined] to be financially successful,
due education and, or hard work.
they look down on the less fortunates as their social and intellectual inferiors.
blaming their destitute as the result of laziness.
but people don't blame Wee Ee Cheong , Richard Li , Lee Hsien Yang , and
host of others , for being rich and successful because of their family background.
simply put : we live in an unequal society
it won't hurt if all these fuckards could just take a moment to reflect on
the fact that if everyone is as well educated and hardworking as them ,
would they be successful today ? would everyone be like them ?
I just have to chip in. Life is not that simple that you could use rationality to explain all that happens - in personal life or in history.

If poverty is only a person's fault and not of predestination, then wealth and status too - by the same logic - is because of one's action; but Qian Loong inherited his throne, not because he fought for it! Of course, Er Si lost the Chin dynasty within ten years through his total enjoyment.

Islamic scholars for hundred of years have debated this issue of fate and destiny and no scholars nor saints could agree. Some well respected Islamic saints even go to the extreme of saying predestination is absolute - there is no why.

What our eyes could see is, if your parents are wise and good, you generally end up being successful in the end - it's predestined, that you have good parents. :rolleyes: