• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Who Is The Moron In SMRT That Sanction This Purchase?

bro,
think it is to create more room for standing passengers: more people, more profit.

Yeah man. If you have been to Woodlands mrt recently, the poor place has been turned into a mini food street.

Have never seen 2, seen 1 a few times.
But it's good that they have this service and things like ramps too.
It's about time that the authorities walked the talk about trying to be first world.
Even if there are no wheelchair passengers, it's quite comfortable to stand there, as the padding is soft. ;)

Should put tatami mat too , so that passages can sit on the floor ;) more comfortable and make yourself feel like home ;)

That beside the point, so that wheelchair bound ppl cannot kpkb only public transport is taxi.

I want those leyland bus to return.

Yeah, layland is a good bus. I also prefer that. Ok folks, have to go for RT liao :o

Should put tatami mat too , so that passages can sit on the floor ;) more comfortable and make yourself feel like home ;)

It's really ironical that you who claim to be for giving credit where credit is due and not just criticising the authorities all the time, would be so condescending when they actually do something to try and help the disabled and under-priviledged.

Relax lah .. Just a joke ;) by the way I think its also good to import more long bus and more double decker bus to help to reduce the crowd . If what you said is true that the government is helping the disable then I will speak for them , but I somehow agree with zhihau that the government wants to maximize their profit .

Looks nice and comfortable to me. Would you prefer this instead?

india-bus.jpg

Isn't this a case of cherry-picking your comparisons? Why not compare with Western countries? At least pick HK for comparison as we share many similarities.

He is comparing apples with oranges, while I'm comparing apples with apples. That's why I can't be bothered to retort him.

Not bad... RT outpro by 2000. How many more days to go?

I also like the old Tibs bus, the Japanese bus where the window open upward. I think the brand is hino.

Current drivers also CMI. The ride very jerky and braking every now and then for no apparent reason. Drivers until the late 90s mostly like F1 drivers, drive smooth as silk and no need to hold on the rail while moving the length of the bus. Now must hold on for dear life because drivers like to step hard on the brake.

These are not only the design flaws that you've pointed out.
All the newly purchased bus will make you uncomfortable to stand at the rear because there's not much walking space at the rear.
The raised platform at the rear is a pain in the ass for those who are standing behind and need to give way to others when alighting.

For those double deck new bus, as you move towards the rear the ceiling gets lower and all those tall guys or ladies will have to strain your neck.
It makes tall people very reluctant to move and stand at the rear. It's a stupid design I must say. But then these stupid design are not those that you
bought off the shelf. A lot of them are custom made and requested by SMRT.

is it made in china?

The ones in Europe were made in Germany and France. Not sure about the Sinkie one. Anyway, while wiki-ing for this bus, I came across this interesting article.

Main article: Articulated buses in London
When Transport for London bought articulated Citaros in 2003 and 2004, four buses caught fire, although there were no casualties involved. In fact, one was burnt on its delivery journey, for unexplained reasons. Mercedes-Benz did, however, address the problem, though the buses were withdrawn for some time that saw the brief return of the just-retired Routemasters. Unfortunately, these buses were said to have marred the reputation of articulated buses in the United Kingdom, and some Londoners nicknamed them "Chariots of Fire".

Now you know why SMRT buses always catch fire? :D

They are trying to be politically correct. The whole design is meant to accommodate wheelchair bound passengers. I think there was a pilot some years ago and there are plans to introduce it. Seen the photos and they are identical to the ones I have seen in Europe.

Sadly the steps to the back are too high/badly designed that it becomes a safety issue to all except for the wheelchair bound. In EU, the buses move when passengers are seated unlike here.

Someone sensible needs to step in to address before someone gets killed.

bro,
think it is to create more room for standing passengers: more people, more profit.

Current drivers also CMI. The ride very jerky and braking every now and then for no apparent reason. Drivers until the late 90s mostly like F1 drivers, drive smooth as silk and no need to hold on the rail while moving the length of the bus. Now must hold on for dear life because drivers like to step hard on the brake.

Drivers are fucked up because their driving tests are not too stringent.

What good will it do to make them fail when the market needs as many drivers as possible within a short period of time? ;)

Not bad... RT outpro by 2000. How many more days to go?

16 to go. :o

I used to go kranji camp and they really train you. 30 minutes of interval runs. Now I found a little haven, sibey relax one :p

i agree with you, Raiders. This Merc bus and the other MAN bus are badly designed. the grab rails and bars are placed at the corner of the bottom seat cushion. that makes it difficult to sit down or get out of the seat.

I still prefer the older Bendy Buses for its spaciousness and many available seats.

They are trying to be politically correct. The whole design is meant to accommodate wheelchair bound passengers. I think there was a pilot some years ago and there are plans to introduce it. Seen the photos and they are identical to the ones I have seen in Europe.

Sadly the steps to the back are too high/badly designed that it becomes a safety issue to all except for the wheelchair bound. In EU, the buses move when passengers are seated unlike here.

Someone sensible needs to step in to address before someone gets killed.

You need to step in before your children get killed.
There is nothing wrong with the steps to the back, bitch.
You are just kaypohchee because you want to be a detractor, you know nothing about this cheebye fucker.
Now go and concentrate on your main task, which is to make sure your children don't die before you.

16 to go. :o

I used to go kranji camp and they really train you. 30 minutes of interval runs. Now I found a little haven, sibey relax one :p

you can do it. I passed my 2.4km and the overall IPPT on the 14th session. If one takes his training seriously during the RT, he can definitely pass his IPPT.

Tough luck. Whole day ended up in Citaro buses. What the fish. Picture taken now on my way home. :o

No way to pull down the folded seat when it is so crowded :(

Pn7EPVX.jpg